We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rylstone Gardens

10 Popham Road | Shanklin, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Save
Review Highlights
Well maintained Gardens

the gardens are well maintained but the facilities are often closed. Twice visited and the cafe has... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
STEPHEN G
Cream tea and red squirrels

Found this place by accident and definitely coming back again. Really nice people, lovely cream... read more

Reviewed 10 April 2018
paulfeeney
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 253 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Beautiful English Country Tea Gardens which are a haven for bees,butterflies,birds and our Red Squirrels who visit everyday. Also enjoy our lovely old fashioned Crazy Golf fully accessible to wheelchair and impaired mobility people
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good30%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“crazy golf” (94 reviews)
“brass band” (14 reviews)
“band stand” (7 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
10 Popham Road | Shanklin, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Shanklin
from US$82,00
More Info
from US$21,90
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"crazy golf"
in 94 reviews
"brass band"
in 14 reviews
"band stand"
in 7 reviews
"cakes"
in 20 reviews
"lovely park"
in 10 reviews
"cream tea"
in 15 reviews
"flower displays"
in 4 reviews
"red squirrels"
in 11 reviews
"flower beds"
in 5 reviews
"the cliff"
in 14 reviews
"tea room"
in 10 reviews
"new owners"
in 5 reviews
"home made"
in 3 reviews
"little gem"
in 5 reviews
"coastal path"
in 5 reviews
"sea view"
in 4 reviews
"lovely place"
in 7 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

the gardens are well maintained but the facilities are often closed. Twice visited and the cafe has been shut and the toilets closed. Beautiful gardens like these should keep the facilities open during the evenings, at leastthe early part, so visitors can enjoy the amenities.

Thank STEPHEN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Found this place by accident and definitely coming back again. Really nice people, lovely cream team and red squirrels playing in the trees. 5 stars

1  Thank paulfeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Came here with family whilst on holiday, lovely. Sadly no red squirrels, but did see a little cat lurking in the bushes which was lovely. The crazy golf was good, very creative and great decor. The crazy golf did seem a bit like painted concrete,...More

2  Thank SapphireCookiePeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

One of our go-to-destinations when in Shanklin -friendly owners who will provide fresh milk when asked. Pretty gardens with almost guaranteed sightings of squirrels and interesting bee-friendly plants. The subject of toilets is contentious as the café itself doesn't have it's own facilities and are...More

1  Thank annieb9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Have lived on island for years but didn't know this beautiful place was here.Went to visit Chine but was closed.so carried on walking,so glad we did.The service from ladies and gentleman was great and cream tea was yummy. We also came away with plants.Have also...More

2  Thank wOOdy501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Very few flowers/ shrubs. Just trees and grass. Crazy golf looked to be just painted concrete so we didn't bother. Asked in the tea rooms if there was another toilet somewhere as the public ones in the garden were closed. To be told "Yes they...More

Thank emma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We simply love Rylestone Gardens, it's gorgeous to look at, every single plant and tree is so well tended. Some nights a band plays in the bandstand which adds to the lovely atmosphere. There's a fantastic cafe too offering lovely cream teas and you can...More

1  Thank teddycat179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Very disappointed with the way tea is now being served. A cup of hot water and a separate tea bag is not an acceptable substitute for a tea pot, preferably with a further pot of hot water for a top up. Also a plastic sachet...More

3  Thank martinpavey2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rylstone2015, Owner at Rylstone Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

We are sorry you were disappointed with your recent visit to our Tea Gardens. It is a real shame you did not ask at the time of ordering as we do indeed offer exactly what you wanted. We hope you will visit again and please...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Lovely place to go with flowers all around and a crazy golf set in the middle. Really nice homemade cakes and very friendly staff.

Thank _christineart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We stumbled across this little gem when visiting Shankin Village and decided to plan a visit on one of our days out. On photos the crazy golf doesn't look much, but I kid you not its a lot harder than it looks (one hole took...More

1  Thank bestmum2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 115 hotels in Isle of Wight
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
645 reviews
.10 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
902 reviews
.12 km away
Holliers Hotel
401 reviews
.13 km away
Rylstone Manor Hotel
196 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Keats Cottage
277 reviews
.34 km away
Pendletons
836 reviews
.25 km away
The Happy Haddock
552 reviews
.23 km away
Pencil Cottage
262 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shanklin Theatre
568 reviews
.38 km away
Shanklin Chine
2 085 reviews
.33 km away
Shanklin Beach
78 reviews
.58 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
srh67
13 February 2018|
Answer
Response from 103er | Reviewed this property |
I suspect they don't open before Easter or the 1st of April. Sorry can't help more than that. do enjoy your round of golf if they are open
0
Votes
Sarah S
21 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from mah18632016 | Reviewed this property |
I think it's only in the summer
0
Votes
;