We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crook Hall & Gardens

Frankland Lane | Sidegate, Durham DH1 5SZ, England
+44 191 384 8028
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing history of house and garden

Houses, really, as it is three houses from different periods joined together. Some passage walls... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
algernon204
,
London
Beautiful gardens

This is a lovely place to spend an hour or so wandering around. Very peaceful with well tended... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Marion
,
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Read all 816 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Crook Hall is a Medieval Manor house built circa 1217 and is one of the oldest inhabited houses in Durham City. Home to the Bell Family since 1995, the Medieval Hall merges into a Jacobean Manor house which in turn merges into a Georgian Town house reflecting its development over the centuries. The Hall provides a spectacular backdrop to the 5 acres of stunning gardens. Visitors from all over the world come to share in the timeless magic of Crook Hall and leave inspired by these idyllic English gardens. Afternoon Tea is served in the beautiful Georgian Drawing Room. We are open from Sunday to Wednesday and welcome visitors throughout the year. We have two modern self catering apartments available in the heart of Durham City. We are a unique, historic wedding venue providing exclusive use of a beautiful and romantic setting. Our Licensed Garden Gate Café is open 7 days a week from 9:30am - 5pm serving breakfasts, light lunches and refreshments along with wines and local ales.
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good21%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“afternoon tea” (158 reviews)
“scones” (72 reviews)
Closed
Hours
Hours Today: Closed
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Frankland Lane | Sidegate, Durham DH1 5SZ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 191 384 8028
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 158 reviews
"scones"
in 72 reviews
"gardens are beautiful"
in 35 reviews
"hidden gem"
in 73 reviews
"cream tea"
in 30 reviews
"fairy tale"
in 18 reviews
"treasure hunt"
in 13 reviews
"wedding venue"
in 16 reviews
"tea room"
in 31 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 63 reviews
"nooks and crannies"
in 14 reviews
"hidden away"
in 14 reviews
"durham city"
in 42 reviews
"every corner"
in 9 reviews
"lovely food"
in 10 reviews
"quiche"
in 9 reviews
"lovely afternoon"
in 10 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Houses, really, as it is three houses from different periods joined together. Some passage walls lined with pictures painted by the owner (and for sale). Well developed and developing garden with a riot of colour from plants and trees. Good cafe too.More

Thank algernon204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrookHallGardens, Member of the Crook Hall Team at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

You are so right. Crook Hall is a very rare example of three eras of English domestic architecture, all on one site. Our talented curator, Anna Kidd, is just completing a book which documents the history of the Hall and Gardens. We are hoping to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely place to spend an hour or so wandering around. Very peaceful with well tended gardens. House is interesting to have a look around as well. We didn't have lunch or afternoon tea but it was certainly busy with other people doing...More

Thank Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrookHallGardens, Crook Hall Team Member at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much,we think that our gardens are beautiful too. Our gardeners, Ann, John and David , along with our fabulous volunteers, work tirelessly to keep them looking amazing. Reading the reviews from lovely people like yourself make it all worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The gardens are amazing. They are set out almost like rooms, the scent from the flowers is gorgeous. The Hall is very atmospheric, especially with the soft music in the background. A visit to the tea room is a must. I can't have dairy &...More

Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrookHallGardens, The Crook Hall Team at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

How kind of you to take the time to write such a lovely review. It is the support and appreciation of people like yourself that makes all our efforts in the gardens, house and tea rooms worth while. Our staff are great at catering for...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited here today and the gardens were wonderful. They were in full bloom and so many little nooks providing beautiful settings for afternoon tea. The garden was beautiful in the sunshine and the maze great fun. Crook Hall, however, was most disappointing. With tasteful...More

Thank Jae55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrookHallGardens, The Crook Hall Team at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We always appreciate feedback from our visitors. Our scones are fabulous aren’t they? Originally we used a Delia Smith receipe but over the years the ingredients and method have been adapted so that now we...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were there for a wedding last summer 2017 and it was a beautiful setting. Not so sure if it rains though.More

Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrookHallGardens, The Crook Hall Team at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. We really appreciate your support. We love our weddings at Crook Hall. We like to think that this is a stunningly beautiful venue and we are pleased that you agree. Indeed you are not...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Dreadful place for a wedding .not relaxing at all guests are spread out over several rooms you are squashed into a small room at service and reception. Cream tea was nice no cream .hog roast is a bacon and sausage sandwich. Vegi option is a...More

Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrookHallGardens, The Crook Hall Team at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are all so sorry that you were disappointed. Most of our guests tell us that they have had a fabulous time , it is not unusual for people to say ‘it’s the best wedding I have ever been to ‘ as they leave. You...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was absolutely wonderful! Served in the dining room because the weather wasn’t good, there was a roaring fire which made the setting so atmospheric - even in May! Many thanks to the lovely Amy who must have trampled the staircase a dozen times to...More

Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrookHallGardens, The Crook Hall Team at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Isn’t Amy lovely? She was thrilled that you enjoyed your tea and wants you to know that she was more than happy to climb up and down the stairs to look after you! We all look forward to welcoming you back to Crook Hall again...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Self contained and well managed . The house is set out well and the gardens make you want to garden....

Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrookHallGardens, The Crook Hall Team at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the house and the gardens. We like to feel that they compliment each other, with ‘rooms’ and surprises in the gardens as well as the Hall itself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a rescheduled visit for us (thanks to the snow earlier in the year) - but we definitely benefited in the end! The staff were so incredibly welcoming, attentive and accommodating - adding nice touches like an impromptu additional cake slice with candle for...More

Thank B4600ALclaireb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrookHallGardens, The Crook Hall Team at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review. As you say our staff are incredibly welcoming and accommodating. It really does matter to us all that our guests have a wonderful time at Crook Hall and we really appreciate it when people like yourself, and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Came for afternoon tea for a birthday 🍰 lovely service and plenty of choice on the afternoon tea. Great staff, who even lit a log fire to keep the room warm as it was winterMore

Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrookHallGardens, The Crook Hall Team at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea. We love serving our teas in our Georgian Drawing Room. It is so cosy and relaxing to sit in front of the roaring fire while looking across the gardens towards the cathedral on a chilly...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 hotels in Durham
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2 856 reviews
.27 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1 774 reviews
.37 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
1 690 reviews
.75 km away
Durham Castle
224 reviews
.84 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tia's
366 reviews
.50 km away
Ebony Champagne Bar
453 reviews
.45 km away
Spice Lounge
298 reviews
.54 km away
Rajpooth
311 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Durham Castle
1 028 reviews
.79 km away
Gala Theatre Durham
280 reviews
.50 km away
Durham Market Hall
219 reviews
.58 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michelle L
8 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Ferryhiller | Reviewed this property |
According to their website there is nothing on that week. Not sure about buses but it's all central Durham so it's walkable...
0
Votes
Sharon H
14 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Janetruthe | Reviewed this property |
Hi, Crook Hall does have a lovely apartment to rent, if you google crook hall and gardens you'll see it on their website.
2
Votes
lorraine17w
11 June 2016|
Answer
Response from CrookHallGardens | Property representative |
yes in the café
1
Vote
;