We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens

Malcolm Road | Poortview, Roodepoort 1732, South Africa
+27 86 100 1278
Call
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$258,87*
and up
Gardens in the City Private Tour in Johannesburg
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Welcome to an Eden hidden in the West Rand of Gauteng where beautiful nature welcomes visitors and the rushing water of the Witpoortjie Waterfall, gushing from a height of 70 metres, soothes and revitalises careworn city-dwellers. The garden is home to a pair of breeding Verreaux's Eagles (Black Eagles) which have become proud symbols of this majestic garden. Walking, hiking, picnics, exercising, bird watching, relaxing, nature appreciation, are some of the popular activities of visitors to the garden.
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good30%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“black eagles” (60 reviews)
“bird hide” (20 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Malcolm Road | Poortview, Roodepoort 1732, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 86 100 1278
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"black eagles"
in 60 reviews
"bird hide"
in 20 reviews
"indigenous plants"
in 13 reviews
"beautiful waterfall"
in 22 reviews
"bird watching"
in 7 reviews
"lovely picnic"
in 6 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 12 reviews
"picnic spot"
in 11 reviews
"pack a picnic basket"
in 7 reviews
"family picnic"
in 8 reviews
"lovely restaurant"
in 7 reviews
"west rand"
in 8 reviews
"city life"
in 6 reviews
"per adult"
in 6 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 12 reviews
"outdoor gym"
in 7 reviews
"whole family"
in 11 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I was in awe from the moment I walked through the gate and into the garden. Green, pristine and spectacular! And if that wasn’t enough, when I finally got to the waterfall 😱I nearly fell over (mite have been aided by mild heat stroke) but...More

Thank Rowena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We love visiting gardens in any country and Walter Sisulu Gardens did not disappoint. Visiting on a weekday, it was quiet, with ample space to park under shady trees. Once inside, paths meander between grassy lawns and well designed, species- specific micro gardens. Lots of...More

Thank JuMaC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The garden is a wonderful peaceful and clean oasis for every person that visits or stay in Johannesburg. Families can enjoy a picnic under the trees with the kids running on the well maintained grass. The garden also have wonderful short walks with regular information...More

Thank Bertus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

South Africa is very interesting and although the number of attractions are little compared to old countries it does worth a lot program yourself. Today we visit this botanical gardens! What amused me was not the variety of species, nope but the infrastructure! Fabulous even...More

Thank Xistudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you are in holiday in the Gauteng area, the Walter Suzulu Botanical Gardens is a must to see..! The gardens with its indigenous plants, various rock formations, its natural waterfall, watching the black eagle nesting high in the cliffs and its walking trails is...More

Thank mariajH1768SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lush green gardens, serene and quite environment for a picnic with family away from the city noise. The little ones can run around freely. Bring your picnic basket mats, cushions camera and /or chairs and get ready to unwind. There are no bins so reduce...More

Thank maryO2897YI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is a nice place to spend the day for all ages. People interested in a long walk mixed with a bit of hiking will surely enjoy this place. This has a very big green grass lawn spread over a large area. There is a...More

Thank Tourlover2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Botanical gardens with awesome array of plant types. Some arranged by theme. Beautiful waterfal with nesting black eagles. Good place to picnic.

Thank Venessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Went there on a sunday morning. Was a great way to spend the day. Just walked around the place for hours. The waterfall is beautiful...one of the nicest ones I have seen and a great place in Johannesburg which is a definite must visit. Also...More

Thank Jacques C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

The Botanical Gardens is well maintained, a beautiful setting of wide open spaces and the inviting call to be closer to nature.

Thank PJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreviousNext
12345647
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Roodepoort Hotels
Southern Sun Silverstar Hotel
193 reviews
2.88 km away
Kilulu Lodge
4 reviews
3.58 km away
Sunbird Guest Farm
2 reviews
4.75 km away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
499 reviews
6.67 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Doppio Zero
88 reviews
2.98 km away
Rocomamas Featherbrooke
49 reviews
2.70 km away
Rock Cod
37 reviews
1.91 km away
Food Lovers Market
24 reviews
2.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
AirVentures Hot Air Ballooning
89 reviews
4.66 km away
Woodlands Spa
21 reviews
6.13 km away
Silverstar Casino, Krugersdorp
150 reviews
2.94 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mihlali G
17 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Andrew H | Property representative |
Mihali this is not a message platform, you may contact us on Facebook Messenger or via email or phone 0861001278 There is an entrance fee of R45 per person more information can also be found on our website
0
Votes
dawnhopeful
21 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from kayleighcdc | Reviewed this property |
I am so sorry that you feel that you were treated badly by the tour company. This should not happen but sometimes it does,. If you have your own transport I suggest that you could drive there or alternatively use Uber. The... More
3
Votes
AngelaMdhluli
21 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AngelaMdhluli |
Unfortunately I called he offices and guess what I got false information actually de lady at reception didn't have time for me bcos she told me no and they don't host for a big number of which I have a friend dat booked... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123