We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Soweto Guided Tours

Johannesburg 1864, South Africa
+27 11 985 6249
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Informative Interesting Tour by Simon

We took this half day tour, which was a great overview of the history of Soweto and apartheid in... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
hermosamary
,
Los Angeles, California
Fascinating tour - ask for Bongani as your guide!

We were nervous about this tour because parts of Soweto are extremely poor, and we didn’t want the... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Eric P
via mobile
Read all 184 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Soweto Guided Tours is a quality service orientated business based in Soweto run by Soweto entrepreneurs. The business is tailored to share a true township tour experience with individuals, corporate South Africa as well as local and international leisure groups As a specialist Soweto tours company, our focus is to make sure that tourists get the best Soweto township tours ever. We only use well trained tourist guides who live and have the tours experience to give the guests/tourists a true first hand information about Soweto Township. Our tours are conducted in air conditioned vehicles and special attention to detail ensures that each journey is of the highest quality and safe.
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good22%
  • Average8%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Johannesburg 1864, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 11 985 6249

Similar Things to Do in Johannesburg

Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We took this half day tour, which was a great overview of the history of Soweto and apartheid in Johannesburg. Hector Pietersen Museum interesting exhibits and photography. Walking tour was lead by a very passionate young man from Soweto. One of the best tourist activities...More

Thank hermosamary
Mosikare, Manager at Soweto Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your feedback regarding the tour that you took with us. We value your review. Warm tourism regards Soweto Guided tours

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were nervous about this tour because parts of Soweto are extremely poor, and we didn’t want the residents to feel like they were zoo exhibits. But the tour is expertly handled, and our wonderful guide, Bongani grew up in Soweto and knows many of...More

Thank Eric P
Mosikare, Manager at Soweto Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review Eric. We are pleased to hear that Bongani changed your perception about Soweto. We hope to see you back in Soweto in the future. Soweto Guided Tours

Reviewed 9 November 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour, it was awesome to be taken around by an actual local living in the area. We were apprehensive at first, not wanting to come across like we were 'touring' (look at them!) the area, but more learning about the history...More

1  Thank STSMark
Mosikare, Manager at Soweto Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Soweto tour with us and we are pleased to hear you sharing the experience. Warm tourism regards. Soweto Guided Tours team

Reviewed 6 November 2017

We chose Soweto Guided Guided Tours because they offered exactly what we wanted, an intimate, personal tour of Soweto with experiences of a Shebeen and a eatery. We were a party of 7 and our tour leader was Simon, who was warm and knowledgeable. The...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank ourIndianAdventure
Mosikare, Manager at Soweto Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your inspiring feedback. We appreciate your input. Warm tourism regards Soweto Guided Tours

Reviewed 3 November 2017

Very enlightening tour that showed the good and the not so good side of Soweto. History came to life with driver who lived through apartheid protests in Soweto and still lives there today and a local lad who took us to his home in the...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank DebbieLugarno
Mosikare, Manager at Soweto Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi Debbie. Thank you for your review. Your review serves as an encouragement to us to do more on service delivery. Warm regards Soweto Guided Tours Team

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Simon was fantastic! His knowledge of Soweto was wonderful and his love for his home and country was very evident. I really enjoyed getting out of the bus and into the actual streets of Kliptown. Bus was very clean and in immaculate order. Very enjoyable...More

Thank charming_chick
Mosikare, Manager at Soweto Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you very much for the review and also happy to hear the guide Simon has made the tour enjoyable for you. We hope to see you back in Soweto again in the future. Warm regards Soweto Guided Tours

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Very interesting tour, you can see many parts of Soweto. The guide is helpful and give you many information on South African history and Soweto neighborhood Warmly recommend

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank VincDLV
Mosikare, Manager at Soweto Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank very much Vince for input regarding Soweto Guided Tours. Your review is warmly received. Warm tourism regards Gloria

Reviewed 20 September 2017

our guide Bongani was very good in telling us all about Soweto and his rich history. Very interesting and very moving. Everybody should do this, it makes you humble.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank mia912
Mosikare, Manager at Soweto Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hello Mia Thank you very much for your review. We value your feedback and happy to hear that you enjoyed the tour with us. Kind regards Soweto Guided Tours

Reviewed 17 September 2017

My hotel organized this day tour for me and it was very comprehensive and informative. It involved a stop in a slum, where a donation was expected, and finished towards the end with the Hector Pieterson Memorial stop. My driver also pointed out Nelson Mandela...More

Thank WCOB
Reviewed 14 September 2017

I was undecided whether to take this side tour from full day city tour program or skip it. Good sense prevailed and I cut short Joberg city tour time to take this 2-3 hrs trip and it was WORTH IT My tour guide was excellent...More

Thank SudhaGupta
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sakhumzi Restaurant
282 reviews
3.28 km away
Robby's Place
27 reviews
3.41 km away
Wandies Place
60 reviews
2.47 km away
Vuyo's
23 reviews
3.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hector Pieterson Museum
395 reviews
3.53 km away
Hector Pieterson Memorial
201 reviews
3.48 km away
Vilakazi Street
181 reviews
3.27 km away
South Western Townships
826 reviews
3.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Rumbi D
23 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mosikare | Property representative |
Hello Rumbi D Thank you for your valued enquiry. Please visit our website sowetoguidedtours and all information regarding prices,time etc will be on there. There is contact form on the website that you can fill in after... More
0
Votes
jonathan e
9 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from jigneshad | Reviewed this property |
Not much... max two hours starting from stop 4 of red city bus tour and returning back to the same stop.
0
Votes