We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Detour Africa

Features Animals
| Cape Town City Centre, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 424 1115
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
2 day tented camping Pilanesberg

Very nice safari with Detour!Our guides made us feel like home!!It was perfect! Highly... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Pedro C
via mobile
Best experience yet

Me, my husband and our 10 year old son booked the 6 day tree house safari with Detour. Really easy... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
ani p
via mobile
Read all 97 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent89%
  • Very good7%
  • Average0%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“day safari” (11 reviews)
“victoria falls” (14 reviews)
LOCATION
| Cape Town City Centre, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 424 1115
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"okavango delta"
in 9 reviews
"day safari"
in 11 reviews
"victoria falls"
in 14 reviews
"overland trip"
in 5 reviews
"nomad tours"
in 3 reviews
"open vehicle"
in 2 reviews
"actual safari"
in 2 reviews
"camping safari"
in 2 reviews
"dry season"
in 2 reviews
"professional tour"
in 2 reviews
"kruger park"
in 4 reviews
"every step of the way"
in 3 reviews
"water buffalo"
in 2 reviews
"answered all of our questions"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful trip"
in 3 reviews
"garden route"
in 5 reviews
"elana"
in 27 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Very nice safari with Detour!Our guides made us feel like home!!It was perfect! Highly recommended!!!

Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, General Manager at Detour Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Pedro, Thank you, we glad you enjoyed it and thanks for recommending us. Hope to see you soon again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me, my husband and our 10 year old son booked the 6 day tree house safari with Detour. Really easy communication with Louise. They respond very quick to emails, and kept in contact during our tour which gave us extra comfort. The tour itself was...More

Thank ani p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I hesitantly booked the tour after a friend of mine informed us about "the"garden route just to make sure that we visited the main attractions of South Africa.This was the best option we had as we had planned a 12 days visit...More

Thank angelsangeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, Manager at Detour Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Angelsangeet, That's wonderful to hear, Will pass on your comments to your guide and consultant. Please do come back again one day. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2018

I'm very pleased with my safari (day trip at Pilanesberg). Robyn was a lot of help by e-mail, with prompt answers and advises. This was my first safari, and I enjoyed myself so much, I had a really great time. Ben was a wonderful guide,...More

Thank Celine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, Manager at Detour Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Mrs Celine M. We do hope you come back again, perhaps for a few more days next time :) Best wishes for the rest of the year. Regards rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

This was our 1st visit to South Africa and hearing horror stories on the internet we decided to book with a tour group. Detour came up and we are so pleased to have chosen them they replied to our emails promptly and made sure all...More

1  Thank Raggie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, Manager at Detour Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank for the Review Please do recommend us, we always love taking friends of friends on tour. Best wishes for the rest of the year. Kind regards Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

We had the best time. Tons of animals, even very rare ones. The tents were clean and the facilities were really nice. Very organized. Great food.

Thank Turandot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, Manager at Detour Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Always pleasing to read this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Very organised and professional. Felt safe the whole time. The guides are very knowledgable and the trip was fab. Only regret, wish i had done 5 day tour, you definitely need 2 full days in Kruger National Park.

Thank xXxGemXxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, Manager at Detour Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review, Yes I agree, 5 Days is a nice amount of time to do a safari if you have the time. Best wishes for the rest of the year. Kind regards Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

I booked the 20 days CT-VF with them. It was an awesome experience!! We travelled along 6200kms and got to know amusing places in South Africa, Namibia, Botsuana and Zimbabue!! Met some new friends!! Elana was always aware of my questions and she was very...More

1  Thank SANTIAGO E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, Manager at Detour Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Santiago, thanks so much for your comments, what an amazing route. Hope you come back again to do East Africa. Kind regards - Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Me and my friend had amazing time with Detour Africa 4days garden route!! There were only 3 people that I, friend of mine and guide Rochelle. First, thank you for not canceling our tour. I’m sure you guys loose money and we impressed ongoing our...More

Thank Iris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, Manager at Detour Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Iris. What a wonderful review to read, so glad to hear your friend saw a Hippo. Always amazes me how big a hippo is in real life. Happy to hear you had a great time. Kind regards Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

A brilliant tour, led by lovely people from Nomad tours who quickly made the group feel at home and part of the family. Highlights were our stay in the Okavango Delta with walking tours to see elephants, zebra, warthog, giraffe, hippo, crocodiles, impala with knowledgeable...More

Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, Manager at Detour Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Karen B. Thanks for taking the time to write this. Amazing how loud Lions are at night. You would think they were close by but hard to spot if they don't want to be spotted. Best wishes for the rest of the year and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 113 hotels in Cape Town Central
Long Street Boutique Hotel
258 reviews
.09 km away
St Martini Gardens
1 review
.12 km away
Cape Town Hollow
302 reviews
.13 km away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
774 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lola's
341 reviews
.12 km away
Royale Eatery
693 reviews
.09 km away
South China Dim Sum Bar
169 reviews
.05 km away
Carne on Keerom
787 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Company's Gardens
1 475 reviews
.15 km away
Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium
325 reviews
.20 km away
Long Street
1 219 reviews
.21 km away
Cape Fusion Tours - Day Tours
268 reviews
.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Cherisse H
21 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from DeepcovePeter | Reviewed this property |
The tours are not private, but they are small. The truck (not a bus) has 22 seats. On our first tour we had 18 people, the second tour we had between 9 and 14 people as some were dropped off and some joined, and our third... More
1
Vote
skbk
25 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ShawnPetre | Property representative |
Hi Burt, thanks for making contact. There are either small group departures of 12 or standard group departures of 20. If you would like more detailed info please do send us a request. Our website has all our contact details... More
0
Votes