We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anselm's Kitengela Hot Glass

Closed Now: 09:00 - 17:00
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Share
Review Highlights
Wonderland

Just as well its a wonderland when you get there as its a hellova bad road! magical place with... read more

Reviewed 12 September 2018
Jacqui H
via mobile
Good but very far and too rough road...

It was too rough road, so it was very tired. But, very good place. If the way would be good, my... read more

Reviewed 5 September 2018
Satoshi M
Read all 78 reviews
75
All photos (75)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good29%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“glass blowing”(13 reviews)
About
Kitengela Hot Glass - Anselm's glass studio, is located in a planetarium dome off the beaten track on the edge of the Nairobi National Park near Ongata Rongai. Open 7 days a week, with continuous glassblowing, 8am-430pm Tues to Sat & 9am-1pm Sun...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 09:00 - 17:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Contact
off Masai Lodge Rd | past Africa Nazarene University, near Ongata Rongai, Nairobi 00503, Kenya
Website
+254 720 330887
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Nairobi
from US$65,00
More Info
from US$80,00
More Info
from US$70,00
More Info
from US$70,00
More Info
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
41
21
4
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
41
21
4
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews recycled glass glass blowing beautiful glass bumpy road drinking glasses unique items worth a trip for sale day trip glassworks bridge demonstration nani art wonderland factory shop
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Just as well its a wonderland when you get there as its a hellova bad road! magical place with amazing energy creating beautiful work. Camels en route and surprises of creative glassworks ...slightly crazy. Worth a trip...but be warned of the road en route....dont be...More

Thank Jacqui H
kitengelahotglass, Owner at Anselm's Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thanks Jacqui - and I'm glad you made the journey. Warm regards, Anselm

Reviewed 5 September 2018

It was too rough road, so it was very tired. But, very good place. If the way would be good, my overall might be excellent.

Thank Satoshi M
kitengelahotglass, Owner at Anselm's Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Hi Satoshi - Thanks very much for visiting us. I’m glad you enjoyed the studio. We are constantly begging the government to use our taxes to improve the route here. Kind regards, Anselm

Reviewed 29 August 2018

This place was a complete surprise! A long, bumpy road led to the outskirts of Rongai where we found this fantastical, whimsy, beautiful glass and pottery artist's grounds. Extremely reasonable prices and a wonderful place to walk around and enjoy the creations everywhere you look....More

Thank Chad D
kitengelahotglass, Owner at Anselm's Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Chad - thanks so much. Always glad to surprise, and reviews like yours are a delight. Much appreciated. Anselm

Reviewed 23 August 2018

It takes about 90 minutes to get to this place from Nairobi. The long journey is not so much because of the distance, but the fact that for the last stretch of your trip, you'll need to go through rough roads and can't really drive...More

Thank Talampakan
kitengelahotglass, Owner at Anselm's Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Hiya Talampakan. Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. Really appreciate it. When I do my site visits on the far side of Nairobi it sometimes also takes me up to 1.5 hours to get there, but usually I can get most...More

Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful afternoon spent at Kitengela Hot Glass watching their craftsmen at work blowing recycled glass creations and browsing through their treasure trove of a shop! They have a great little cafe too where you can enjoy your lunch in a glass filled courtyard.

Thank Ray C
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm's Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Hey Ray - glad to hear you had a great time. Thanks so much for the stars - tumeshukuru kabisa! Anselm

Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

What an incredible place this is. If Tim Burton was a glass designer this is what it would look like! Kitengela Glass is one of those places that transports you to a different world in a different time. The studio and shop are truly feasts...More

Thank Benedetta G
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm's Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear Benedetta, thanks so much for the stars and stellar review. You rule! Warmest regards, Anselm

Reviewed 23 July 2018

I still am in shock after going to Kitengela, and how bad it was. The whole trip ended up taking away a full day from our trip, a full day in which we could have had a lot of fun, but didn't. Getting there was...More

Thank krishnasreenivasan
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm's Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear Krishna, We can only apologise for the experience that you had when visiting Kitengela Hot Glass with your sister Durga and mother Roopa on the 3rd July (we have responded to their individual Trip Advisor complaints). We are devastated that your trip to Kitengela...More

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Kitengela glass is one of the highest ranking things to do in Nairobi on this site. My family and I found this VERY surprising. No friends or family had told us to go, but of course we listened to the strangers on TripAdvisor instead. It...More

Thank Durga1047
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm's Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear Durga, We are horrified about and must profusely apologise for the experience you had when visiting the Kitengela Hot Glass studio with your mum Roopa & brother Krishna on the 3rd July (we have duly responded to their separately posted Trip Advisor complaints of...More

Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

am writing this whole waiting for an extortionist local cab to pick us up from this back-of-beyond shack that is hailed by past visitors. Am shocked to have been led here by glowing reviews. steer clear. unless you want to spend an extra five hours...More

Thank Roopa U
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm's Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear Roopa, My profuse apologies for the negative experience you had on the 3rd July when visiting Kitengela Hot Glass with your twins Durga and Krishna (we have also responded in greater detail to their individual Trip Advisor complaints which they posted later and separately...More

Reviewed 2 July 2018

We found out about Kitengela Glass through one of our guide books, which recommended it as one of their 'author's picks' to visit. We weren't disappointed, what a magical place! It took us a little while to find it as it's off the beaten track...More

Thank Ladylusiphur
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm's Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Hiya - thanks very much for the stars and review. You are too kind. Much appreciated, Anselm

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 193 nearby hotels
Tamarind Tree Hotel
85 reviews
7.30 km away
Park Place Hotel
19 reviews
7.36 km away
The Boma Nairobi
793 reviews
7.81 km away
Boma Inn Nairobi
149 reviews
7.82 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 744 nearby restaurants
The Carnivore Restaurant
3 922 reviews
7.29 km away
Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant
136 reviews
7.88 km away
Planet Yogurt Galleria
60 reviews
8.00 km away
Simba Saloon
21 reviews
7.92 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 694 nearby attractions
Gametrackers
9 reviews
4.12 km away
Lewa Wildlife Conservancy
51 reviews
7.28 km away
Nairobi National Park
2 784 reviews
7.72 km away
Galleria Shopping Mall
95 reviews
8.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
loisek48
11 August 2018|
Answer
Response from kitengelahotglass | Property representative |
Hiya. Visiting charges are Kshs 300 per person - for groups over 5 people, book via +254 720 330887. Under 5 people free, no booking needed. Thx
-1
Votes
wamaggitto
4 June 2018|
Answer
Response from kitengelahotglass | Property representative |
Hiya. Free for groups under 5pax.
0
Votes