We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HomeGrown Tours

Open Now: 00:00 - 23:59
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Two nights on MVI

We really enjoyed our private tour with Dee Dee. She met us at the dock as planned and is a... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Gary S
,
Kalamazoo County, Michigan
via mobile
Amazing!

My husband and I had an amazing tour with DeeDee! She took us around the whole island. It was great... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Melissa D
via mobile
Read all 48 reviews
19
All photos (19)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent100%
  • Very good0%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
3 days ago
“Two nights on MVI”
4 days ago
“Amazing!”
About
HomeGrown Tours is the most unique tour company on Martha's Vineyard. Your tour is not only narrated by a 3rd generation Islander but it is also a hands on learning experience. I pass around items that relate to the Vineyard to get a feel of how we...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 00:00 - 23:59
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
1 Seaview Ave, Oak Bluffs Ma, Oak Bluffs Steamship Authority, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Website
+1 774-327-8192
Call
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
45
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
45
2
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our private tour with Dee Dee. She met us at the dock as planned and is a cheerful and knowledgeable person. Our tour was about 3 hours loaded with great scenery and history. We arranged to be dropped off at our Inn...More

Thank Gary S
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Nancy and Gary.... it was a pleasure.... So glad your spending time here... Lets not forget the lobster scare Nancy!! You were so much fun!

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

My husband and I had an amazing tour with DeeDee! She took us around the whole island. It was great to get the “insider info” from a local! She had so many great stories from when she was younger comparing to how the island is...More

Thank Melissa D
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Melissa.. Congrats winner!! Im so glad you guys enjoyed yourselves.... Menemsha IS a great spot! And thank you so much for the card and gift! They mean so much to me....

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

My wife and I visited Martha's Vineyard for the first time 9/18 and we wanted to take full advantage of our few days there. And the best way is to find a tour that can take you to all the hot spots and then educate...More

Thank nicholaso117
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

You are so very welcome! Its easy to do a tour with folks like yourselves, you both were extremely fun!!!! You'll always have a friend here!!! Come back and visit again!!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We scheduled a tour with DeeDee well in advance. She arranged a nice breakfast for us when we arrived on the ferry at Biscuits. She picked us up across the street after breakfast, and provided a thorough tour of the island. She has lived there...More

Thank Seth R
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

I cannot wait to see you guys again! Ive got a great itinerary set up for ya that is totally outside the box.... set up especially for you!!! Thanks so much for allowing me to show off where I live..... you come anytime, a friend...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Best tour of Martha’s Vineyard ever! We were a group of five friends who have been visiting or living on Martha’s Vineyard for over 30 years each. David was knowledgeable, fun, and charming. He took us places we didn’t even know existed. It was a...More

Thank mary d
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Mary... David IS wonderful... that's why we have him, he makes the tours extra special. I wouldnt know what to do without him!! Have a great winter!!

Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Dee Dee of Homegrown Tours is a gem! She not only customized a tour for our group of 13, she made a pre-tour breakfast reservation for our group. Her personal knowledge of The Island and unique perspective was very refreshing. HomeGrown Tours is the real...More

Thank D L
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

You know that your group is special.... Thanks for sharing your time with me and allowing me to show you where i live... its amazing, isnt it? And Im so glad you enjoyed breakfast at Biscuits... Chris is awesome!! Thanks again ladies!

Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Best tour on MV. Very personable and knowledgeable on the Afro American history on the island. Better tour than others on the island. Customized our tour and had a great breakfast at Biscuits.

1  Thank Carol H
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Thank you so much... your group of beautiful ladies made it so easy! I enjoyed our time together!! Looking forward to our next adventure! 😎

Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Dee Dee was a wonderful guide! Very knowledgeable with both the Jaws movie and the history of MV. Would highly recommend. My wife and I enjoyed hearing about Dee Dee's family and her own history on the Vineyard, including becoming an extra on the movie...More

1  Thank KellysToy
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hey guys thanks so much.... your truly a great couple!! Hope you have a fantastic winter!!

Reviewed 16 July 2018

Homegrown Tours tops any tour my husband and I have taken. We took the 4 hour sunset tour led by the owner, Dee Dee. As a 3rd generation islander, she had lots of history and fabulous stories to share with us. She picked us up,...More

Thank ddemambro
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi!! Im so grateful to have the opportunity to share the island and its beauty and knowledge with you.... What a joy it was to see the incredible sunset... its a gift to be able to share it with you!! Thanks so much!

Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

DeeDee was amazing!!! She was very informative and friendly. Not only did we get to see a lot of sites from the Jaws movie, but she showed us all around the island and taught us so much about the history of Martha’s Vineyard. She is...More

Thank Kerry T
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hey Kerry.... Im so glad you enjoyed the tour! Jaws info IS super fun to find out and see!!! Maybe another visit we can see the rest of the sites!! Have fun!!!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Martha's Vineyard
Nashua House Hotel
388 reviews
.20 km away
Summercamp Hotel
208 reviews
.33 km away
Pequot Hotel
671 reviews
.53 km away
Vineyard Harbor Motel
145 reviews
3.57 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 201 restaurants in Martha's Vineyard
20byNine
160 reviews
.14 km away
The Red Cat Kitchen at Ken N' Beck
702 reviews
.10 km away
Biscuits
276 reviews
.15 km away
Lookout Tavern
620 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 195 attractions in Martha's Vineyard
Ocean Park
204 reviews
.19 km away
Flying Horses Carousel
338 reviews
.22 km away
Circuit Avenue
276 reviews
.18 km away
Inkwell Beach
102 reviews
.19 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
deirdredannecker
25 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Dolores B | Property representative |
Our bus tours are $40 per person and private tours start at $70/hr for two... please call 7743278192. thank you for your inquiry and have a blessed day! 😊
0
Votes
LaurelHappyone
Hi DeeDee, I hope the rest of your birthday was good. I wanted to let you know that Kara and I both enjoyed you and your knowledge. Both of us did leave the tour feeling underwhelmed. Your trip advisor site said it was an3 hour tour. That was one of the main reasons I chose your company. The tour you provided us was just 2 hours. So we had 33% less time than advertised. Kara had asked to know more about the gingerbread houses towards the end and your response was you didn’t have time to get into that. We asked twice about celebrities. You gave some names but when asked for more you just stopped. We do know you you were informative but 2 hours vs 3 is a’Huge difference. You mentioned at the end that you were about to give a tour to a wealthy group. Your pick up time for them was actually scheduled during our tour time. That didn’t make us happy. again neither one of us walked away feeling like we got our moneys worth. I don’t know if you would provide the courtesy of a partial refund for both of us due to the time loss. But we did need to express how we feel. Thank you. Laurel Hubble
6 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Dolores B | Property representative |
Hi Laurel... thanks for the review... As I had mentioned to you, the tour was a bus tour that you paid for. When we started, i mentioned to you that we were taking the same route as the bus... we do not go thru the... More
0
Votes