The Elephant Sanctuary

The Elephant Sanctuary, Hazyview: Hours, Address, The Elephant Sanctuary Reviews: 4.5/5

The Elephant Sanctuary
4.5
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Elephant Sanctuary close to the Kruger National Park. Home to two orphaned African elephant bulls, Kasper and Kitso. Host four fully guided elephant interaction programs per day and some programs that can be added to them. Focus on a more personal and private elephant experience with smaller groups of guests. Perfect stop over when visiting the Kruger National Park or Lowveld.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets
Popular mentions

4.5
458 reviews
Excellent
284
Very good
109
Average
30
Poor
18
Terrible
17

cbf786
Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions
Elephant Visit
Mar 2021
walking with the elephants
peaceful tranquility
service was great
elephants look awesome and healthy
our kind off scene
Written 21 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Good day cbf786 Thank you for your wonderful review and great rating. We are happy you had a great time with us. Looking forward to your next visit.
Written 22 April 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nthabiseng
1 contribution
Paid video not received
Dec 2020 • Family
The experience was outstanding, Only to be scammed to pay for the video which we never received. We have sent emails, called and requested for refund, not still no success.
Written 31 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Good day Siyengn Thank you for your review. I do apologize that your video was not send on time but I do recall from the notifications that you successfully downloaded the video of your experience on the 4th of January 2021. Thank you.
Written 13 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

AdNauseum
Toronto, Canada25 contributions
The most WONDERFUL experience we had in South Africa at Hazyview
Jan 2020
The pride and joy of a trip to South Africa.
Yes, folks, this place was my most wonderful experience while in South Africa.

We were the only two people at the time. It was like a private tour. It was UNREAL. I asked before (not sure where on tripadvisor) about places like this and of course the answer given is we would be supporting cruelty to animals in favor of entertainment. That is pure BS! I watched these 2 magnificent elephants carefully. They showed no signs of abuse at all. They showed contentment. Life is NOT PERFECT. Life isn't intended to be perfect.

When I stood in front of these magnificent elephants I was in AWE! They could kill me in an instant, considering I was hugging the trunk and kissing him. But instead he ended up kissing me after removing my U.S. Air Force cap!

There is nothing like it. And the people that work there, were fantastic! Treated me very nice and were just so good to be with.

The 'classroom' session will teach you a lot about elephants and I think its so worth while. You will learn a fair amount about elephants in a relatively short time.

Really, I can't tell you in this just how wonderful the ENTIRE experience was. Would we go back to the same place for the same experience, ABSOLUTELY!

And don't listen to people that say the sanctuary is bad for elephants. You will see for yourself, if you go, those elephants and NOT unhappy.
Written 31 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Good day AdNauseum Thank you for your great rating and wonderful review. We are very gladly you had such a wonderful experience and satisfied with our facility. I will pass your compliments on to the rest of the team. Thank you again and hope to see you in the future again. Kind regards
Written 13 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Thoriso
7 contributions
Did not get what I paid for.
Dec 2020 • Couples
The Trunk in hand programme is a rip off. The website description includes a walk to the night shelters, a talk on the anatomy of elephants, a walk with the elephants and thereafter touching and feeding the elephants. We were not taken to the night shelters and did not get to walk with the elephants.
Written 16 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Good day osiroht Thank you for your review. I do sincerely apologies as there is no excuse that the website has not yet been updated and we are working on this. With the Covid regulations we decided it will be best that the guests dont all place their hands by the elephants trunks. We did compensate for this by bringing the price down from R720 to R500 per adult and R345 to R250 per child. Thank you.
Written 13 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Shepherd Nkomazana
3 contributions
Having my hands on the elephant from trunk to tail...and also feeding, and walk with them was an amazing experience.
Nov 2019 • Couples
Enjoyed elephant interaction, learning about the internal and external anatomy of the elephant. The experience was absolutely incredible.
Written 9 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Good day ShepyTraveler1234 Thank you for your great rating and wonderful review. We are glad you are satisfied with your experience and will pass the compliments on to the rest of the team. Looking forward to your next visit!
Written 11 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ghislain R
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions
Limited interaction, expensive and disorganized
Sep 2020 • Couples
We went to the sanctuary looking forward for a great interaction with elephants. We booked the trunk-in-hand option. The website clearly indicated it involved walking with elephant. Instead we ended up sitting for an hour on a plastic chair, standing for 2 minutes next to an elephant just the time to take a picture and walk away because the next pair was waiting in line. No walking at all, very limited interaction and a turbulent crowd of 40 people in the same group as us, too many for the guide from the sanctuary to manage. We paid 500 ZARs each for what happened to be a disorganized disappointing and clearly downgraded experience compared to what we paid for.
Written 26 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Good day GhislainR308 Thank you for your review. Pleas can you contact me on hazymanager@elephantsanctuary.co.za Kind regrads
Written 11 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kyle F
18 contributions
Great!
Mar 2020 • Family
Visited the location with 3 kiddos, and the staff were so helpful and insightful. It was a real interesting day, as the staff explained everything about the sanctuary and how they help the habitat etc. Kids loved it, and they got to interact with the elephants in a safe manner. Would return!
Written 19 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your feedback. Be sure to bring the kids again.
Written 20 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Diane
South Africa6 contributions
Once in a Lifetime Experience
Mar 2020
There are no words to express my experience. It was magical, extraordinary, wonderful, unforgettable. The guides were professional, they made you feel at ease, they were helpful in taking photos for you and informing you and reassuring you. The Elephants are Breathtakingly Huge and yet so gentle. You can feel him breathing on you when you walk Trunk-in-Hand. There was definitely a Magical connection. I highly recommend this experience!!!
Written 18 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your feedback. Be sure to visit us again.
Written 19 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alians5
Hastings, UK104 contributions
Excellent trip, knowledgeable and attentive keepers.
Feb 2020
Just amazing, up close and personal. The elephants are well cared for and not expected to do 'tricks' for the tourists. We learned so much about these wonderful animals.
Written 13 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your feedback, glad you enjoyed the experience.
Written 14 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lerato M
Johannesburg, South Africa3 contributions
Most Amazing Interaction
Mar 2020
A very easy to find location. The Elephant sanctuary staff are the most amazing. Elephant Kitso and Kasper are so friendly and welcoming. Took part in the trunk in hand walk. The elephant handlers are very knowledgeable and enjoy their work, they make interactions with the elephants pleasant. Worth every cent.
Written 9 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Good day lerato_Ma Thank you for your wonderful review and rating. We are glad you had such a wonderful time with us and I will pass your compliments on to the rest of the team. Looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards.
Written 10 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 333
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing