We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Quay Four Restaurant | Thesen Island, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
+27 82 892 0469
Website
Description:

Knysna Charters offers hourly lagoon cruises to the famous Knysna Heads, as...

Knysna Charters offers hourly lagoon cruises to the famous Knysna Heads, as well as a spectacular Sunset Cruise and Oyster Tour. Indoor Oyster demonstrations are also available. We also have kayaks available for hourly rental.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 109 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 71
    Excellent
  • 17
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Informative and well worth it!

Had such a great cruise with Steve for our honeymoon! Weather was not ideal but he improvised and made the trip one we will never forget! Friendly and very informative about... read more

Reviewed 19 December 2013
Cari-Lee H
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Had such a great cruise with Steve for our honeymoon! Weather was not ideal but he improvised and made the trip one we will never forget! Friendly and very informative about Knysna and it's surrounds!

Helpful?
Thank Cari-Lee H
Knysna, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had a beautiful afternoon on the lagoon with Steve. He is knowledgeable and passionate about the area, the history and the oysters. The glass of wine and the oysters were excellent also. We appreciated his concern for the safety of his passengers and his skills as a boat driver. Our fee was included in our Thompson tour.

Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the 1.5 hour boat tour at the end of the day very much. Steve told us interesting stories about the surroundings and the oysters. Lovely experience!

Helpful?
Thank Nick V
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

when in knysna... you cannot put a price on your experience although oyster farming has been discontinued in knysna. steves informative cruise let us know that there is so much more to knysna than what meets the eye. very personalised n great tour.

Helpful?
Thank Doreen2304
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a 2 hours trip with Steven and it was great, I definitely recommend it! You learn a lot about oysters, you can taste them with a nice glass of wine while discovering the coast. A must do!

Helpful?
Thank Adoc1981
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We had an exquisite experience yesterday and were privileged enough to have Steve as our Captain and guide. Not only were the views breathtaking but Steve's knowledge and insight into the history and surrounds made the trip that much more fascinating and interesting! The oysters were delicious (despite my initial hesitation to try), the wine perfect ....and early evening trip... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee F
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

What a beautiful way to appreciate the beauty of Knysna.Gorgeous view of the knysna heads and the lagoon.. Oysters were yummy!! Steven the host was very pleasant, friendly and knowledgable. He makes you feel comfortable and safe on the cruise. An expereince you won't forget!! Highly recommended !!!!

Helpful?
Thank melush11082012
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I and 4 friend went there to see the sunset. It's nice as the staff gave some basic information about the town and oyster farming. After the short trip, oysters were offred. Fresh and fine. Worth trying.

Helpful?
Thank LIChenyu_Kevin
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

As an avid runner I had the pleasure of partaking of the Knysna marathon for the first time this year. While planning the trip, my fellow runners and I decided to do the sunset cruise to unwind and relax our weary bodies after the race. I mean, what could be better than a glass of wine on a slow moving... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nolufefe M
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Booked online, payment taken then the cruise was cancelled. Promised a refund but still waiting after 3 months. Sent at least 10 emails and spent more on phone calls than original cost of cruise!

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
plett, Owner at Oyster Tour, responded to this review

Dear Dave, With regards to your review. Our system does not save any cc details stored as its illegal, and we only refund back to cards and not eft to international bank accounts? Numerous emails was sent from both parties, we made you aware that we need important information to process your refund as the payment was made online and... More 

Travellers who viewed Oyster Tour also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Oyster Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oyster Tour staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?