We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aquila Private Game Reserve - Day Trip Safari

Features Animals
Share
Book In Advance
Tours from Aquila Private Game Reserve - Day Trip Safari tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
1 568
All photos (1 568)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“game drives”(164 reviews)
“overnight stay”(30 reviews)
About
Aquila Game Reserve is recognized as a major Cape Town tourist attraction. Aquila has been published in the "World's 21 favourite things to do in Cape Town," and considered one of the top 10 daytrip destinations by Sawubona Magazine. Aquila offers a...more
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
R46, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Website
+27 21 430 7260
Call
Ways to Experience Aquila Private Game Reserve - Day Trip Safari
from US$182,60
More Info
from US$335,60
More Info
from US$128,00
More Info
Reviews (1 773)
Filter reviews
1 550 results
Traveller rating
614
481
218
115
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
614
481
218
115
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives buffet breakfast overnight stay welcome drink quad bikes big animals sparkling wine water buffalo wild animals hour drive from cape town natural environment kruger national park western cape south africa hippos ranger accommodation
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1 550 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Obviously this is not Kruger but my son and I really enjoyed our over night stay, the meals, the night sky and the two safari drives. We saw 4 out of the big 5 plus much more and the night sky talk was great. Even...More

Thank Wendell P
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Very nice place, great room (private bungalows were absolutely amazing), food much better and original than expected ( ostrich for instance, very nice desserts) Of course it’s not a huge park like Serengetti or Kruger, so expectation should be different, but you see what you...More

Thank 300alaint
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Had a team outing to Auilla and despite the venue being beautiful and food good, there is one staff member that SHOULD NOT be allowed to interact with humans. She has absolutely no people skills and is so rude and arrogant. This particular lady (an...More

Thank Tony D
AquilaSafari, Social Media Strategist at Aquila Private Game Reserve - Day Trip Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Tony, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Aquila experience. We are glad however to hear that you did enjoy your game drive and we assure you that this was the natural habitat of these animals until they were hunted...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Very well organised and efficiently run establishment. Staff are very well trained and attentive. One gets the impression that they love their jobs. Wide variety of food was available. Venue was located in a stunning, pristine area, with lots of close-up views with the wild...More

Thank Connector04539182236
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

My husband and I did the day trip sunset safari. Wow! It was just an amazing experience, we could not have asked for more and were treated like absolute royalty. Our tour guide Trevor was brilliant. I could never have asked for a better way...More

Thank TamK37
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been on three 'proper' safaris, up north and this was a major disappointment. The animals were in their specific areas and it had all the hallmarks of a drive through zoo. The lions were in their own drive through enclosure and were a...More

Thank skindiverDublin
AquilaSafari, Social Media Strategist at Aquila Private Game Reserve - Day Trip Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Skindiver, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your day trip to Aquila. We do share all the information about our animals on our website, and regularly express that Aquila is a 10,000 hectare private game reserve and not, in fact,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well where do i even start. This was a 5hr round trip from Cape Town for a 2hr safari during which time we saw 2 of the big five animals. There were meant to be another 10-15 animals of which we saw roughly 1. We...More

1  Thank HonestTravellers77
AquilaSafari, Social Media Strategist at Aquila Private Game Reserve - Day Trip Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Honest, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your day trip to Aquila. Our ranger do inform guests at the beginning of every drive that seeing all of the Big 5 cannot ever be guaranteed. We do share all the information...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been driving 2h from CT to see this “wellknown” private game but please please please, STAY AWAY! From the poor welcoming staff that will make you wait till last minute to check you in (even though they notice a very ill person) to the dirty...More

Thank Nael N
AquilaSafari, Social Media Strategist at Aquila Private Game Reserve - Day Trip Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Nael, We are sorry that you seem so displeased with your Aquila visit. There is much that is included in the rates, but like most other lodges in the world, drinks are not included. Best wishes, Aquila Safari

Reviewed 1 week ago

Because I didn't have time to go to an open safari or make it out to Kruger where you see animals in their natural habitat, this was decent. I was traveling by myself and decided to do the overnight tour where when you arrive, you...More

Thank Nitasa S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were collected from our hotel and it was about a two hour drive from Cape Town. In some ways that was my husbands favorite part, the views! Buffet breakfast with lots of choices in a canteen style dining area. Lovely pool area and green....More

Thank poohwho
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 nearby hotels
The Bay Hotel
1 286 reviews
.26 km away
The Marly Hotel
265 reviews
.29 km away
The Place on the Bay
400 reviews
.34 km away
Primi Royal
460 reviews
.37 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1 294 nearby restaurants
Codfather Seafood & Sushi
3 641 reviews
.32 km away
Mantra Cafe Camps Bay
276 reviews
.30 km away
Zenzero
1 427 reviews
.31 km away
La Belle Bistro & Bakery
358 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 878 nearby attractions
Skaris Touring
152 reviews
.36 km away
Cosy Bay Beach
7 reviews
.46 km away
Camp's Bay Beach
2 476 reviews
.28 km away
Theatre on the Bay
72 reviews
.41 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
alicethetravelagent
4 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Danwar | Reviewed this property |
Best to ask them directly
0
Votes
docgpk123
5 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from irenehW3178ZM | Reviewed this property |
Hi, yes they do as we saw other vehicles with kids. Please check directly with establishment. Enjoy your visit.
1
Vote
Lliana B
5 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from maxchristie2017 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Yes, the roads can be very bumpy at times. It is really hard to tell if it would be too bumpy, you decide what you think will be the best.
0
Votes