We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kynren

Features Animals
A689 | Eleven Arches, Durham, Bishop Auckland DL14 7SF, England
+44 333 300 3028
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Brilliant in every way.

Expected to be disappointed after all the publicity...quite the opposite. Cannot fault the... read more

Reviewed yesterday
challenger530
,
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Great entertainment - time flew by

We were lucky with excellent weather so it was warm most of the evening but you do need some layers... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Bordinel
,
Durham, UK
Read all 1 133 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Kynren - An Epic Tale of England is the UK’s 'must see' spectacular live action show that takes place in County Durham every summer. This world class performance is an exciting family show, that takes you on an immersive journey through 2,000 years of history, myth and legend.
  • Excellent86%
  • Very good9%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“special effects” (150 reviews)
“car park” (245 reviews)
“shuttle bus” (75 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 21:00 - 23:00
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
A689 | Eleven Arches, Durham, Bishop Auckland DL14 7SF, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 333 300 3028
Write a ReviewReviews (1 133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"special effects"
in 150 reviews
"car park"
in 245 reviews
"shuttle bus"
in 75 reviews
"whole event"
in 27 reviews
"amazing spectacle"
in 24 reviews
"local volunteers"
in 21 reviews
"seating area"
in 24 reviews
"english history"
in 37 reviews
"fantastic evening"
in 15 reviews
"main event"
in 12 reviews
"opening night"
in 15 reviews
"wrap up warm"
in 21 reviews
"food stalls"
in 12 reviews
"visual effects"
in 13 reviews
"show starts"
in 19 reviews
"story telling"
in 12 reviews
"standing ovation"
in 14 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1 131 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Expected to be disappointed after all the publicity...quite the opposite. Cannot fault the production,cast,animals and especially the volunteer army who did everything with a smile..First performance of year and how good it was.

3  Thank challenger530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

We were lucky with excellent weather so it was warm most of the evening but you do need some layers as the night moves on! Whole performance was spectacular - the cast, the music, lighting effects and the fireworks. The horses and their riders particularly...More

3  Thank Bordinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Omg this blew us away 10 out 10 Every thing so well organised, the staff had it all covered, food and drink at ok prices not much queuing , good clean loos Wont say about the show just see it yourself and enjoy oh and...More

5  Thank dxc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

The show had been advertised on TV and looked good, but until you have been and seen it, for real you do not know what you are missing. The how wa out of thi world a you do not know what to expcect. The actors...More

5  Thank mildeanlodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Well organised spectacular event would recommend for all ages. It wad a lovely dry night when we went but had it been raining beware there is no cover. There's plenty to eat or drink there. If you're taking a picnic don't take a rucksack. Watch...More

4  Thank Bernadette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

firstly I've seen the show in previous years and would highly recommend it. However the Administration is absolutely shocking. I bought tickets trying to use a voucher code for £10 a ticket, the website stated that discount would be applied upon checkout - HA! it...More

1  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kynren, Customer Care at Kynren, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Denise, We're sorry that you have not received any response within the last 7 days - we have checked our inbox but cannot find any query from you. Please could you contact enquiries@elevenarches.org or call us on: 01388 436036 so we can look into...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Bloody marvellous. We had an idea it would be good, but it blew all our expectations out of the water. A must see.

3  Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

We travelled from Canada specifically to see Kynren, so needless to say, our hopes were high. Even now, two weeks later, my family cannot stop raving about this brilliant, magnificent spectacle. Our 9-year old declared that his mind was blown at Kynren. The fireworks were...More

7  Thank StacPollaidh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

This was a spectacular show never seen anything like it for a long time. Well worth a visit it was really a superb performance by the whole cast and crew truly wonderful.

5  Thank billgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Totally blown away - awesome achievement. What a team effort! We also loved the blacksmith experience on the way in, and the photos and content of the luxury brochure a very worthwhile souvenir.

6  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Bishop Auckland Hotels
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
502 reviews
1.73 km away
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
484 reviews
3.70 km away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
819 reviews
4.77 km away
The Manor House Hotel
1 151 reviews
5.38 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Fifteas Vintage Tearoom
150 reviews
.56 km away
The Black Bull Inn
145 reviews
.48 km away
Spice Lounge
288 reviews
.62 km away
Castlegate Cafe
47 reviews
.57 km away
Nearby Attractions
Auckland Castle
309 reviews
.48 km away
Broom Mill Farm
43 reviews
3.37 km away
Jubilee Park
34 reviews
5.27 km away
Sweet Greetings
13 reviews
4.42 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Bri70_12
15 July 2018|
Answer
Response from Kynren | Property representative |
We don’t currently run a shuttle bus from the blue badge car park down to the Tribune. We do have a very limited amount of wheelchairs available on site on a first come first served basis. Full accessibility details are... More
0
Votes
helenbr22
14 July 2018|
Answer
Response from Kynren | Property representative |
Hi Helen, Diamond seats are our premiere padded seats. Platinum and all other seating tiers are plastic stadium seating.
0
Votes
helenbr22
14 July 2018|
Answer
Response from speedhump | Reviewed this property |
I believe they are. A welcome addition. Hope you enjoy show.
0
Votes