We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Nice and romantic place

Nice hotel, rooftop jacuzzi, romantic rooms, beautiful garden, but unfortunately right next to a... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 26 July 2017
kajam653
Good service

Nice room, great view, friendly service. Still needs to improve restaurant menu; options for... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 4 November 2016
jorgeperezji
,
Bogotá, Colômbia
Read all 1 260 reviews
438
All photos (438)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good28%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“lovely place”(2 reviews)
“castle”(6 reviews)
“wedding”(2 reviews)
About
Contact
Rod. BR 040, Km 56 | Itaipava, Itaipava, Petropolis, State of Rio de Janeiro 25740-340, Brazil
Website
+55 24 2223-9292
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (1 260)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
6
4
0
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
6
4
0
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely place castle wedding breakfast rooms castelo
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018

If you are not lodged in the castle there is nothing to do there. There is only an attached restaurant but without any attraction since it is located outside of the castle. Anyway, it is kind weird somebody build a medieval castle at that location.More

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Elias_Haddad
pblkpblk, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Hi, Elias. Our complex has two restaurants, the Solar, on the outside, and the Bistro, which is located inside the Castle. Both have kids area and live music every day. In addition, attached to Solar, now we also have a souvenir shop with souvenirs and...More

Reviewed 9 September 2018

The onion soup in the dough was ordered, however it was really a disappointment to realize something simple like this could be entirely wrong. I was caught off guard and just realized when it finished too soon just after a few spoons. There was not...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank carehta
AdmCasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Hi, Carehta. We appreciate your assessment and apologize for this, as this is not the standard we cherish. In fact, we have already forwarded their considerations to those responsible so that this kind of situation does not happen again. Once again, our sincere apologies. Hugs,...More

Reviewed 14 December 2017

We were invited to a wedding in the Castelo de Itaipava and made our booking to overnight here. In our checkin we got a free upgrade and a larger room was offered to us, the Suite do Príncipe. The decoration is lovely, the bed was...More

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank carolinafzsd
casteloadmin, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hello, carolinafzs. Thank you very much for your rating and we were delighted with your compliments. Our team is very grateful for the recognition of our work and is available to welcome you again. Hugs, Team Itaipava Castle.

Reviewed 23 November 2017

The staff is the best. Everyone is very polite and willing to help. We planned a trip to a near location and I was looking for a cheap place to stay. I was extremely surprised with the cost of the place and I always wanted...More

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Gilvam
casteloadmin, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hello, Gilvam. All right? Thank you very much for your review and we were extremely happy to hear that you had a good experience at the hotel. Our staff feels flattered with every compliment! We only use it to clarify that the hotel has another...More

Reviewed 26 July 2017

Nice hotel, rooftop jacuzzi, romantic rooms, beautiful garden, but unfortunately right next to a busy highway.More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank kajam653
CasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017
Google Translation

Olá. Muito obrigado por nos avaliar no TripAdvisor. Ficamos muito felizes com sua avaliação e em saber que teve uma...More

Reviewed 26 May 2017

An incredible castle amongst gardens , palm trees and 2 charming restaurants (one of'em is more a kind of a pub with an outdoor terrace surrounded by brazilian native trees). Not to mention the medieval Hotel. It worths a visit.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: May 2017
Thank juan g
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Nice room, great view, friendly service. Still needs to improve restaurant menu; options for breakfast were small, good choice in fruits specially interesting for visitors from abroad.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: October 2016
Thank jorgeperezji
Reviewed 13 July 2016

A charming castle right off of the interstate. If you go there also go to The Park in Itaipava and try the cute shopping spree at uniao industria in Itaipava

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Sola117
PauloVitorSilva, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016
Google Translation

Hello Sola, Thanks for your opinion. Regards, Equipe Castelo de Itaipava Eventos & Hotel

Reviewed 5 July 2016

Went here thinking could visit and have a look. Was told at gate that is not open to public, just for events. But go in saying I'd go to restaurant for lunch. But found restaurant only had 4 basic things on menu...... DisappointingMore

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Worldtravelguy
PauloVitorSilva, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Hello First, we would like to thank your comments and your cooperation with us. Currently, the Castle of Itaipava, is intended to two main activities: hotels and events (box office and private). Because of this, there is a daily logistics of assembly and disassembly of...More

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Been there a couple of times, and I really like the whole castle atmosphere! Too bad some areas are now closed to visitations, but if you have a party, wedding or something to celebrate there you should go. I don't know about the hotel because...More

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank edupessanha
PauloVitorSilva, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Hello Edu, First, we would like to greatly thank your comments and your cooperation with us. Currently, the Castle of Itaipava, is intended to two main activities: hotels and events (box office and private). Because of this, there is a daily logistics of assembly and...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 nearby hotels
Saison Spa
79 reviews
.12 km away
Pousada Mirante Das Arcas
7 reviews
1.30 km away
Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
624 reviews
2.06 km away
Granja Brasil Resort
222 reviews
3.37 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 56 nearby restaurants
Matilda Pizzaria e Restaurante
195 reviews
.25 km away
Barao Gastronomia
85 reviews
.59 km away
Chateaux des Montagnes
249 reviews
.35 km away
Camarao em Penca
123 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 15 nearby attractions
La Grande Vallee
62 reviews
1.20 km away
Shopping Estacao Itaipava
151 reviews
1.77 km away
Shopping Itaipava
60 reviews
1.92 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Castelo de Itaipava staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines