We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Durham University Botanic Garden

Save
Share
Review Highlights
Sunday afternoon walk

A very interesting place to visit. A wide range of planting expertly presented and tended. Will... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
campbellroofing
,
Durham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Take out the membership, you won’t regret it.

We have been members of the Botanic gardens for some years now. It’s a place of peace and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Susan P
Read all 342 reviews
136
All photos (136)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good42%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bird hide”(16 reviews)
“tropical plants”(13 reviews)
About
Our 10 hectare University Botanic Garden is set amongst beautiful mature woodlands on the southern outskirts of Durham city. Open to the public, the Botanic Garden offers a wide variety of landscapes to explore and discover, with guests young and...more
Contact
Hollingside Lane | South Road, Durham DH1 3TN, England
Website
+44 191 334 5521
Call
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
158
141
26
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
158
141
26
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird hidetropical plantsjapanese gardencactus housecreepy crawliesinteresting sculpturescoffee shoppark and ridewell worth a visitsunny dayplenty of seatsnice cafepleasant walkfew hourstoastiescouple of hourslovely place to visit
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I visited the gardens early September. Not really that much to look at, trees, bamboo, a pretty poor glass house and a couple of sculptures. Disappointed. Didn’t think it was worth the £4 entry fee.

Thank CDH1963
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A very interesting place to visit. A wide range of planting expertly presented and tended. Will definately be going back. Lovely coffee shop too.

Thank campbellroofing
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Always something new to see as the seasons change.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been members of the Botanic gardens for some years now. It’s a place of peace and tranquility and an ideal way to spend some quiet time watching the seasons come and go. Autumn is by far the best time to go and see...More

Thank Susan P
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

A 12 month season ticket is only £15.00 per adult, and £40.00 for a family of 2 adults and 2 children - you can visit as many times as you like and see the gardens, if you like nature, this would be a great deal...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love these gardens and the tree collection is wonderful. Over the years I have visited many times and always find something new. Plenty of space to let the kids explore.More

Thank beckrichard
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

The central areas of the Botanic Garden are surrounded by woodland native to the British Isles, isolating it from the bustle of the outside world. The extensive woodland is perfect for those looking simply to escape and get back to nature, with a peaceful wander...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A really lovely place to visit just outside Durham. Reasonably priced and with a fantastic variety of plants and trees. Make sure to visit the greenhouses which are full of surprises.More

Thank DaveThomasLeicester
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, it is a great time of year to visit, the best time to sit on the terrace in front of the Visitor Centre or find a quiet seat in the garden and just enjoy being outside. The plants and trees are still vibrant,...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Extensive grounds and a good variety of habitats and species most well labelled and regular maps make the Botanic Garden well worth a visit. Restaurant not great and parking limitedMore

Thank Middledene
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, so pleased to hear you enjoyed the grounds during your visit. We agree that parking is limited at the Visitor Centre but unfortunately there are no options to increase this, although we would love to be able to do so;...More

Reviewed 15 August 2018

Spent a wonderful afternoon at this venue,was impressed by size of place and wonderful grounds for walking.Excellent selection of plants and flowers to see and good hot houses.Good food and Coffee are available at the Cafe,currently has a two for one offer with the Gardens...More

Thank Bill R
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Bill. We want people to come and enjoy the gardens so keep the entry fees low, and the Gardeners take great pride in keeping the gardens tidy and well kept. Always lovely to hear that people enjoy their visits.

Reviewed 14 August 2018

spent a lovely afternoon here, We had never visited before even though we don't live that far away. Had a nice walk round looking at all the plants and trees and then had a coffee from the coffee shop in the sunshine, Its like an...More

Thank Jan99fm
EventDurham, Front Office Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

For your next visit you might want to consider purchasing a season ticket which gives you access for a year for one payment - Adults £15.00, Concessions £10.00. A great price, and you can come as many times as you like and see the Gardens...More

Reviewed 6 August 2018

Short traveler during summer class really enjoyable with colorful and greenery sightseeing during class break.

Thank Musfirah M
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thank you for your review. It is always good to hear that visitors enjoy their time in the Botanic Garden.

Reviewed 2 August 2018

This is a very peaceful place to wander around with plenty of benches provided to sit and relax. Not a lot of colour with most of the floral displays being in the vicinity of the visitor centre. Away from here there are a broad selection...More

Thank durhamd
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

So lovely to hear your enjoyed your visit, and that you for your kind comments. If you are heading back later in the year, the first tints of Autumn colour start to show in late September, one of the highlights being the sweet sugary smell...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 hotels in Durham
St Aidans College
7 reviews
.53 km away
Durham Castle
234 reviews
1.30 km away
Hotel Indigo Durham
230 reviews
1.32 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
1 746 reviews
1.42 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 341 restaurants in Durham
Rose Tree Inn
277 reviews
1.30 km away
The Secret Garden Coffee Shop
43 reviews
1.12 km away
Cafedral Durham
347 reviews
1.33 km away
Lebaneat
957 reviews
1.27 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 95 attractions in Durham
Durham Cathedral
5 877 reviews
1.00 km away
Oriental Museum
294 reviews
.46 km away
Durham Riverside Walk
475 reviews
.91 km away
Palace Green
207 reviews
1.23 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
dawnhamilton44
27 May 2018|
Answer
Response from pottsstephen52 | Reviewed this property |
In places. Some of the gardens would be a challenge.
0
Votes
Heather G
30 March 2018|
Answer
Response from liverpoolfan2016 | Reviewed this property |
£4 for adults, children 5-15 £1.50 and under 5 free. Free parking - though if you park in the Durham Park and Ride area you need flag or you will be fined
0
Votes
lorraine17w
11 June 2016|
Answer
Response from EventDurham | Property representative |
Thanks for your question. We're extremely sorry that we were not able to reply to your question in time. We hope you enjoyed your trip at our Gardens and trust you found somewhere to leave your case with our friendly staff.
1
Vote