We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Snake Park

Features Animals
Review Highlights
Nice variety!!

Snakes, scorpions and spiders! Kids love to visit here as often as possible when we’re down at the... read more

Reviewed 23 October 2018
jbburger5
via mobile
An interesting meeting

An interesting visit and meeting with reptiles, otherwise one would not want to meet in other... read more

Reviewed 25 May 2018
15matjan
,
Tona, Spain
Read all 52 reviews
24
All photos (24)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good45%
  • Average17%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“black mamba”(2 reviews)
“cages”(5 reviews)
“reptiles”(12 reviews)
About
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
5 Libertina Amadhila Street, Swakopmund, Namibia
Website
+264 64 405 100
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Swakopmund
Eco Dune Tour
51 Reviews
from US$50,30
More Info
from US$27,00
More Info
from US$56,00
More Info
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
14
14
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
14
14
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black mamba cages reptiles collection handlers pose insects bush information
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2018

I don't like snakes (having grown up in Natal - the home of adders and mambas), but faced with two weeks in the bush I decided on some aversion therapy. There is a good collection of the usual suspects for a southern African collection: black...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Ian M
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

Snakes, scorpions and spiders! Kids love to visit here as often as possible when we’re down at the coast, affordable alternative entertainment for the whole family...the ladies are often a bit jittery after 😉

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank jbburger5
Reviewed 11 October 2018

The visit was about what I expected having read the other reviews and we didn't spend very long there. There was only one member of staff, manning the till, so no one to discuss things with unfortunately. I think the length of time you stay...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank williamk271
Stuart H, Owner at Snake Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Thanks for your visit and comments. Sorry that i missed you. Perhaps another time...

Reviewed 3 October 2018

I didnt want to go because i dont like reptiles however the snakes are well secured and the staff make one very comfortable.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Magnaem
Reviewed 26 July 2018

This place was deceptively small, but houses an impressive collection of snakes from the African continent. This attraction is great for anyone that happens to be in Swakopmund and wants something fun to do for 30 to 45 minutes. The owner of the establishment was...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank david c
Reviewed 19 June 2018

I was very suprised of the big variety of snakes, although I am not a repltile person it was nice to see the different types. It would be nice though if there is a guide that tell you more.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 465adelen
Stuart H, Owner at Snake Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you very much for your interest. It is not always possible to have a guide available, but do ask for Stretch, Stuart or John in case one of them is nearby.

Reviewed 25 May 2018

An interesting visit and meeting with reptiles, otherwise one would not want to meet in other places in real life.Almost all of the snakes in South Africa and Nambia can be seen, very complete collection and plenty of information available

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank 15matjan
Stuart H, Owner at Snake Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thanks for visiting and teviewing us!

Reviewed 8 May 2018

The snake park is in the centre of town and besdes the Namibian reptiles features snakes from other countries as well.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Peter F
Stuart H, Owner at Snake Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thanks Peter for your visit and comments.

Reviewed 23 April 2018

We stopped by after our lunch..good collection of snakes. Not far from the beach and sits a block away from the main street where all the shops and restaurants are

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Samosababa
Stuart H, Owner at Snake Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thanks for your visit and for your comments.

Reviewed 21 April 2018

I went to the snake park with my family after having read all the reviews about it having bad facilities and several other negative comments. Needless to say we had our doubts and were not really sure whether it would be worthwhile to visit the...More

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank AlejandraG2611
Stuart H, Owner at Snake Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you Alejandra for your visit and we appreciate your comments. We are keenly aware of the fact that we should improve our facilities, and as we are able, we are replacing cages etc. Of course, it all comes down to the cost😨.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 nearby hotels
Hotel Europa Hof
112 reviews
.14 km away
Hotel Pension A la Mer
165 reviews
.26 km away
Hotel Pension d'Avignon
61 reviews
.37 km away
Hotel Pension Rapmund
144 reviews
.37 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 92 nearby restaurants
Village Cafe
825 reviews
.36 km away
Hansa Hotel
214 reviews
.50 km away
Slowtown Coffee Roasters
139 reviews
.46 km away
The Tug
2 590 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 82 nearby attractions
Swakopmund Museum
491 reviews
.56 km away
Swakopmund Jetty
705 reviews
.16 km away
National Marine Aquarium of Namibia
228 reviews
.42 km away
Woermannhaus
58 reviews
.23 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ghit77
28 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Stuart H | Property representative |
Varies depending on visitor. Average, about 30 - 45mins.
1
Vote
Kodiak325
12 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Stuart H | Property representative |
Stuart Hebbard. Since 1994. E-mail snake@iway.na
0
Votes
Jackie H
3 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Stuart H | Property representative |
Our rates are: (2015 to date...) Overseas tourists - Adults: N$100; 4 - 16yrs: N$40. Namibian & SADC - Adults: N$60; 4 - 16yrs: N$20. School groups: N$15 p/p.(N$20,Sat) See facebook page.
2
Votes