We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Springbok Atlas Tours & Safaris

Features Animals
Cape Town Central, South Africa
More
About Springbok Atlas Tours & Safaris
Springbok Atlas Tours & Safaris is a leading Southern African tour operator. Our wide range of Guided Holidays, Day Tours and limitless Tailor-made Travel options offer innovative, authentic and competitively priced experiences with service levels that exceed expectation.
Read more
Travellers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Springbok Atlas Tours & Safaris
103Reviews4Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 64
  • 19
  • 4
  • 6
  • 10
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Graham W wrote a review Feb 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom295 contributions145 helpful votes
Six people did the Garden Route tour in a very comfortable Mini Bus which held our huge amount of luggage in the boot area. Rodney was our Guide and Driver and was excellent. Rodney is a true professional and a credit to the company he represents. Efficient, courteous and knowledgeable, plus a safe and skilled driver. The itinerary was very varied and thoroughly enjoyable. Great Hotels and Safari lodges made this a truly memorable trip.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
dione22 wrote a review Feb 2020
Perth, Australia101 contributions73 helpful votes
We were lucky enough to be picked up by Cole after leaving the Rovos train. We also spent the next day with him on a lovely tour down to Cape of good hope, penguin colonies, lunch & amazing scenery. Cole was an exceptional guide who was very informative as well as thoughtful & funny. His father had another group travelling to the same places, even tho he wasnt our guide, he was also very helpful. They both made a good day great
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jenn L wrote a review Jan 2020
Calgary, Alberta, Canada91 contributions21 helpful votes
Like may other people Africa is a bucket list trip. Coming from Canada it is also not a cheap trip. I booked my entire trip (Morocco to South Africa) through a Canadian company. We had an issue with one of the provided dinners in Marrakech so when I arrived in South Africa and noticed another dinner without a time or pick up time I decided to contact the contact I had in my itinerary for Cape Town. The day of the dinner November 18, 2019 at approximately 5ish I made an inquiry as the itinerary indicated we had dinner at the Africa Cafe and we would be transferred there. I indicated there was no time listed as to when we were being picked up. I also indicated I called the restaurant and they advised we did not have a reservation under our names or the tour companies name. I was advised they were looking in to. After about 30 minutes I was advised that dinner would be at 730PM and the Portwood hotel would transfer us there at 715PM and once I was done dinner I would call them to bring us back to the hotel. When we got in to the car the driver said I am here to transfer you to the Africa Cafe. He drove us about a 10 minute drive and I hopped out to ensure they had a reservation for us as I had called earlier and the two men at the front of the restaurant advised they did have a reservation. We went in and when the waiter came over I asked how we go about ordering as it was usually a set menu. He sent over the manager as he was not sure what I was talking about. The manager then summoned the booking agent who was not aware of any arrangements but told us to order "a la carte." We ordered a salad, pasta and had a drink each which was approximately 45$ Canadian. When we were ready to leave they brought us a bill. I was confused as it said the dinner was included. The same manager came out and said that the booking agent knew nothing about it and I said she told us to order a la carte. So I called the emergency contact # and spoke with an agent who asked me what restaurant i was in. I said the Grande Africa Cafe. She advised I was at the wrong restaurant and the Africa Cafe called them to see where we were. I said the driver they sent took me here and the restaurant said they had a reservation for me here. I also reminded her I called the Africa Cafe earlier (6pm as they did not open until 6pm) and they advised we had no reservation. I told her I was not paying the bill as it was not my mistake. She said she would look in to it with a superior and get back to me. I was not happy about this at all but I paid the bill with a tip and was transported back to the hotel. The front desk staff informed us they would be looking in to why we were taken to the wrong restaurant as well as Sprinkbok Atlas. I was informed by the tour operator who picked me up the following morning I was being picked up to be taken to the correct Africa Cafe at 715. I asked again about the reimbursement and was told "The transfer yesterday was messed up by the driver who took you to the incorrect restaurant, unfortunately there is nothing we can do from our side to take action against him. With regards to the dinner being reimbursed, I have sent the info to your agent and you will have to take it up with them when you are back in your country." I was very confused and a little annoyed so asked why my tour operator in Canada would have to pay for a mess up that their company arranged. Not only that why am I inquiring at 5pm when and where my dinner was scheduled. My Canadian tour operator contacted me while in South Africa the next day as they were confused by the information given to them by Springbok Atlas and once I told them what happened they reimbursed me right away. Not a great way to do business on the part of Springbok Atlas if you ask me. I had to track them down at 5PM the day of the dinner to see where I was going and when. And only after I inquired they made arrangements because when I called the correct Africa Cafe (# provided on the itinerary) they did not have a reservation for us. Then they send a driver who took me to the wrong place and a series up mix ups happen from there onward. After spending $20000 on this trip I did not expect a refund that night but I did expect them to OWN THEIR mistake and not pass the buck to the Canadian agency. Poor business practices and given the fact I wasted my time to track them down the least they could have done was reimburse us the $50 for our meal and tip. After this experience I will never book anything with them again.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SpringbokAtlas, Manager at Springbok Atlas Tours & Safaris
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Please accept our apologies for the problems you experienced with the Cape Town dinner booking arrangements. Unfortunately there seems to have been two issues here - missing dinner booking details and the confusion between two restaurants with similar names. We will try to ensure that this does not happen again. I believe our team and your Canadian tour operator have been in touch with you directly to resolve this complaint. Thank you for taking the time to give feedback here.
Read more
Charmaine A wrote a review Oct 2019
Pasig, Philippines20 contributions19 helpful votes
The tour itself is average... the highlights are the optional tours that we got like the Chobe Day Trip in Botswana... High praises to our guide in Zimbabwe, Dominic... He made sure that everyone was well taken care of... He’s always smiling and accommodating... Our guide for the South Africa leg (Johannesburg and Cape Town) , Bruce, is not as impressive... He is a wealth of information but it just stops there... He doesn’t connect with us, his tour group... he just talks on and on not caring if anyone is listening... He doesn’t even do head count!!! I’ve been to a lot of tours, from Asia to Europe to the States and I know that tour guides are obsessed with head count... There’s just no care... he just goes about his business... He was even the first to board the plane when we flew from Johannesburg to Cape Town... By far, he is the worst guides I’ve encountered... Overall, it was a good tour despite a few hitches... Thanks to Chamila from the main office who’s just behind the scenes for helping me sort out some problems...
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SpringbokAtlas, Manager at Springbok Atlas Tours & Safaris
Responded 17 Oct 2019
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on the tours and guides. It is through feedback that we are able to continue to improve our products and services.
Read more
paul t wrote a review Sep 2019
Bristol, United Kingdom33 contributions19 helpful votes
We were lucky to get both clear views and the tablecloth which was stunning, definitely do this. The trip around Cape Town was interesting and informative but a trip to the Green market rather than a nearby street would have been preferable though it was understandable due to the history there.. All in all I would recommend it.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456