We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heritage Day Tours & Safaris

Is this your business?
Features Animals
51 Mckenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Save
Review Highlights
Well organized tour service. You are picked up and dropped off at your guest house. very good guides

Well organized tour service. You are picked up and dropped off at your guest house. Very good... read more

Reviewed today
sheila112015
,
Somerset West, South Africa
Very Frustrating Experience

We had a very frustrating experience with this company. The booking process was frustrating... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Collin C
,
Palatine, Illinois
Read all 459 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Heritage tours & Safaris was established by people that LOVE wildlife. Family owned and proudly South African, our aim has always been to enthusiastically share that love and passion with all the satisfied tourists that have been though our hands.Heritage Tours & Safaris offers the widest range of Big 5 Safaris, night drives, hippo and croc cruises and Whale Watching.Our safaris/activities are not only affordable but also offer our guests a value-filled product with a personal touch.We invite you to find out for yourself what sets us apart as a safari company.
  • Excellent85%
  • Very good12%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“night safari” (44 reviews)
“umlilo lodge” (13 reviews)
“big safari” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 18:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
51 Mckenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"night safari"
in 44 reviews
"umlilo lodge"
in 13 reviews
"big safari"
in 10 reviews
"hluhluwe imfolozi"
in 17 reviews
"cape vidal"
in 39 reviews
"suzette"
in 5 reviews
"guide david"
in 12 reviews
"boat trip"
in 27 reviews
"outstanding service"
in 4 reviews
"safari package"
in 4 reviews
"spotting game"
in 4 reviews
"breakfast and lunch"
in 14 reviews
"hippo tour"
in 12 reviews
"hluhluwe game reserve"
in 12 reviews
"go the extra mile"
in 4 reviews
"nice breakfast"
in 5 reviews
"durban airport"
in 5 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 369 reviews

Reviewed today

Well organized tour service. You are picked up and dropped off at your guest house. Very good guides. We took 2 Heritage tours: Cape Vidal and iSimangaliso park - our guide was excellent - and Umfolozi-Hluhluwe Reserve. For the latter, we travelled for 1 hour...More

Thank sheila112015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very frustrating experience with this company. The booking process was frustrating, communication wasn't great, and we ended up having to book multiple times for them to get it confirmed. Then, the night of our activity (night drive), we drove all the way...More

1  Thank Collin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Collin, no words can explain our disappointment with regards to your experience. I am terribly sorry and would personally like to inform you that we are currently ensuring future bookings are dealt with in a timely manner. Unfortunately St Lucia has sub tropical weather...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were spontenious and booked a tour the day before. We didn‘t regret it! Our tourguide was just perfect! She explained everything very good and knew where to go! The BBQ at Lunch was great to and as we were only 4 Pax. In the...More

Thank LiiLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you very much LiiLee for taking the time to review us with such a great review. It is so much appreciated Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had booked a holiday with 3 days in Durban before our Cruise ship set off. We decided to book an overnight safari package through Heritage tours. We were picked up by Logan and the 3 hour transfer flew by as he waxed lyrical about...More

Thank Lynda4jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Lynda It is always so nice to hear and read such great reviews and clients experiences while out in the bush. Thank you so much. We would love to host you once again and hope to see you soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend and I were visiting from Sydney and booked the 4 night package prior to joining a cruise. This package was incredible value. We stayed @HeritageHouse B & B for 4 nights where Thea made us most welcome. Also all the staff there. Their...More

Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you very very much Margaret for such a lovely review. We truly appreciate you taking the time and rating us so highly. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

they ok. prices ok. but you dont get that vip feel. it felt rushed. like we just another number. no real interaction. im a big birder but there where no focus on what I liked. yes we saw many mammals but it became a race...More

Thank theunsdelange3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you very much for the Review, unfortunately you have left no clue as to whom you may be as the profile is blocked. We have also asked Tripadvisor for your email address or access to your profile so that we can make contact. It...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

We, a family of two adults and two kids, had an excellent trip with two sleeps; four guided safaris. The different guides were amazing, they were service minded, knew loads about the animals and wild life in the area and were very considerate towards our...More

Thank signe123africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It is always so nice to hear such nice comments from our clients. Thank you for such kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

i booked a last minute tour to St Lucia and Heritage Tours were very responsive in helping me to organise a half day tour to Hlulhwe and a late afternoon boat trip on the estuary. I ws picked up on tim eoutside my huest house...More

Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for the amazing review. Unfortunately sometimes the weather has its own agenda however it is so pleasing to hear that you still had a tremendous time out in the bush with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

We booked the full day big 5 safari. A little before 5.00 our ranger picked us up and drove us to Hluhluwe-iMfolozi. During the safari we got nice explanations. We were however a bit unlucky with game viewing, no cats and only one elephant. But...More

Thank Luuk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Hi Luuk Thank you for taking the time for a lovely review of heritage tours, i think you need to come back so we can get you those elusive cats:) So please you enjoyed our bush BBQ. Look forward to hosting you on safari again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

The Safaris to Hluhluwe-Umfolozi and to Isimangaliso were wonderful ¡Amazing! Thank you so much to John and Sky (sorry if I have wrote incorrect the name Sky), they were great, actually they have been the best guides we have ever had in Africa. Always were...More

Thank Tomás P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

What a delight it is to read your comments and to know that we were able to make your safari a memorable one :) I will be sure to pass on the compliment to John and Skigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all St Lucia Hotels
Elephant Lake Hotel
200 reviews
.12 km away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
227 reviews
.79 km away
Elephant Lake Hotel
5 reviews
22.75 km away
Meet Mekaar Resorts
2 reviews
24.21 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Thyme Square Coffee & Gift Shop
159 reviews
.12 km away
Braza
970 reviews
.17 km away
Ocean Basket
1 082 reviews
.17 km away
Reef and Dune
743 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Heritage Tours & Safaris
429 reviews
.31 km away
Saint Lucia Estuary
628 reviews
1.00 km away
EuroZulu Guided Tours & Safaris
261 reviews
.25 km away
Shakabarker Tours - Day Tours
181 reviews
.43 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
calzo365
18 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from John F | Reviewed this property |
We were staying in St Lucia. It's only a couple of hours drive from Durban, Heritage picked us up at our accommodation each day and have an office in the main street.
0
Votes
Cassius2016
15 February 2016|
Answer
Response from WdecBrown | Reviewed this property |
What's the specific question? ;we went for 2 nights just before New Year
0
Votes
Moisher
26 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Linda294Dorasamy | Reviewed this property |
you will need to search Heritage Tours and Safaris, La Lucia which should take you to the site as this messaging system does not allow me to send links. good luck.
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor