We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HomeGrown Tours

Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing Tour....Great Way to Experience the Entire Island!!

My family and I loved DeeDee’s 2-hour tour of the island. DeeDee’s bus accommodated our large... read more

Reviewed yesterday
TSUtraveler
,
Georgia Coast, Georgia
The VERY BEST tour with a local guide

Dede was the best!!! She grew up on the island so she adds "personal up-to-date" stories to the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
aljrg90
,
Lilburn
Read all 38 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We are the most unique tour business on MV... We are wheelchair Accessible, we offer cold bottled water and snacks, see sites from the 1800s on screen, interactive book to go along with the tour, photo ops available. Our tours are unlike any other, we also give trinkets (MV Made) at the end of tour and gift certificates for ice cream and pizza for correct answers to questions about the tour (makes for a great learning experience). We are currently the only wheelchair accessible tour company and hoping to provide substantial customer service to those that find it hard to get around.
  • Excellent100%
  • Very good0%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“dee dee” (4 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dee dee"
in 4 reviews
"fantastic tour"
in 2 reviews
"martha s vineyard"
in 2 reviews
"home grown"
in 4 reviews
"jaws"
in 2 reviews
"mv"
in 3 reviews
"history"
in 3 reviews
"fun"
in 2 reviews
"island"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 38 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dee Dee is a third generation Martha Vineyard native. Her tour of the island was both informative and enjoyable. Her knowledge of the island was very impressive. She spoke of the history of many of the areas as we came to them. Great tour of...More

Thank Lou F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much.... I enjoyed our time together as well... Thanks so much for choosing HomeGrown Tours!! Have a wonderful summer...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Dee Dee gave us the most comprehensive in depth and fantastic tour of JAWS and Martha’s Vineyard. From the time she picked us up until the drop-off, she was fantastic!!! We stopped at 11 different locations where Jaws was filmed and the little tidbits of...More

Thank rad21171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Oh my, you are too kind. Thank YOU... you guys are the ones that made the trip fun!! I have some more surprises for you when you return!! Have an awesome summer!!!! 😎

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Home Grown Tours was one of the best tours we've taken. Dee Dee, the owner and our tour guide, was extremely knowledgeable of the island's history, it's people and since she's lived there all her life, was able to include many personal experiences, This added...More

Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you so much... I had a great time as well... Have an awesome summer!! 😎

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Fantastic tour!! Four of us decided to ferry over to Martha’s Vineyard for the day on a whim. We really wanted to see the island and learn about its history but it was late April and most tour companies weren’t operating yet. I happened across...More

Thank coveredincatfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you. I wont forget you guys!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
LaurelHappyone
Hi DeeDee, I hope the rest of your birthday was good. I wanted to let you know that Kara and I both enjoyed you and your knowledge. Both of us did leave the tour feeling underwhelmed. Your trip advisor site said it was an3 hour tour. That was one of the main reasons I chose your company. The tour you provided us was just 2 hours. So we had 33% less time than advertised. Kara had asked to know more about the gingerbread houses towards the end and your response was you didn’t have time to get into that. We asked twice about celebrities. You gave some names but when asked for more you just stopped. We do know you you were informative but 2 hours vs 3 is a’Huge difference. You mentioned at the end that you were about to give a tour to a wealthy group. Your pick up time for them was actually scheduled during our tour time. That didn’t make us happy. again neither one of us walked away feeling like we got our moneys worth. I don’t know if you would provide the courtesy of a partial refund for both of us due to the time loss. But we did need to express how we feel. Thank you. Laurel Hubble
6 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Dolores B | Property representative |
Hi Laurel... thanks for the review... As I had mentioned to you, the tour was a bus tour that you paid for. When we started, i mentioned to you that we were taking the same route as the bus... we do not go thru the... More
0
Votes
;