We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Country Skittles

8 Bunkers Hill, Townshend TR27 6ER, England
+44 1736 850209
Website
Save
Review Highlights
An enjoyable place for all ages

I’ve been visiting country skittles since I was very young and it is still as fab as ever. The... read more

Reviewed 26 March 2018
Holly B
via mobile
Not what it was

Living locally , I have visited frequently since 1988, and enjoyed a good evening with a lot of fun... read more

Reviewed 16 March 2018
csmiffy2018
,
Hayle, United Kingdom
Read all 194 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Country Skittles is a fun place to go whether a family group, an office outing or just the two of you! It has 4 traditional skittle alleys, a great restaurant, well-stocked bar, shooting gallery, mini crazy golf and lots of games including air hockey, pool, 2 player Guitar Hero, traditional board games, etc. Perfect for all ages! Please check our web site for details of menus and opening hours!
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good34%
  • Average9%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“board games” (31 reviews)
“air hockey” (15 reviews)
“shooting range” (10 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 18:00 - 23:00
LOCATION
8 Bunkers Hill, Townshend TR27 6ER, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1736 850209
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"board games"
in 31 reviews
"air hockey"
in 15 reviews
"shooting range"
in 10 reviews
"games room"
in 10 reviews
"arcade machines"
in 6 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 14 reviews
"family night"
in 4 reviews
"family games"
in 2 reviews
"great fun"
in 15 reviews
"skittle alley"
in 5 reviews
"pin bowling"
in 3 reviews
"family outing"
in 3 reviews
"children's meals"
in 2 reviews
"fajitas"
in 2 reviews
"arcade type"
in 2 reviews
"licensed bar"
in 2 reviews
"large portions"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

I’ve been visiting country skittles since I was very young and it is still as fab as ever. The portion sizing is huge which is never a negative and the whole environment is just on a high. Would honestly recommend to all ages as a...More

Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Living locally , I have visited frequently since 1988, and enjoyed a good evening with a lot of fun on the skittle lanes and good food . Sadly , the mothers day family outing last sunday was a bit of a let down.The skittle lane...More

Thank csmiffy2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy the haddock fish cakes you ordered on Mother’s Day. During your phone call to our manager, he offered to refund the cost of your meal to the card used at the time, but you didn’t want to take up...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

8 adults and six kids....this is such a great place for the family to get together. We had a joint birthday celebration for a 72 and a 13 year old....it was loud and lively! Great fun in the skittle alley followed by a great meal....More

Thank sootin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thanks so much! It always makes our efforts worthwhile when we know they are appreciated! See you again very soon, we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Expensive, badly maintained, games don't work properly and/or broken, crazy golf course terrible, 1 super mario video game with dodgy steering wheel that doesn't let you drive properly or choose your options, no chalk or triangle for the pool table, table football rusty & the...More

Thank judithmg2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Really sorry that you didn't enjoy yourselves at all during your visit. However, your description of Skittles isn't something I recognise. During the day of your visit, there were no machines out of order. However, machines do occasionally go out of order, especially when we...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

We come here every year , it’s a fantastic place to come and our kids still enjoy it even though they are now teenagers. It’s basic good family fun , don’t listen to the bad reviews. We’ve never ever had bad service and the staff...More

Thank oldsie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

That's what we like to see, happy, regular customers! See you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Country skittles is essentially a pub, with a few games on offer, we went for a bar snack as it's just around the corner and have been lots of times before, although not for a while. It was not busy, yet the service was poor,...More

2  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thanks for your comments, and I'm sorry we fell short of your expectations. We are not a pub, we are a restaurant with a bar and traditional skittle alleys, and as such, we provide a combination that is unique to this part of the world....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Loads of games to play from board games to pool and arcade machines this place is a fun place to visit. We only drank but the food looks and smells great!! We spent around half a day here playing pool and all the other games...More

Thank Sedge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Glad you all enjoyed yourselves. Hopefully, you can try our restaurant the next time you come! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Had a lovely evening with family at country skittles. There should be more places like this! The only down side was that there was families who weren't supervising/ controlling their young children, so they were being very loud and disruptive to other guests.

Thank Ella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thanks for your comments. Glad you enjoyed yourselves. It can be difficult for parents to keep some children under control at all times. Sorry about that, but I'm glad it didn't spoil your evening with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Visited here on a "kids" day, played skittles, had lunch and then played pool and air hockey etc. Food was good, decent value and kids enjoyed themselves. Definitely one to consider particularly on an overcast/rainy day.

Thank Bano73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thanks for your comments. Glad you enjoyed yourselves. We're good to come to even if it's not raining as well! See you again soon, I hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We originally just came here to have something to eat for dinner and ended up booking a game of skittles to play afterwards. We didn't have to wait too long for the food to arrive which was of generous portions. The food was well cooked...More

Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Great stuff! We have a motto at Skittles, and that is 'happy children mean happy parents'! So, I'm glad you all had a good time. See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Townshend Hotels
White Hart Hotel
115 reviews
4.46 km away
Premier Inn Hayle
811 reviews
5.11 km away
Travelodge Hayle
284 reviews
5.24 km away
Chymorvah Hotel
55 reviews
6.59 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Duke of Leeds
15 reviews
1.95 km away
The Royal Standard
31 reviews
3.93 km away
Harry's Cali-Style
146 reviews
4.65 km away
Coach & Horses Inn
249 reviews
4.69 km away
Nearby Attractions
Coast 2 Coast Karting
123 reviews
4.34 km away
Hayle Towans Beach
439 reviews
5.57 km away
West Cornwall Golf Club
22 reviews
5.74 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Country Skittles staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;