We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Durban Day Safaris

Features Animals
Durban, South Africa
More
About Durban Day Safaris
Travel in and around Durban city with experienced and knowledgeable guides. We offer Big5 safaris, Durban city tours, Zulu cultural experiences and more. Collection from anywhere in Durban. Day and overnight safaris to Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Park are a favorite with local and international guests. Get up close to Africa's Big5 in one the oldest and most scenic game reserves in Africa. For those wanting a safari experience closer to Durban, Tala Private Game Reserve is very popular. A Zulu cultural experience is a must when visiting the Kingdom Of The Zulu. Shakaland provides the perfect experience for guests wanting to get a proper understanding and feel for Zulu culture and tradition. A half day tour of Durban city will give one a look into what makes this city tick. Visit landmarks such as The Moses Mabhida Stadium, The Presidents House, Suncoast Beach & Casino and Wilson's Warf. Take a safari or tour with the top tour provider in Durban.
Read more
Travellers talk about

Durban Day Safaris
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
110Reviews6Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 4
  • 2
  • 2
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JamesComrades wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
Small group safari. Top class service. Top class guide. Very knowledgable. Accommodating our requests and what we wanted to see where possible. Booked again but unable to go due to COVID. Refunded immediately on request. Will definitely rebook. Would recommend very highly.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from DurbanSafaris, Owner at Durban Day Safaris
Responded 23 Feb 2021
Hi JamesComrades Thank you for your review. Unfortunately two cancelled Comrades Marathons meant you have to delay your trip to Durban for another year. Hopefully next year all will be back to normal and you and your group can take part in the marathon and take a safari with us. Kind Regards John
Read more
David D wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
Paul gave us a tour in 2017 and we were just reminiscing about how great a time we had. I would highly recommend!
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from DurbanSafaris, Owner at Durban Day Safaris
Responded 25 Dec 2020
Thank you for your message! Hopefully we will be able to welcome everyone back to Durban sometime in 2021. Paul and the rest of the guiding community cannot wait to start guiding again full time! Have a Merry Christmas and keep well! Kind Regards John Kearney
Read more
Moka T wrote a review Apr 2020
Tokyo, Japan306 contributions130 helpful votes
I wanted to reserve a one-day tour that goes to two places. I found Durban Safaris’ Cheetah Encounter and Big-5 Drive, so I contacted the company and explained my situation: solo traveler on a cruise arriving in Durban with limited time. Within 10 minutes, John replied that he could arrange the tour if I found at least one more traveler, and he could customize it to fit the ship’s port times. I found other travelers on the cruise and after that John quickly made arrangements for us. I was very pleased with the prompt service and great tour that had been arranged. I was all set to go, when I unfortunately had to cancel due to COVID 19. I was so disappointed. I contacted John about the situation and as always he promptly replied and kindly set up the refund of my deposit. Going on this one-day safari is still one of my bucket-list items. When the situation normalizes and I can go to Durban, I will definitely contact John at Durban Safaris based on the prompt service, customer support, and flexibility to suit travelers’ needs. In addition, I wish the best for John and everyone at Durban Safaris during this difficult time.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DurbanSafaris, Owner at Durban Day Safaris
Responded 07 Apr 2020
Thank you so much for your review! What started out as just an inquiry for just yourself quickly grew into a decent sized group. Thank you for being the go to person on the ship when other passengers wanted to join the tour. We were so close to being able to show you our beautiful province. Hopefully in the future we will be able to get you on a safari! Thanks again for being the ships go to guy, it was a pleasure working with you! Kind Regards John Kearney
Read more
Vacationer767603 wrote a review Apr 2020
Yorba Linda, California8 contributions2 helpful votes
We had scheduled a tour with John which was an easy process. we were really looking forward to the tour. Unfortunately our world cruise was canceled when I had an opportunity to inform John that we were not coming. I was pleasantly surprised that he responded within minutes of my email. He had already processed a refund for our tour. We don't know when we may return to Durban. I will definitely Schedule a tour or two given the opportunity. Thank you John for your quick response when we signed up and when we had to cancel. John & Rita Ingstad
Read more
Date of experience: April 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from DurbanSafaris, Owner at Durban Day Safaris
Responded 05 Apr 2020
Hi John and Rita Thank you for your review! Happy you both made it home safely! If Durban is ever on your list of places to visit again, we will be happy to take you on a safari! Keep well and safe! Kind Regards John Kearney
Read more
loco wrote a review Apr 2020
Dawlish, United Kingdom33 contributions15 helpful votes
We booked a safari for end of May 2020 lots of emails back and forth with John. He was amazing, arranged everything for us even adding on an extra person to our private party. Sadly due to Covid 19 we can not take our holiday. We are gutted. John has been very helpful and has sorted our refund. As soon as we can re book our holiday we will be straight back into John to rearrange our Safari. Thank you John. Stay safe. X
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from DurbanSafaris, Owner at Durban Day Safaris
Responded 05 Apr 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! So sad we couldn't take you on a safari. I know how much you were looking forward to it. I enjoyed all our conversations where we planned the perfect adventure for you. When this is all over and travel is possible again, we will get you on your dream safari! Kind Regards John Kearney
Read more
Previous
123456
Recommended experiences in and around Durban
from US$175,04
More Info
from US$139,32
More Info
from US$185,76
More Info
from US$219,82
More Info