We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spa at Ramside

Ramside Hall, Durham DH1 1TD, England
+44 191 375 3088
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Disappointed.

Where do I start?! I booked our stay through Spa Breaks online. We were emailed ‘One night's bed... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Abigail H
,
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
via mobile
Amazing facility - needs a bit of luxury adding could be fabulous

We are regulars at other spas in the NE so decided to break routine and visit Ramside. No arrival... read more

Reviewed 18 April 2018
vpc2
,
newcastle
Read all 200 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We don't always remember words, we remember experiences. Think pure heaven, now hold those thoughts...they will soon be feelings.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good19%
  • Average12%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“infinity pool” (11 reviews)
“ramside hall” (8 reviews)
LOCATION
Ramside Hall, Durham DH1 1TD, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 191 375 3088
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fusion restaurant"
in 20 reviews
"infinity pool"
in 11 reviews
"ramside hall"
in 8 reviews
"treatment rooms"
in 8 reviews
"bento box"
in 6 reviews
"himalayan salt"
in 5 reviews
"peas"
in 4 reviews
"minute treatment"
in 4 reviews
"twilight package"
in 4 reviews
"mud rasul"
in 4 reviews
"rib room"
in 4 reviews
"thai meal"
in 3 reviews
"sweet treats"
in 3 reviews
"free fruit"
in 3 reviews
"treatment times"
in 3 reviews
"large pool"
in 4 reviews
"changing rooms are"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Where do I start?! I booked our stay through Spa Breaks online. We were emailed ‘One night's bed and breakfast, spa brunch, a choice of 1 x 30 minute treatment from: Massage or Facial, robe, towel and slippers provided and full use of the facilities.‘...More

1  Thank Abigail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

We are regulars at other spas in the NE so decided to break routine and visit Ramside. No arrival drink sadly, filled in forms then given spa tour on large screen. Arrived early and pools were beautiful especially outside pool. Treatments great and therapist excellent....More

Thank vpc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Came here with 2 friends for a spa day treat. The lady greeted us at reception and explained everything to us and showed us to the changing rooms. We enjoyed relaxing in all the different pools and really enjoyed trying the 4 different steam rooms...More

2  Thank Holiday-Lady25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G, Manager at Spa at Ramside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your very kind review I'm glad you all enjoyed your time using the different experiences. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

I visited Ramside with 2 friends for a half term treat. We were greeted by a very friendly lady on reception who explained everything to us for us to have the most relaxing day. The spa is amazing. We spent the majority of our time...More

Thank MrsD84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G, Manager at Spa at Ramside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for you review I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your time in the spa, especially the outdoor pool. I will be sure to pass your comments on the Fusion Team regarding your lunch also. I hope we are able to welcome you back...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Six of us booked for food in the restaurant..waited 20 minutes to get served with drinks when we first went in as only one person serving behind bar. Had our food (was lovely) and had to wait ages for more drinks to come to our...More

1  Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G, Manager at Spa at Ramside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Dawn Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry that there was a delay in the service of your food and drink while in Fusion. I will certainly look into this with the Restaurant Team and I hope this experience does not deter you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Get more people on reception. Stood 10 minutes behind a customer who was doing a large booking so it was taking time. The customer actually apologised not reception. I’m a member and was waiting to buy products but got sick having to wait what ended...More

1  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G, Manager at Spa at Ramside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Andy Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry that there was a delay in the service at reception it is certainly not our intention to cause you any inconvenience. We will certainly look at our rota issues to ensure this is not the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Overall disappointing experience. I will start with the positives, the Thai fusion restaurant was lovely and couldn’t fault the food. The treatment was good although nothing out of the ordinary. The spa area could be fabulous, however, there are far too many people to enjoy...More

Thank carrier186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G, Manager at Spa at Ramside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear carrier186478 Thank you for your feedback and your kind comments regarding the restaurant. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with the other aspects of your visit as this is not our usual standard and I will investigate this further and contact you directly. If...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Really clean, we were meant to get a free drink on arrival which we never had, the free fruit and juices were brilliant to keep hydrated during the spa day but ran out continuously as it was so busy. The thai restaurant served beautiful food...More

2  Thank Food_loving_mum1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

This was my fourth visit here and I can honestly say the service has deteriorated with each. Firstly it took more than several attempts to make a reservation which included leaving several messages that were not replied too. The spa itself is fabulous but it...More

3  Thank Blacklily999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

The Spa is just ok. Nothing special. I’ve tried so hard to like it. But it feels like somewhere where cracks are papered over. It’s NOT 5 star. Often very, very busy and beds are an absolute premium. The staff are really awful. They let...More

3  Thank TOGETHER_WE_TRAVEL35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 hotels in Durham
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2 663 reviews
.06 km away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
500 reviews
1.57 km away
Hallgarth Manor House
110 reviews
1.71 km away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
601 reviews
1.93 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bistro Citron Vert
111 reviews
1.60 km away
Haswells Homer Hill Farm Shop - coffee shop
356 reviews
1.48 km away
The Rib Room Steakhouse and Grill
706 reviews
.12 km away
Fusion Restaurant
92 reviews
.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Down at the Farm
216 reviews
3.71 km away
Elba Park
17 reviews
2.66 km away
Crook Hall & Gardens
808 reviews
4.03 km away
Houghton Hillside Cemetery
5 reviews
3.51 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Laura M
3 May 2018|
Answer
Response from Blacklily999 | Reviewed this property |
You don’t need to get changed if your eating before 7pm, after this they prefer people to be dressed as the restaurant is open to the public.
0
Votes
irene H
28 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Sarah T | Reviewed this property |
Not that I’m aware of I just think under 16s need to be supervised (I could be wrong)
0
Votes
;