We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coniston Off-Road Centre

Closed Now: 09:30 - 17:00
Open today: 09:30 - 17:00
Share

Coniston Off-Road Centre
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
57
All photos (57)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent98%
  • Very good1%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
About
Coniston Off-Road Centre is located in rural North Yorkshire, with over 3 miles of fantastic purpose-built tracks and an extensive fleet of off-road vehicles. Come for a challenge, leave with an experience.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 09:30 - 17:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
| The Cabin, Coniston Hall Estate, Coniston Cold, Skipton BD23 4EA, England
Website
+44 1756 748080
Call
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
66
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
66
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews driving experience land rover defender off road minute experience junior driving instructor martin concrete steps hour session my wife's birthday great christmas safety brief great hour small lake brilliant experience birthday present his enthusiasm great fun
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a great morning! We booked this as and experience for both of us to share, I felt very nervous of even having a go as I drive a small automatic and a huge manual Landrover seemed a step too far. James, our tutor was...More

Thank boppsey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would highly recommend this activity for anyone with any level of driving experience. As a complete novice to 4x4 driving I was slightly apprehensive but the instructor, James, could not have been more patient, understanding and helpful. The capabilities of the Defender were truly...More

Thank Mac20052009
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Just awesome! I took my 10 year old (just check they're tall enough) on Sunday and it was just fantastic. It was so much fun. The instructor (Graham) was funny, patient and gave my son confidence. There are different tracks and tasks which gave lots...More

Thank Emma N
Tom S, Public Relations Manager at Coniston Off-Road Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Hi Emma, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review. It's really great to hear your son enjoyed enjoyed the Experience, and by the sounds of it, you did too! I'll certainly pass your kind words on to Graham. Hope to see...More

Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

I got this experience as a birthday present, as I am a big fan of 4x4 cars. It was absolutely fantastic! There was a range of different terrains, gradients and little tasks that I canaries out of the course which made it so varied! My...More

Thank oliviah99
Tom S, Public Relations Manager at Coniston Off-Road Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hi Olivia, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. Really pleased to hear you enjoyed our varied tracks, and that Graham was a calming presence in the vehicle! I'll be sure to pass your kind words on to him. Hope to...More

Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Got a surprise present of a 4x4 off road experience at Coniston. Had a fantastic time with Tash taking me round the course. Great vehicles and a great set up. Spent the majority of my time with me actually behind the wheel driving and really...More

Thank Mick H
Tom S, Public Relations Manager at Coniston Off-Road Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Hi Mick, Thanks for your generous review. Great to hear you enjoyed your Experience with us. I'll be sure to pass your kind words on to Tash, who will be delighted, I'm sure. We hope to see you again in the future. All the best,...More

Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had booked this experience as part of a stay at the Coniston Spa hotel. We had a two hour session split between the Landrover Defender and an Isuzu pick up - both felt very different with the Defender feeling much more...More

Thank Richard A
Tom S, Public Relations Manager at Coniston Off-Road Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Hi Richard, Just a quick note of thanks for taking the time to leave such a generous review. It's great to hear you were immediately comfortable with the driving, and that you found our course challenging yet enjoyable! I'll be sure to pass your kind...More

Reviewed 1 August 2018

Booked 7 months in advance to secure the date and time for a 4x4 experience. 5 months later they emailed to say they couldn't honour our booking as they had a corporate event that day. Apparently they mysteriously forgot to put this corporate event in...More

2  Thank MsScG
Tom S, Public Relations Manager at Coniston Off-Road Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Good afternoon, We apologise that in this case we could not accommodate your booking. In this instance we do feel that your comments are disappointing and somewhat unfair. As a team, we did try our very best to try and rectify the problem by offering...More

Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Spent a fabulous afternoon with our guide, Martin today. Who knew land rovers could get to such terrifying angles. We couldn't have enjoyed it more. Worth every penny and can't wait to do it again. Martin was a brilliant guide, calm, helpful and very funny....More

Thank MDale
Tom S, Public Relations Manager at Coniston Off-Road Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Hi Martin, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your afternoon with us, and that Martin was a capable guide. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words on to him. Hope to...More

Reviewed 3 July 2018

We booked a kids 4x4 experience for our 11 year old son and his friend, and it was amazing! Martin, the instructor, was absolutely brilliant with the boys, and he really put their minds at ease to ensure the boys were safe, and that they...More

Thank sandorp
Tom S, Public Relations Manager at Coniston Off-Road Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Hi sandorp, Thanks for your kind words! We're really proud of the Junior Experience, so it's great to hear your son and friend enjoyed it so much. I'll make sure Martin sees your review too - I'm sure he'd want to pass on his thanks...More

Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Came here as a surprise for our eleven year old son who loved the one hour off roading in the Kubota. Kirsty helped out really well and made my son feel confident and instantly in control of the vehicle. It wasn’t cheap at £79 for...More

Thank AndySING73
coniston4x4, Public Relations Manager at Coniston Off-Road Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Hi Andy, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Great to hear your son enjoyed his Experience out on course with Kirsty. Maybe we'll see you again for a go in one of our full-size 4x4s! All the best, ^Tom

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
2 295 reviews
.27 km away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
751 reviews
3.46 km away
Eldon Country Hotel
33 reviews
6.17 km away
The Tempest Arms
907 reviews
6.57 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 164 nearby restaurants
Macleods Restaurant at The Coniston Hotel
254 reviews
.18 km away
Hazy Dayz
50 reviews
3.85 km away
Town End Farm Shop & Tearoom
208 reviews
4.23 km away
The Old Swan Inn
318 reviews
4.25 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 63 nearby attractions
Hellifield Station
23 reviews
4.40 km away
Thornton Hall Farm Country Park
466 reviews
7.37 km away
Greenberfield Locks
21 reviews
7.30 km away
Ghyll Golf Club
6 reviews
7.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Claire B
1 September 2018|
Answer
Response from Tom S | Property representative |
Hi Claire, Unfortunately, no. We are unable to accommodate dogs in our vehicles. Regards, Tom @ Coniston Off-Road
0
Votes
Damian S
1 July 2016|
Answer
Response from John B | Reviewed this property |
We actually paid less than the advertised price. We had two Kubota vehicles and only booked the day before so we got a special price. I think we paid £90 for the two for one hour which was really good.
1
Vote