We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Afrogem

Cape Town Central, South Africa
More
About Afrogem
Afrogem offers a quintessential luxury shopping experience. All our gemstones are selected by our experienced gemologists. Our collection of graded Tanzanites, diamonds and the largest range of semi-precious stones in Cape Town, offers buyers seeking rarity and beauty exceptional quality. Visitors can be assured of the value, both sentimental and financial, of any investment made at Afrogem.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 09:00 - 18:00
See all hours
Travellers talk about

Afrogem
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
34Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 31
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Gervais Ally wrote a review Aug 2021
Cape Town, South Africa7 contributions2 helpful votes
As a tour guide in Cape Town I really trust Afrogem with their products and their service. They have an amazing design team, all their work is kept in house. The after sales service was impeccable. I would recommend this company in Bo Kaap, Cape Town every time.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Rebecca W wrote a review Feb 2020
Baton Rouge, Louisiana1 contribution
We were excited to visit Afrogem because it was so close to our AirBnb. We had gotten a map that was sponsored by them and offered a free bag of stones, nothing super special but I’m into rocks, and was excited to see what they had in their shop as well as the tour. When we walked to the gate the security guard asked us why we were there. We held up our map and said we were interested in seeing what they had. We were promptly refused service saying we needed and appointment to go to the shop. We were pretty shocked and disappointed that we were refused service, especially after I had read so many good reviews. Tanzanite is one of my favorite stones and I was really looking forward to adding to my collection.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Jess H, Public Relations Manager at Afrogem
Responded 08 Feb 2020
Dear beccasgalaxy, We are really sorry to hear that you were denied entry and of your disappointment at the experience. Unfortunately, due to the nature of our business, we have had to put security measures in place to ensure the safety of our visitors and our staff. We therefore can't allow anyone who does not have an appointment onto the premises. It does state on our website that you do need an appointment to visit us. However, we acknowledge that the maps in your AirBnB may not have had that information, a we will be rectifying this oversight as soon as we possibly can. We will also look at ways we can manage the appointments of our AirBNB clientele. Again, we're deeply sorry you had such a disappointing experience, and thank you for highlighting issues we need to fix so this does not happen again. All the best, All the team at AFROGEM
Read more
Pamela Kimmel wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
My husband and I went shopping at Afrogem to find a special ring to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. We had a wonderful, relaxing, and fun experience shopping at Afrogem. Approximately 1 year later one of the small stones fell out of the ring and I contacted Afrogem to let them know and they responded promptly and let me know that if I shipped them my ring, they would replace the stone, repair the ring, and send it back to me at their cost. I was so excited and thrilled with their kind response. We live in the San Francisco Bay Area so it was not as though I could just drop off the ring and drive over and pick it up. Ramona at Afrogem provided me with exceptional customer service and kept in contact with me and even suggested several services to use to ship my ring to Afrogem. They let me know they received my ring for repair and since they were unable to find a perfectly matching small stone to replace the one that fell out, they replaced my ring with two brand new stunning blue tanzanite stones. Ramona e-mailed me a photo of the ring before they shipped it back to me. I am so grateful to the staff at Afrogem and I am beyond thrilled with my ring! I now have a wonderful story to tell about my ring. Afrogem is amazing!!!
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Jess H, Public Relations Manager at Afrogem
Responded 03 Feb 2020
Dear Pamela, Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience. We're so pleased to hear your ring is back where it belongs, on your finger! We hope that it continues to bring you joy, especially as it's attached to such a special memory. We're proud to serve our many international clients, and it's part of our ethos to ensure that Afrogem customer service doesn't end when you cross our borders. All the best, The AFROGEM team
Read more
mysteriousmims_123 wrote a review Nov 2019
Dublin, Ireland53 contributions18 helpful votes
We visited on Friday, late morning, so didn't have time to do the tour. We watched the video and followed Ramona into the showroom. WOW !! What a sight !! My friend and I were mesmerised .... I have never seen so much beautiful jewellery and so many amazing stones .... Ramona was very patient and lovely. I bought a Tanzanite ring and earrings, my friend bought blue topaz ring and earrings. They were re-sized and delivered to our hotel within a couple of hours. Amazing service and a lovely experience. We will be back !!
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Jess H, Owner at Afrogem
Responded 10 Dec 2019
Hello Mysteriousmims_123 Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a great review. We're so happy to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your experience with us. We're always adding new pieces to our collection so we will hopefully e able to wow you even morewhen you return again. All the best, From all of us at AFROGEM
Read more
Marine wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions
Three years ago, I have visited with my husband Afrogem, I have discovered the most wonderful stone: Tanzanite. We have had a wonderful welcome and we have visited the manufacture and their shop. Few days ago, i wanted to by a tanzanite for my engaged ring. I have spoken with Ramona who help me so much with her kindness and advices. They have done the design that i have ordered and advise me about the color of the sotne. 2 weeks later the ring arrived and it was just wonderful. The design, size, color are just wonderful. Everything was perfect. I recommended so much if you want to buy tanzanite. Their services are perfect and Ramona looks after us very well. Thank you so much for everything
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Jess H, Public Relations Manager at Afrogem
Responded 13 Oct 2019
Hello Marine, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We're so happy to have been able to help you with your beautiful ring. Tanzanite is our favourite too and that's why we have it in every form possible form, from rough to polished in silver to 18ct Gold ;-) We agree Ramona is amazing!! Wishing you all the best for your future with your new ring ;-) From all of us at Afrogem xx
Read more
Previous