We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ventnor Botanic Garden

Undercliff Drive, Ventnor PO38 1UL, England
+44 1983 855397
Website
Share
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$77,54*
and up
Isle of Wight Day Trip from London
More Info
US$172,77*
and up
Isle of Wight Overnight Tour from London
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
With our magnificent location on the Island's Channel coast, Ventnor Botanic Garden has a unique sub-tropical microclimate making it approximately 5 degrees warmer than the general British climate – making it Britain’s hottest garden! Set in 22 acres, with over 6,000 species of plants, shrubs and champion trees why not follow one of our many trails to fully explore the garden? Take the Victorian Tunnel Tour out to sea or take the steps underground to our mushroom fruiting chamber. If you are bringing young children we also have a well-equipped play area. Enjoy teas, coffees, cakes and light snacks in our Plantation Room Café or enjoy an outstanding dining experience in the Edulis Restaurant, where much of the ingredients are grown in the Garden or sourced locally. We also have plenty of our own produce including jams, chutneys, cordials and even some fine botanic craft beers available from our own shop! We are open daily from 10am with last admissions at 5pm.
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good32%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“hot house” (38 reviews)
“new zealand” (29 reviews)
“exotic plants” (21 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Undercliff Drive, Ventnor PO38 1UL, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1983 855397
Ways to Experience Ventnor Botanic Garden
from US$77,50
More Info
from US$172,80
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (1 050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hot house"
in 38 reviews
"new zealand"
in 29 reviews
"exotic plants"
in 21 reviews
"red squirrels"
in 25 reviews
"tunnel tour"
in 18 reviews
"micro climate"
in 25 reviews
"steephill cove"
in 61 reviews
"coastal path"
in 50 reviews
"heritage centre"
in 12 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 66 reviews
"tea room"
in 23 reviews
"steep hill cove"
in 11 reviews
"isle of wight"
in 51 reviews
"for sale"
in 13 reviews
"coffee shop"
in 21 reviews
"play area"
in 15 reviews
"scones"
in 11 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1 036 reviews

Reviewed today

We always like to fit at least one garden visit into our holiday agenda and have visited many over the years. As with other visitors we experienced an initial lack of clarity about where to pay for tickets. We we’re then issued with coloured wristbands...More

Thank FOODIE51_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed today

I have visited the Botanic Gardens many times over the years but they do now appear to be slightly neglected. There are plenty of signs explaining that numerous plants died during the cold spell and that I can accept but so many borders have not...More

Thank Lavender1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We got Married at the Botanical Gardens and absolutley loved it!!! Tom the wedding planner was amazing throughout and made us feel at ease and confident nothing would go wrong!!! We had 140 guests and everyone said how beautiful the venue was and how delightful...More

Thank eschitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

This place has great potential, but it is barely realised. To pay for the tickets you have to join the cafe queue and wait until everyone has had their orders taken. Then when you see the enormous cost of the ticket and think this place...More

Thank Freddyminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

Great car park etc, on arrival went into the building with the big movable sign saying 'buy your tickets here' to be "greeted" by a very grumpy man trying to be managerial telling us we had to buy our entry tickets in the cafe as...More

Thank awhittall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

THE place to visit. Calming, peaceful, beautiful, lots of hidden corners to find. Great for all generations. Accessible. Expensive. Bloody expensive! But never disappoints, unless it's raining, don't go in the rain. But their own beer is divine. All good.

1  Thank Nammeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

I understand that this place receives no grants or funding and relies on the visitors to keep the place going, but I do think £19 for one person entry is pushing it quite a bit. If you were to make it less (less than half...More

Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

We had an absolutely fantastic time. The day was really well planned out by a team that couldn’t have helped more. They were kind and very thoughtful. Tom made the day really special. Thanks to all at Ventnor botanical gardens. I highly recommend this as...More

Thank jfcorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

I read some of these reviews before visiting the gardens and was expecting the worst. I met the volunteer gardeners who work as a team on various days with responsibility for a different part of the garden.They have had a hard winter and have many...More

Thank jonathant621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, General Manager at Ventnor Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for understanding that we had to allocate a lot of time to replanting after we took storm damage from the Beast from the East. We pride ourselves on pushing the boundaries of half-hardiness, but there are risks. For many years we had no...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second visit as we took family members who were on their first visit to the Isle of Wight. We did the guided tour, really hugely enjoyable as our guide was so knowledgeable and obviously loved the place. To learn she had been...More

Thank LOL011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 115 hotels in Isle of Wight
Eversley Hotel
163 reviews
1.08 km away
The Royal Hotel
1 030 reviews
1.21 km away
St. Augustine Villa
175 reviews
1.59 km away
The Hambrough
373 reviews
1.63 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lady Scarletts Tea Parlour
246 reviews
1.36 km away
Ale and Oyster
541 reviews
1.31 km away
The Crab Shed
196 reviews
.24 km away
The Royal Hotel Restaurant
313 reviews
1.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Steephill Cove Beach
380 reviews
.27 km away
Ventnor Park and Putting Green
100 reviews
1.09 km away
St Lawrence Old Church
33 reviews
1.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Gemma H
9 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sookeico1 | Reviewed this property |
I have no idea, but it you have received hate mail in any form you should report it.
1
Vote
nicolelindsell
7 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from AnnH59 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they are
1
Vote
madeleine p
20 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Rawlings064 | Reviewed this property |
Reading other replies. I can't imagine having to book at any time. The gardens are very nice and colourful depending on the time of year. The café is nice with tea & cakes on the menu. On our visit there was a wedding going... More
0
Votes
;