We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Markets of Warwick Tour

127 Johannes Nkosi Street | NGO Asiye eTafuleni Unit 111 Business Incubation Building, SEDA eThekwini, Durban 4001, South Africa
+27 31 309 3880
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent insight into interesting part of Durban life

Just to echo all the positives below. We definitely feel we wouldn't have been able to have such a... read more

Reviewed 22 September 2017
RichardAck1960
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
Well worth doing

Well worth doing when visiting durban. Our guide was outstanding.. Very informative and interesting.

Reviewed 29 July 2017
benrob2017
,
Durban, South Africa
Read all 40 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Markets of Warwick Tour is a 2.5 hours walking tour through the 9 informal markets in Warwick Junction. Warwick Junction lies on the edge of the Durban's inner-city and is the primary public transport interchange in the city. On an average day the area accommodates 460 000 commuters, and at least 6000 street vendors. Given the confluence of rail, taxi and bus transport, this area has always been a natural market for street vendors. The Markets of Warwick includes between 5000 and 8000 vendors trading in 9 distinct markets. Currently this is the only informally structured market in a public space of this magnitude, and thus establishes itself as the single most authentic African market that South Africa has to offer. The products available vary from beadwork, traditional arts and crafts, traditional cuisine, fresh produce, music and entertainment merchandise, clothing, accessories and traditional medicine. We run tours everyday between 9:30 - 12:00 and 13:00 - 15:30.
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good22%
  • Average2%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
127 Johannes Nkosi Street | NGO Asiye eTafuleni Unit 111 Business Incubation Building, SEDA eThekwini, Durban 4001, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 31 309 3880

Similar Things to Do in Durban

Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017

Just to echo all the positives below. We definitely feel we wouldn't have been able to have such a relaxed and informative time at the markets if we had gone on our own. Aside from the information about the markets, our guide had much of...More

Thank RichardAck1960
Nonhlanhla N, Markets of Warwick Team at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

We appreciate you taking time to write the review, thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Markets of Warwick and in Durban.

Reviewed 29 July 2017

Well worth doing when visiting durban. Our guide was outstanding.. Very informative and interesting.

Thank benrob2017
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Loved my walk (in fact two walks) through the Warwick markets. So good to interact with the people that are there selling their wares. Only hate about the whole walk was the Bovine market. It is smelly and not very clean. However they have their...More

Thank Lynncooper_sa
Reviewed 9 July 2017

What a great tour! Such an eye opener to how much trade is taking place at these markets. So well organised and very informative. I would recommend this tour to anyone both local and foreign. Thank you to Toe and the TAC representative.

Thank Bryden N
Phumzie1818, Manager at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed the tour and that you are recommending it to others. We are looking forward to your visiting us again in the future. Best regards, The Markets of Warwick Tour Team.

Reviewed 26 March 2017

There are 9 markets in central Durban, and you will be fascinated--everything from bead jewelry to traditional medicinal herbs, and lots of surprises in between. Our guide was friendly and helpful and made it lots of fun. This is a tour that shows you something...More

Thank KLFinTheWorld
Nonhlanhla N, Tour Coordinator at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. We are very glad that you enjoyed the experience.

Reviewed 1 February 2017

Led by a local, one can gain deep insights into the (mostly black) community's trading business and living circumstances. One cannot but perceive the stark contrasts in Southafrica's society. Definetely a must do to understand a bit about the country and its people!

Thank IAmABerliner
Nonhlanhla N, Tour Coordinator at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Thank you for the review and sharing your great photos. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience. Markets of Warwick Tour Team

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

It was a very interesting and eye-opening experience! Great guide, felt very safe at all times. I would go back for sure...

Thank Emma S
Nonhlanhla N, Tour Coordinator at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

We appreciate the review, thank you very much.

Reviewed 17 December 2016

I booked this tour in advance then cancelled based on a local's recommendation that the area was shady and it wasn't a place to get souvenirs. I rebooked again when a fellow traveler told me about her experience and I'm SO glad I did. The...More

3  Thank Christina H
Nonhlanhla N, Tour Coordinator at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you rebooked and got to experience the markets. We hope to see you again with more of your friends and family in the near future. Best Regards, Markets of Warwick Tour

Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

I embarked on a fascinating tour of the Warwick Triangle markets with Slindile who was a great source of information. I suppose I could have visited those markets by myself but it was nice to be accompanied by someone who really knows the area. I...More

1  Thank NicholasPeart83
Nonhlanhla N, Tour Coordinator at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thank you for the review and for visiting the Markets of Warwick. We are glad that you enjoyed the experience and that Slindile was a great source of information. We appreciated your feedback and thank you for liking our facebook page @marketsofwarwick. We are looking...More

Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

A very interesting tour of the markets in Durban. Highly recommended this organised tour, which is provided by market stall holders to promote the diversity of produce. This is a safe tour in an area that you may not normally feel safe to go. All...More

2  Thank Vicki T
Nonhlanhla N, Tour Coordinator at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2016

Thank you for writing the review. We are glad that you enjoyed the experiencing the Markets. Regards Markets of Warwick Team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Little Gujarat
14 reviews
.50 km away
Memories Restaurant
14 reviews
.75 km away
John Dory's Wilson's Wharf
37 reviews
1.09 km away
Butchers Block
41 reviews
.91 km away
Nearby Attractions
Natural Science Museum
51 reviews
1.28 km away
Victoria Street Market
118 reviews
.12 km away
West Street Mosque
33 reviews
.48 km away
Port Natal Maritime Museum
36 reviews
1.32 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
loveholidays
7 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Phumzie1818 | Property representative |
Dear Gwen, Thank you for your message and your interest in visiting our City of Durban. We are happy to organize you a tour of the Markets in Warwick Junction and also a guide be available for you for the day. Please send... More
1
Vote