We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Godstone Vineyards

Closed today: Closed
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
On A Whim

Have seen this place on Facebook on many occasions, so rather than do the everyday mundane chores... read more

Reviewed 9 July 2017
theowler
,
Burnham, United Kingdom
Lovely way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

Spent a lovely afternoon at Godstone Vineyard. Really lovely cafe, really good atmosphere. Had a... read more

Reviewed 22 October 2018
jmhurn1
,
Brentwood, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 44 reviews
106
All photos (106)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good37%
  • Average22%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
About
The light morning mists of late summer and early autumn, combined with the relatively cool microclimate which exists at the foot of the gently sloping North Downs Way, allows our grapes to develop wonderful aromas which are part of the unique...more
Closed today
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Godstone Vineyard Quarry Road, Godstone RH9 8DQ, England
Website
+44 1883 744590
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
14
15
9
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
14
15
9
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheese platter dry white wine chicken curry rose wine lovely cafe many occasions microwaved
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Spent a lovely afternoon at Godstone Vineyard. Really lovely cafe, really good atmosphere. Had a cheese platter and Godstones dry white wine. A rare sunny october day. Will be back. Jess and Paul xx

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank jmhurn1
jonathandeeley, Public Relations Manager at Godstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Thank you for the lovely comments. We are so pleased that your visit was an enjoyable one. Next time make a point of trying our Sparkling Wines, I don't think you'll be disappointed !

Reviewed 21 August 2017

The staff are friendly and the location next to the vineyard is nice. The menu and food though are less appealing.The tea is served with long life milk which was horrid. The food is all microwaved; chicken curry; mac cheese or fish pie. I would...More

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Dominic R
jonathandeeley, Guest Relations Manager at Godstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you for the comments. We will look into all your suggestions.

Reviewed 9 July 2017

Have seen this place on Facebook on many occasions, so rather than do the everyday mundane chores, decided to go and pay a visit Only four others were there at the time, decided to have the platter. Four cheeses, crackers, and homemade chutney, followed by...More

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank theowler
jonathandeeley, Guest Relations Manager at Godstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for the kind comments. The noise from the M25 varies according to the wind direction so you were rather unlucky in that respect, however the motorway has helped to make our vineyard accessible ! I am glad that you enjoyed our wines.

Reviewed 29 June 2017

The cafe is in a very pretty location, so ideal on a fine day to sit with a coffee and admire the view. It was full outside when we were there on a Sunday afternoon so we sat inside. It is spacious in there with...More

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Rosemarie000
jonathandeeley, Public Relations Manager at Godstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

I am genuinely sorry to read about your experience. I don't wish to make excuses however I am about to do so ! As a very small business (which wishes to grow) we have a problem matching staffing levels with customer demand: on a cold,...More

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Good and friendly service. Family run. Limited menu. Hot meals better value than the cheese plate we ordered. One of the glasses of dry white wine was slightly short of 250ml marker and very sharp tasting. No wine tasting menu advertised or offered. We sat...More

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank TheAndrewNatt
jonathandeeley, Public Relations Manager at Godstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Many thanks for your subjective comments. I will ensure that your suggestions are acted upon. As you rightly say, noise from the motorway is wind dependent and we have to take the good with the bad !

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Two friends and I went for an afternoon session fishing arriving at 2 on Saturday Despite the website saying open until 5:30 pm for fishing, and the woman who collects money coming and then saying they were open until 6.. she then turned up after...More

Date of experience: December 2016
4  Thank Simon A
jonathandeeley, Guest Relations Manager at Godstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

I am sorry that your visit to the fishing lake was not an enjoyable one and we will endeavour to improve the visitor experience. You have raised a valid point regarding the lake's opening hours as shown on the website. The closing time, as shown,...More

Reviewed 29 November 2016

The swims could do with some attention i.e cutting back some of the bushes/ small trees that are growing, Someone with a keener interest in fishing to look after the lake would be great as the women only talks to you for money. Other than...More

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank Ed C
jonathandeeley, Public Relations Manager at Godstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Many thanks for your very helpful comments. I will give them careful consideration.

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Despite being some nice carp in this lake, it needs to be managed properly. A proper bailiff would benefit the place greatly.

Date of experience: November 2016
2  Thank georgemY3616AE
jonathandeeley, Guest Relations Manager at Godstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Many thanks for the comments. I will investigate the possibility of employing a full-time bailiff.

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Reasonable location and views if some traffic noise from the motorway. Well priced menu and service. However, a rather officious woman marching around ( the owner?), who made the whole experience a little unnerving. A smile goes a long way especially when you are in...More

Date of experience: September 2016
3  Thank EDCtravel
jonathandeeley, Guest Relations Manager at Godstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

I am very sorry that your experience was not an enjoyable one. The 'officious woman' who you mention is my mother. I am naturally biased however a lady in her late seventies who still works seven days a week and displays unrelenting enthusiasm in her...More

Reviewed 26 September 2016

We booked for a wine tasting with a cheese platter on a Saturday afternoon. The place is next to the M25, which is not really relaxing and not really what we would expect from a vineyard. Staff was really friendly. We sat on the terrace,...More

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Panamaabcd123
jonathandeeley, Guest Relations Manager at Godstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Thank you for your review. Firstly, I am genuinely sorry that - ultimately - your visit did not meet expectations. You raise several issues: firstly, plastic chairs on the terrace - I will give this serious consideration; secondly, the M25 - it is a reality...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe
324 reviews
4.48 km away
Chez Vous Rooms
44 reviews
5.18 km away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
1 227 reviews
6.38 km away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
124 reviews
7.07 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 12 nearby restaurants
The Green Rooms Of Godstone
456 reviews
1.70 km away
Casa Lola
254 reviews
2.48 km away
North Downs Golf Club
8 reviews
2.50 km away
The Old Forge Cafe
74 reviews
1.74 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 5 nearby attractions
Bletchingley Golf Club
33 reviews
3.34 km away
Everyman Cinema
139 reviews
3.87 km away
Woldingham Golf Club
129 reviews
4.21 km away
Surrey National Golf Club
86 reviews
4.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
P7489NHrobertd
22 April 2018|
Answer
Response from jonathandeeley | Property representative |
Dear Robert Thank you for your enquiry. I have it on good advice that pies are indeed very popular with the Frenchies, however these are recessionary times so we have had to cut back on pastry. I trust that this will not... More
1
Vote
Linda S
28 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from jonathandeeley | Property representative |
Yes, no problem in the vineyard or on our outdoor terraced area - on a lead - however we don't allow dogs within the shop due to health and safety regulations.
0
Votes