We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cape Wheel

Is this your business?
Dock Road | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 418 2502
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$10,44*
and up
Skip the Line: Cape Wheel Admission Ticket
More Info
US$61,45*
and up
Cape Town Flexi Attractions Pass
More Info
US$95,99*
and up
Cape Town City Pass including 3-Day Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Cape Wheel is a giant observation wheel that offers a spectacular 360 degree panoramic view of Cape Town from the iconic and vibrant V&A Waterfront precinct. Your viewing experience across the Mother City includes Table Mountain, Robben Island, Cape Town City skyline, Paarl Mountains, and the Cape Town Stadium. The Cape Wheel offers 30 fully enclosed air conditioned cabins that will take you 40 metres above the ground in safety and comfort on the 12 - 15 minute, 4 revolution ride. The wheel also offers two wheelchair friendly and accessible cabins.
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good46%
  • Average17%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“london eye” (52 reviews)
“table mountain” (81 reviews)
“round times” (8 reviews)
LOCATION
Dock Road | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 418 2502
Ways to Experience The Cape Wheel
from US$61,40
More Info
from US$96,00
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"london eye"
in 52 reviews
"table mountain"
in 81 reviews
"round times"
in 8 reviews
"birds eye view"
in 8 reviews
"fun ride"
in 6 reviews
"per adult"
in 7 reviews
"aerial view"
in 6 reviews
"waterfront area"
in 10 reviews
"different perspective"
in 6 reviews
"afraid of heights"
in 9 reviews
"water front"
in 8 reviews
"awesome views"
in 6 reviews
"mother city"
in 11 reviews
"take photos"
in 7 reviews
"sunny day"
in 7 reviews
"robben island"
in 13 reviews
"signal hill"
in 8 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

The Cape Wheel is a massive attraction, and while it might not be the fastest ride there is a view to appreciate. At night it lights up, and looks really pretty.

Thank byjono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

Great View. The ride is a bit on slow side but gives a great view from the top. When we were inside, it was raining a bit also. Thus it added further charm to the scenic view.

Thank Viral P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We rode at night and the view was amazing. This is a must do when you visit the waterfront. You will not be disappointed!

Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa A, Public Relations Manager at The Cape Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your ride and the amazing night views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this because we had free access through the iVenture pass. It is a ten minute ride and you go around a few times, which quickly becomes stale after 2 times because, how much of the same do you want to see? Do this...More

Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best views of the V & A waterfront & city. A must regardless of your age & fear of heights. YOLO remember !

Thank TheHotelGuru10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa A, Public Relations Manager at The Cape Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review. We're glad you enjoyed the views and the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The wheel is located in the city so it does not offer much of a scenery if you've already been to the Table Top Mountain or Lions Head. To us it was basically a waste of time.

Thank Whiskey_Tango_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You have to do this at least once, round and round you go, doing good as it’s a fundraiser. Go VIP and get champagne toast.

Thank Maurice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa A, Public Relations Manager at The Cape Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't like heights so why did I even think of going on this wheel but it was well worth the jitters as I felt very safe in the pod and the views were fantastic. A good experience

Thank EllieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa A, Public Relations Manager at The Cape Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review and we're happy you enjoyed the views and the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This was a bit of fun on our first day in Cape Town and there were good views of the town and Table Mountain from the top. The street performers by the entrance added to the atmosphere. Not a particularly spectacular wheel but the view...More

Thank Mulange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa A, Public Relations Manager at The Cape Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for the review, we're glad you enjoyed the view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

The wheel may attract tourists to the wharf, but we saw very few people actually ride it. There are better things to see there.

Thank Pages-Daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 113 hotels in Cape Town Central
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1 655 reviews
.09 km away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
214 reviews
.10 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
782 reviews
.12 km away
The PortsWood
822 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
V&A Food Market
613 reviews
.08 km away
Dash Restaurant & Bar
598 reviews
.11 km away
Vovo Telo
665 reviews
.06 km away
Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar
3 065 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cape Town Diamond Museum
397 reviews
.29 km away
The Springbok Experience
476 reviews
.10 km away
Cape Town Magic Club
36 reviews
.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Janet W
5 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Marvelous M | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure, we used cash
0
Votes
bag345s
19 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Lyn C | Property representative |
I am pleased to announce we have a half price pensioners discount now, on Tuesdays. Visit our website for more info.
0
Votes
pdfourie
6 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Lyn C | Property representative |
Currently the price is R120 for adults, R60 for kids up to 17 years old. More info on our website.
0
Votes
;