Soul Adventures
Soul Adventures
4.5
SafarisClimbing ToursEco ToursDay Trips
8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
About
We run over 50 exciting eco adventure trips every year. Each trip is designed by our ‘adventure experts’ to ensure that you can travel to unfamiliar places to enjoy a mix of ‘must see’ highlights and unforgettable cultural experiences. You will see and do more than you ever could travelling on your own and without the hassle of organising it yourself.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Meets animal welfare guidelines

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Soul Adventures
Travellers talk about
(17 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles358 reviews
Excellent
315
Very good
21
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
17

CJ J
Spartanburg, SC1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Prompt and professional service with knowledgeable staff and good customer service and support. I highly recommend this excursion.
Written 18 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Cj, Thank you so much for the feedback, we really appreciate it and we are static that you had a good time in Soweto. Our guides are highly passionate about showing off their city.
Written 26 August 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pat
United States10 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Couples
This looked like a nice reserve, nice lodge and grounds. Our game driver was very pleasant, knowledgeable and was good, but we didn't see any large animals.
Not our first game drive and fully understand they move about, but for what they charge and the radio communications they have, they should really try to find some of the bigger animals. Their brochures tout the big five and most places really try to get siting's of a few of them.
Written 14 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, so sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience with us. As you mentioned, animals do move about freely and although our excursion takes place on a big five game reserve it does not guarantee that you will see all of them. Our rangers are in constant communication with each other but unfortunately in your case there may not have been any sightings to be had across the park during that time. Game drives are a game of chance and our rangers do the best they can in the limited time they have with guests.
Written 26 August 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Peter Nepolian
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 • Friends
We just completed our 3 Days hiking from Johannesberg. It was such a lifetime experience. Darren gave us all pre information about the trip. His team are the best in SA. Thank you Darren and Soul Adventure Team for this amazing trip. We highly recommend this company for all tour in SA.
Written 6 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Brady
Chicago, IL3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023
After a miscommunication about start time the booking company (Viator), our guide Ben did a wonderful job taking us to Pilanesberg and giving us a wonderful experience. He went out of his way to find great spots for viewing and was very knowledgeable. Despite the late start Ben made up for it with flexibility. The wildlife was magnificent as was the terrain. Pilanesberg surpassed our expectations for wildlife viewing. We appreciated how the tour guides shared information with each other regarding great viewing spots for the day we were there. We dreamed for years of a picture safari experience, and this was a great choice. Elephants, zebras, giraffes, rhino's, hippo's, leopards...the list goes on.
Written 23 May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sophie H
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2023 • Solo
I have to say that I had an outstanding experience with Detour Africa. Dealing with Jamie B the tours consultant and my tour guide Jay the leopard enthusiast was phenomenal. Jay knew his stuff and the information and time I spent with him was something I’ll never forget. He went out his way to make the trip one to never forget! I can not rate this enough if you book as for Jay you will not
Regret it trust me. Life time experience that I will never forget.
Written 30 March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Donna D
Brisbane Region, Australia2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 • Friends
If I can name a SCAM CENTRAL this is it!

After booking a R5000 day touring the sterkfontein caves we where told that the majority of the tour offered in this deal could not be delivered.
So the day tour would now be an hour tour, with a mere $300 discount.

Declining this offer this tour company, SOUL ADVENTURERS and the booking sight AVIATOR a sister company to TRIPADVISOR REFUSE to refund the R5000 paid for this Tour. WHAT A SCAM FROM ALL 3 THESE PARTIES.

THEY SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF THIS APPAULING SERVICE.

Stay far away from this Company! Everything about it feels like a scam and to be honest feels unsafe.

You can visit the sterkfontein caves on a beautiful DIY tour and it will simply be a mere R100 for entry. Keep your money in your pocket and yourself amd family safe from these SCAMMERS.

SOUL ADVENTURES = SCAMMERS
Written 2 March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, we are so sorry that you had a bad experience however we contacted you within 2 hours of you making the booking to inform you that the caves were closed due to flooding. We asked if you would like to cancel or proceed to which you asked to still go ahead with the tour. Upon your guide arriving at your hotel your proceeded to talk with him for all of 2 minutes before contacting our office to say you are cancelling after your tour had already begun. We offered you a 50usd refund which we have been offering to parties of 2 persons as the caves are currently closed to which you were not satisfied. Please understand a guide had already been paid for the tour, permits arranged, wear and tear on the vehicle. We would have made R0 on this tour as a company. If you had let us know before a guide had arrived that you would not have liked to proceed with the tour you would have received your full refund of R5000.
Written 6 March 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

GwenMd
MD42 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were promised an open vehicle. We were in a van AND the van had a broken window so one of the windows that should have opened didn’t. We’re in a pandemic. The pandemic is not over. Open vehicles are safer and allow a better experience with animals all around.

The accommodations represented in the advertisement were glamping. The picture clearly shows a very nice, large, tall tent with electric lights and electric outlets. However, the nice campgrounds were on strike. The campground we were brought to had no lighting in the bathrooms and no lighting to help you find the bathrooms and no signage to help you find the bathrooms. One toilet building was for women and one was for men but with no lights I saw no signs and went into the one that I didn’t just see a man go into. It had bloody tissue on the floor.

The tent was not large. It had no lights. It had no electricity. This is a big deal when people plan to charge their cell phones and cameras at night. The tent could not be zipped from the inside. The area was covered with mosquitos - the only mosquitos we encountered the entire trip. There was no covered area for where we were supposed to eat. There was no lighted area for where we were supposed to eat. Had we stayed, we then would have been drenched in the rain that began. We saw a roach crawl up the water bucket.

The entire group decided we’d had enough and went to hotels. This meant that I had to find a hotel, at a reasonable price, at the last minute.

The hotel, with fees, added $170 to the cost of the trip. The tour operator did not refund this. In fact, the tour operator did not respond at all.

$571 is a pretty steep price but I paid it because it was supposed to include nice overnight accommodations and dinner. It was not supposed to include a dark, mosquito filled tent with dark, dirty bathrooms and roach water.

The guide, Ben, was lovely and friendly and we all like him, but this is not what we paid for.
Written 27 February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Giselle S
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023
My boyfriend and I signed up for this one but ended up doing a 4 day Fangs Pass hike, ending in Mnweni. It was insane in the best way. The hike was as brutal as the scenery was beautiful. Don't underestimate these hikes, when they say they're hard they really mean it. That being said it was the coolest experience I've had in a long time and the mountain range is totally wild, remote and stunning!

The equipment we rented from them was excellent (I got a brand new osprey backpack <3) which all really helped with comfort and keeping things dry. Our guide Patrick was phenomenal! He's great fun and very experienced. He not only made us feel safe the whole time but took care of us during the rainy times, kept our spirits up while keeping expectations realistic, found us a cozy cave on the 3rd night when the weather was rough...

The group of 8 people was so nice, positive and fun, definitely helped when things got hard. It's a great way to meet inspiring people and you get to know each other quite well when in the mountains for 4 days.

Price wise this is much better than other hikes we found, def worth your money.

Patrick takes beautiful pictures during the hike, the food was great (dehydrated meals, ours were all vegan to accommodate different diets within the group), they really respect the nature (you bring all your trash with you including compost).

All in all just be aware of the difficulty but you won't regret anything, 100% recommend.
Written 5 February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tee
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023 • Solo
I did the Lion Walk with Ben, who was very kind and helpful. Ukutula is great and it was a wonderful experience.
Written 14 January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are so happy to hear you had a good experience with us. Ben is very passionate about his work and goes out of his way to make the experience as best as it can be
Written 24 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Liam E
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 • Couples
Could not recommend this more if I tried. Booking was easy and we were given very clear instructions. Our driver Bongi was very friendly and helpful and picked us up at the exact time that was promised.
Written 27 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 354

SOUL ADVENTURES (Johannesburg) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go