We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens

Closed Now: 08:00 - 17:00
Open today: 08:00 - 17:00
Save
Share
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
363
All photos (363)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good30%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“black eagles”(63 reviews)
“bird hide”(21 reviews)
About
Welcome to an Eden hidden in the West Rand of Gauteng where beautiful nature welcomes visitors and the rushing water of the Witpoortjie Waterfall, gushing from a height of 70 metres, soothes and revitalises careworn city-dwellers. The garden is home...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 08:00 - 17:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Malcolm Road | Poortview, Roodepoort 1732, South Africa
Website
+27 86 100 1278
Call
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
313
155
22
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
313
155
22
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack eaglesbird hideindigenous plantsbeautiful waterfallbird lifelovely picnichiking trailspicnic spotpack a picnic basketnature loverslovely restaurantfamily picniccity lifeentrance feeoutdoor gymwhole familynesting
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

My sister and I always visit these gardens at the end of our holiday and before an evening flight out. The gardens have a very peaceful, relaxing feel and are developing all the time. You can see many different birds and at this time of...More

Thank 156ceejay
Andrew H, Manager at Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for the kind review

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you are looking for a mental breather not far from the city lights, visit these gardens. You will get lost in nature which includes stunning garden, a gorgeous and breathtaking waterfall and refreshing hikes. Not sure how safe the hike is, didn't venture too...More

Thank Lerato M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It’s a great place to visit with friends and family. Great walking trails. The waterfall is wonderful. However, the amount of litter, paper napkins, chip packets etc is shocking. Where are the grounds staff? Is no one checking and cleaning the place or is it...More

Thank 577luigiz
Andrew H, Manager at Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 577luigiz We are very surprised to hear you comments. This by no means what the average visitor experiences and we are regretful that you had this experience. The Garden is very actively managed, although on Sundays we only have two ground staff. We are...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of the most beautiful outdoor spots in Gauteng for hikers, family, couples and events on Gauteng. Very popular with nature lovers and families. Ideal for eagle spotting as well, as it’s home to some eagles. The place is clean and safe, and has a...More

Thank Donchandon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Water sisulu botanical garden is a good place to unwind , relax or going for a stroll type of place. Its very relaxing and soothing. Would highly recommend this place to visit the scenic gardens

Thank Honeyprince
Reviewed 23 July 2018

The botanical gardens pride itself for their eagles, but the entire park is well kept and peaceful. A great idea for an afternoon to destress and take in a natural beauty.

2  Thank Natasha t
Reviewed 18 July 2018

The Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens combine a park like atmosphere with beautifully manicured gardens. I appreciated that the signs were also done in 3 languages including braille.

Thank Critter Compani... b
Reviewed 10 July 2018

I enjoy watch the berg eagles. The waterfall brings a dimension of tranquillity that cleanse the spirit, soul and mind.

Thank hermanadolphs
Reviewed 9 July 2018

It has wonderful gardens which kept neat and clean. It's a wonderful environment for a Family outing. Has a scenic amphitheatre for the performances that are frequently held.

Thank oselebi
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

We had never been here before and were so delighted with the well kept gardens, many walkways and size of the gardens. There are metal statue insects tucked away in the trees and each plant has a sign explaining the name, great detail. R50 entrance...More

Thank pokkels16
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Southern Sun Silverstar Hotel
225 reviews
2.88 km away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
535 reviews
6.67 km away
Avianto
255 reviews
6.68 km away
Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla
66 reviews
9.36 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 102 restaurants in Roodepoort
Doppio Zero
101 reviews
2.98 km away
Rock Cod
39 reviews
2.71 km away
Rocomamas Featherbrooke
55 reviews
2.70 km away
Wild Eagle Spur Steak Ranch
32 reviews
1.87 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 18 attractions in Roodepoort
AirVentures Hot Air Ballooning
102 reviews
4.66 km away
Woodlands Spa
28 reviews
6.13 km away
Silverstar Casino, Krugersdorp
161 reviews
2.94 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mashudud1
25 April 2018|
Answer
Response from Tourlover2014 | Reviewed this property |
As per my knowledge, it is open on all days. The entry fee is R30 per adult. You can check on their website for more info.
0
Votes
MihlaliG1
17 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Andrew H | Property representative |
Mihali this is not a message platform, you may contact us on Facebook Messenger or via email or phone 0861001278 There is an entrance fee of R45 per person more information can also be found on our website
0
Votes
dawnhopeful
21 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from kayleighcdc | Reviewed this property |
I am so sorry that you feel that you were treated badly by the tour company. This should not happen but sometimes it does,. If you have your own transport I suggest that you could drive there or alternatively use Uber. The... More
3
Votes