We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Half Moon Inn

86 New Elvet, Durham DH1 3AQ, England
+44 191 374 1918
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Proper Boozer

First taste of Durham was to step into this lively place. A big crowd had turned up to see the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
WMJAB
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Pretty lively bar

Full of lasses if a certain age scaring young lads in their twenties. Was like a pack of HRT... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
mickeastlake
,
Bedlington, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 107 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Half Moon Inn is a traditional public house in the heart of Durham city. We are a grade 1 listed building with many of the original works still seen today. The fireplace and back bar were put in in 1905 and the work is something to see. We have a fantastic outside drinking area leading down to the River Wear to enjoy a nice refreshing drink. With Sky TV showing all sporting events.
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good22%
  • Average0%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 12:00 - 23:00
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
86 New Elvet, Durham DH1 3AQ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 191 374 1918
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beer garden"
in 9 reviews
"traditional pub"
in 9 reviews
"selection of beers"
in 7 reviews
"friendly pub"
in 6 reviews
"favourite pub"
in 4 reviews
"sun trap"
in 3 reviews
"the river"
in 20 reviews
"sky sports"
in 2 reviews
"great choice of drinks"
in 2 reviews
"watch football"
in 2 reviews
"live sports"
in 2 reviews
"traditional feel"
in 2 reviews
"quick pint"
in 2 reviews
"pub crawl"
in 2 reviews
"approachable staff"
in 2 reviews
"warm welcome"
in 4 reviews
"real ale"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First taste of Durham was to step into this lively place. A big crowd had turned up to see the start of the new premiership season and it was packed. Good size with plenty of tv’s. A fair sized beer garden overlooking the river and...More

Thank WMJAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi WMJAB Thanks for leaving us a star rating & review for the moon. Glad to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere with us. We hope to see you again soon Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Full of lasses if a certain age scaring young lads in their twenties. Was like a pack of HRT grannies after lads with the same zeal as a terminator! Pretty funny to watch... Apart from that a decent bar, good range of drinks and friendly...More

Thank mickeastlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Well Mick thanks for your interesting review so glad you the moon & enjoyed the free entertainment that the above said party gave you. The joys of Durham on a Saturday when we get visitors from all over in town. Thanks again hope to see...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great,busy pub.stop by every now and again for a pint.always busy,which is a good sign.also the boss, Graeme, keeps me boxing posters from the pub😁. great for watching sports too, with lots of screens showing the action

Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Robert for your review, Hope to see you again soon l’ll keep the next AJ poster for you as well in September. Thanks again Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great traditional little pub. It has a lovely big beer garden on the river. The staff are lovely and friendly. Doesn't matter what time of day you visit its a great atmosphere. Good selection on all drinks, good value for money. I...More

Thank jdbritton65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you jdbritton65 for such a nice review & 5* rating. I will pass yr comments onto the team. Thanks again Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a fantastic pub. It has a lovely beer garden right by the river. The staff are lovely and friendly, great atmosphere, good selection on all drinks and its clean. I would recommend anyone to go visit this pub you won't be disappointed.

Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Carol C for your kind words & review. I will pass your comments onto the team. Thanks again Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

This is a great pub , which also hosts live music .. its not for .. trendy types.. or disco dollies .. its more Rock and punk ..the drinks are a little pricey .. but they have a good selection .. and the staff are...More

Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi Dennis thanks for your review & star rating. Could you please contact us on bun012181@mbplc.com as i’m not sure you have us right. We don’t do live music here at the moon but we do have a beer garden leading down to the river...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

The Half moon is a great traditional pub set by the river wear in the elvet end of Durham. It serves a wide variety of lagers, beers and hand pulls along with a large selection of spirits. Whatever time you visit, at its busiest or...More

Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you Michael for such a nice review and 5* rating. So glad that the Half moon has ticked so many boxes for you we are proud to of stayed true to our roofs of a traditional pub. I will pass your kind words on...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

Nice traditional pub , a chance to drink some Durham beer . Definitely great to sit outside , look at the back of some amazing medieval buildings and watch the activities on the river

Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Thank you Wayne B for leaving a review & star rating. Glad you enjoyed the Durham beer we sell here & took advantage of the beer garden down by the river. Thanks again Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

The title says it all. The one thing to think about putting right is in the gents' toilet. It is a convention with plumbing to put the cold water tap on the right hand side of the basin, in part to provide a degree of...More

Thank Traveller1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Hi Traveller1999. Thanks for your star rating & feed back. The taps are fitted with mixers so to not let the water get to hot. But next time we have a contracter in to do some work i will ask them to switch them round....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

One of many ports of call on our pub crawl for a friends retirement, didn’t take long to get served as there are 2 parts to the bar, many people don’t realise it has such an extensive beer garden which backs onto the river, if...More

Thank SharonJT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you Sharon for such a nice review so glad you enjoyed your visit to us. Yes that day was a busy one & glad the beer garden got some good use from your group. Roll on even more sunny days and i’ll pass your...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 hotels in Durham
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
1 727 reviews
.06 km away
Hotel Indigo Durham
187 reviews
.15 km away
Durham Castle
229 reviews
.28 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1 808 reviews
.45 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tealicious Tearoom
462 reviews
.02 km away
Restaurant 17
296 reviews
.14 km away
Flat White Durham Cafe
601 reviews
.15 km away
The Cellar Door
887 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Durham Cathedral
5 794 reviews
.42 km away
Palace Green
205 reviews
.27 km away
Durham Castle
1 061 reviews
.28 km away
Gala Theatre Durham
281 reviews
.32 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
JSC53
4 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Graeme D | Property representative |
Hi JSC53 Thanks for your question No we only open till 11pm on NYE as this area of Durham is very quiet. We tried for a few years to open later but it’s just not worthwhile for us. Thanks Graeme
0
Votes