We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Virgin Balloon Flights - Bakewell

Virgin Balloon Flights - Bakewell
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
19
All photos (19)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good14%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible49%
Travellers talk about
About
A balloon ride over Bakewell will offer you the perfect panoramic views of the beautiful Peak District. You will be able to follow the paths of the River Derwent and the River Wye which wind their way through the Derbyshire countryside, ensuring the...more
Contact
| Bakewell Showground, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1AQ, England
Website
+44 844 576 7532
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
21
9
2
1
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
21
9
2
1
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safety briefing cancelled flights bucket list glass of champagne farmers field land marks landing position weather dependant my advice would be an amazing experience pilot crew cancellations graham ballon tissington inflated
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

was given for my birthday after 7 cancelled attempts I asked the giver to get them refunded and she did but did not get all her money back as they charge you for nonsense fees. not worth the booked time off work lost more money...More

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Nick S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

bought Virgin ballon flight last April every single flight was cancelled by pilot even in summer where weather was beautiful, finally after 7th cancellation I requested full refund and I got it £20 knocked off what a scam! And ripping off if they doing that...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank MartinaMal
VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights - Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi MartinaMal, I'm sorry you feel the way you do. Ballooning is a weather dependent activity which is made clear at the point of purchase. I can fully appreciate your disappointment with having a flight cancelled on what you would feel to be a suitable...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter bought this balloon ride for us Xmas 2016 after my other daughter died to give me something to look forward too as always on my bucket list. Unfortunately the bookings at either of the 2 departure points we could go from were always...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Kia W
VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights - Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kia, Thank you for your feedback. I'm so glad you had a wonderful balloon ride with us and that our pilot and balloon crew helped make it a fantastic experience. I am though very sorry to hear your comments about our customer service department....More

Reviewed 5 September 2018

We had booked a Virgin Balloon flight eight times and on our ninth attempt managed to get up, up and away from Belton Woods in Grantham. It had taken almost two years to take the flight, it had been very frustrating at times (giving up...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Marion D
VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights - Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Hi Marion, Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy you had a wonderful time flying with us! We agree that weather cancellations are very frustrating, we would love to be able to control the weather! But unfortunately they do happen as it is...More

Reviewed 26 August 2018

Four years ago members of our family clubbed together to buy this as a 50th birthday treat for my husband - he is now 54 and we still have yet to fly. The latest failed attempt (our 14th) was yesterday from Shrewsbury. The pilots message...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank MerseysideRose
VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights - Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Good morning, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you've had multiple weather cancellations. We do make it clear at the point of purchase that ballooning is a weather dependent activity and that cancellations can and do happen. While I can fully appreciate...More

Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Received these vouchers as a gift. Unfortunately husband works off shore and our failed attempts at the flight each cancelled at midnight the night before then took us to the voucher expiry. We were then charged extra for an extention (paid over the phone and...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank HeatherR1989
VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights - Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Good morning Heather, Thank you for your feedback. Ballooning is a weather dependent activity and we do make customers aware of this at the point of purchase. Our vouchers have an initial validity period (of at least 12 months) during bookings can be made. Should...More

Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Rubbish with a capital R! This was bought as a Christmas present December 2016 . Despite booking the flight several times it still has not taken place. It is cancelled time and again allegedly because of bad weather. Have you seen the weather recently? This...More

Date of experience: August 2018
3  Thank Dianne K
VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights - Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Hi Dianne, Thank you for your feedback. I can assure you that our balloon flights are not a scam, it is purely a weather dependent activity and we do make customers aware of this at the point of purchase. While I can fully appreciate your...More

Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

It took nearly two years to actually do this due to weather cancellations so my advise would be if you receive a voucher as a gift book it as soon as you can. The trip was amazing and the pilot graham Durrell pointed out all...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank AngHam1961
VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights - Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Good morning, Thank you for your feedback. So glad you had a wonderful flight with us! Yes, we would always recommend booking your vouchers as soon as you are able to as we normally book around 6-8 weeks in advance. Kind regards, The Virgin Balloon...More

Reviewed 20 July 2018

I originally bought this voucher to the value of £217.00 for my friends 40th birthday in July 2015. Still attempting to carry out this flight, every flight we have tried for, up and down the country, sometimes staying overnight for early morning flights have had...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank sueP3340JH
VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights - Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Hi Sue, Thank you for your feedback and apologies for the delay in replying to you. Ballooning is a weather dependent activity and we do make customers aware of this at the point of purchase. Our vouchers have an initial validity period (of at least...More

Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Thanks to our little family we had a fantastic time. Had to wait for the weather to be right but worth it. Thank you Graham Dorrell for a great landing had worse on a plane. Another thing off our tick list. We went from Tissington...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Ann W
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Virgin Balloon Flights - Bakewell staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines