We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lion and Safari Park

Features Animals
R512 Pelindaba Rd | North West, Broederstroom 0240, South Africa
+27 87 150 0100
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Lion Park Half-Day Tour from Johannesburg
More Info
and up
Private Johannesburg Full Day Tour Including a Visit to the Lion Park
More Info
and up
Lion Park Half-Day Tour from Johannesburg and Pretoria
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Over its almost 50 year history the Lion Park became Gauteng's Number One Tourist Attraction through the friendliness of its staff and the amazing wildlife experience it offered. The new Lion and Safari Park has spared no expense in creating a world class tourist attraction in the heart of the Cradle of Humankind and looks forward to building on this success in the many years ahead. Attractions include: Safari Drives Game drives Cheetah Walk and interaction Restaurants African Shopping Experience more...
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good35%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“wild dogs” (108 reviews)
“self drive” (98 reviews)
“cheetah walk” (54 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
R512 Pelindaba Rd | North West, Broederstroom 0240, South Africa
+27 87 150 0100
Write a ReviewReviews (1 757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1 322 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

This was a place which I went with my other half for her birthday and we were not disappointed at all. We went onto a Safari which the guides were extremely friendly and took us so close to the Lions we could touch them, and...More

Thank jainesh h
Reviewed 4 days ago

Seems as though the company is being greedy trying to cross sell and force you to go on guided tours in order to do a cub interaction. What a pity to see an attraction that would need local business in the past don't bother anymore.

Thank Pranil_Dullabh
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice place. Would recommend going to this glorified zoo 1 hr from Joburg if you only have half day and can’t make it to Pilanesburg. They got lions, leopard, hyenas, ostriches, giraffe and wild dogs. The lion cub interaction is kind of over rated. The...More

Thank Aditya J
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We drove nearly 45 minutes from where we stayed in Johannesburg to get here . I found this place on another website about things to do when in Joburg. It didn't dissapoint at all ! Short drive , great price for this "longer" tour and...More

Thank Peter H
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took the grandchildren to the Lion and Safari park in December. Luckily we went early as it got very busy. In its favour: no entrance fee payable, very nice play area for the kids, and sufficient place to eat and drink something. The food...More

1  Thank PieterCroukamp
Reviewed 1 week ago

Took my own car through the park. Fantastic experience to see animals so close. Animals seemed well taken care of. Great for kids and adults alike. Go and see the lion cubs and the funny meerkats.

Thank negroni1968
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very surprised with the "new" premises as I was a regular visitor to the old site near Lanseria. The new site is world class to say the least. It's a bit artificial for an authentic safari experience, but where else can you go...More

Thank wdulabh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This establishment is purely and simply a commercial money making business with not even a nod to animal education or conservation. The poor cubs are man-handled by wave upon wave of visitors and no answers are forthcoming as to what happens to them if and...More

2  Thank steveajones001
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The venue has been fantastically constructed but the whole experience was let down by the service inside the complex. Welcome at the entrance and gate is good but the assistance in the animal interaction area is non existent with several employees sitting in front but...More

3  Thank alanv423
Andre_LionPark, Manager at Lion and Safari Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Alan, Thank you for taking the time to review our facility, this is definitely not the kind of service we would like to offer our guests. Our sincere apology for the bad experience you had with us. Fortunately, we don’t receive many complaints like...More

Reviewed 14 December 2017

We went there in end of November. The exclusive three hour Safari Tour in an open game drive vehicle gave us an unforgettable safari experience. We got extremely close to many of Africa’s most exciting animals including Brown and White Lion, Wild dog, hyena, Cheetah...More

Thank SooYinn
Nearby HotelsSee all Broederstroom Hotels
The Venue Country Hotel
20 reviews
.46 km away
Lanseria Country Estate
124 reviews
8.43 km away
Hoogland Health Hydro
149 reviews
11.98 km away
Kassaboera Lodge
95 reviews
12.08 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ale House
13 reviews
5.64 km away
Laurentina Restaurant
86 reviews
7.49 km away
The Fat Olive Restaurant
31 reviews
1.62 km away
AfricanSwiss Restaurant
89 reviews
7.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lesedi Cultural Village
328 reviews
.47 km away
Lion & Safari Park
5 reviews
1.15 km away
Ale House
11 reviews
4.93 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
29 August 2017|
Response from Shamilla B | Reviewed this property |
I agree totally. When you enter an establishment such as game parks and zoo's one needs to have total respect for animals. They don't have the ability to speak, they rely purely on instinct. They they feel threatened in any... More
Sati G
13 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from lsgoldblatt | Reviewed this property |
When we asked about the cubs we were going to play with they explained that the fourth from this group had been killed by its mother and they were worried about the safety of the reining three as the lioness obviously could... More
Shubham S
10 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Jenny i | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure but us a well run organization just inefficient restaurant staff