We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horseback Africa

Features Animals
Share
Review Highlights
Lions and Horseback

I did the Lion Walk and the Horseback Safari on separate days. I stayed in the lodge for two... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Travel58541130096
via mobile
Unmissable

What an experience!! We were beaming all day!! Although one of our expected highlights, this was... read more

Reviewed 9 August 2018
Fi15
,
Poole, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 168 reviews
229
All photos (229)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent92%
  • Very good5%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lion walk”(25 reviews)
“baby lions”(12 reviews)
“horse riding”(17 reviews)
About
Contact
| Cullinan, Pretoria 0001, South Africa
Website
+27 12 735 9909
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Pretoria
from US$363,20
More Info
from US$132,90
More Info
from US$72,60
More Info
from US$79,10
More Info
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
121
7
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
121
7
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lion walk baby lions horse riding bottle feed macrae family adult lions pizza lunch great ride day adventure stay overnight wild animals highlight of our trip private reserve surreal experience wonderful hosts great love wild rice
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I did the Lion Walk and the Horseback Safari on separate days. I stayed in the lodge for two nights, but that’s a separate review. The Lion Walk is an incredible experience. The experience is likely to vary based on how busy they are and...More

1  Thank Travel58541130096
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Good value for money. relaxing day out. This is a must-do stop whenever you visit the Cullinan-area. Great for kids.

Thank infoZ5493TS
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you for your review. We hope to have you back with us sometime.

Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Since 2005 I went there 3 times all together, the last time was Jan 2017, I couldn’t go that far back on “month visited”. The reason why I want to write something so long after is that I will not go again. The first time...More

2  Thank Nicolette B
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

We are terribly sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We were trying to work out when you were here so that we can try and rectify the problem. You are welcome to write directly to us so that we can discuss in detail so...More

Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

What an experience!! We were beaming all day!! Although one of our expected highlights, this was even better than anticipated!! Cannot rate it highly enough. Greeted by friendly, welcoming owners, Colin and Theonie, with tea, coffee and biscuits. Safari on horseback led by Dominique and...More

Thank Fi15
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

I must say that it REALLY is an experience of a lifetime!! Even although it is our own business, and we do this every day, we appreciate what we have, and it is such a pleasure sharing it with others. Enjoy the moment!!

Reviewed 13 July 2018

What a wonderful place! I will recommend it to anybody who loves horses and the outdoors. The staff is attentive and very helpful and they have a horse for every level of experience.

Thank Greta v
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

That is exactly what we LOVE - horses and the out-of-doors!! Yesterday when we went to the dam we saw a fish-eagle (bird of prey) and we are SO excited!! Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 10 July 2018

We had an incredible day at Colin's. The staff were so helpful and accomodating - we had not organised it until the morning of and called early thinking we would be told not to come. But the staff were so welcoming and went out of...More

Thank Steph N
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Pros Lion walking was so cool Horseback riding was amazing The baby lions were calm The horses were calm and easy to ride Every one super super nice Cons None I have riding lessons but I still learned stuff

Thank FurnessFamilyTravels
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review!! Especially for the riding - so that other riders know that this is also a good place for people who are regular riders back home. Hopefully we meet again!

Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

This was an outstanding experience. The staff were friendly and knowledgable. The place was well kept and the general atmosphere was pleasant. The walk with lion cubs was awesome, and well worth doing. Had we stayed on site, we would have enjoyed the horseback excursion...More

1  Thank W S
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

We look forward to having you again - so that you can enjoy the FULL experience including the horse riding. Thank you for visiting us!!

Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Where do I start. A feeling of family as well as a great experience. As a solo traveller The owners joined me for dinner ( 4 courses with the best cooked ostrich steak ever)so I wouldn’t be alone. We sat outside with a wood fire...More

1  Thank DMVEAL
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

It was so great to have you with us, especially the evening meal around the camp fire! yes, you are right, as this is a magical world! We hope to see you again soooooon!

Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Having never rode a horse before, what a great story for my first time. After a morning tour on horseback around the grounds looking a various native wildlife, we were treated to a nice pizza lunch. Afterwards we had the lion walk. This is a...More

Thank Lee W
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

As a beginner rider, we are so glad to hear that it was educational and lovely for you. Just don't get hooked on horse riding now, because it will drain your pocket! I am also glad that the lion experience gave you a better understanding...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 75 nearby hotels
Faircity Roodevalley
160 reviews
23.53 km away
The Blades Hotel
249 reviews
23.78 km away
Kievits Kroon Faircity Hotel
652 reviews
25.78 km away
The Farm Inn
212 reviews
30.98 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 814 nearby restaurants
Harrie's Pancakes
74 reviews
13.19 km away
Coffee Cafe Rayton
6 reviews
21.14 km away
As Greek as it Gets
148 reviews
13.09 km away
Piacere Restaurant Cullinan
37 reviews
12.99 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 197 nearby attractions
Cullinan Diamond Mine
189 reviews
12.93 km away
Willem Prinsloo Museum
16 reviews
20.51 km away
Dinokeng Game Reserve
197 reviews
30.00 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MagdaC1526
4 July 2018|
Answer
Response from Colin M | Property representative |
The horse riding safari is R998 per person which includes the pizza lunch. See all details on the website. We would love to have you with us!
0
Votes
Bodun
8 January 2017|
Answer
Response from W S | Reviewed this property |
For the walk with Lions it was 690R. The current exchange rate for USD is about 12/1, so under $60. Not sure about horseback or lodging prices.
0
Votes