We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rutland Water

Oakham, England
+44 1780 686800
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Escape for the day

Had a wonderful bike ride on the full circuit or Rutland water. Great weather luckily and the views... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
TeaWithQ
,
Rugby, United Kingdom
What a discovery!

We have driven past Rutland Water on several occasions but have never bothered to drop in to... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
ashovercouple
,
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Read all 1 262 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Rutland Water Park is a premier country water park based in the East Midlands. We offer fishing, walking, cycling, watersports, weddings, beaches, concerts, sports events, relaxing and picnics.
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good31%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“car park” (120 reviews)
“hire bikes” (31 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Oakham, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1780 686800
Write a ReviewReviews (1 262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"normanton church"
in 96 reviews
"car park"
in 120 reviews
"hire bikes"
in 31 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 25 reviews
"boat trip"
in 41 reviews
"italian restaurant"
in 17 reviews
"cycle round"
in 15 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 22 reviews
"cycle ride"
in 18 reviews
"lovely place"
in 30 reviews
"water sports"
in 32 reviews
"sailing club"
in 19 reviews
"mini golf"
in 20 reviews
"bird watching"
in 51 reviews
"north shore"
in 14 reviews
"great walk"
in 13 reviews
"waters edge"
in 18 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1 253 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Had a wonderful bike ride on the full circuit or Rutland water. Great weather luckily and the views were lovely. Loads to see. The Lyndon Ospreys were really lovely to watch plus lots of wild fowl, etc. Bike hire was great value too. Just got...More

Thank TeaWithQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

We have driven past Rutland Water on several occasions but have never bothered to drop in to investigate. What a mistake! On our latest visit to the area we did stop and headed down to the water-sports centre which was clearly a paradise for all...More

Thank ashovercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

Spent a Sunday in the sunshine and it was lovely. Had lunch in the cafe by the side of the reservoir and then went on the Rutland Belle boat ride. Such a lovey way to spend a Sunday.

Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

A few beach spots around the lake that make water access easy. There is a current in the water especially away from the coast so be prepared. Also the bottom is quite muddy and it takes a while to be completed immersed in water. The...More

1  Thank etsu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RutlandW, Manager at Rutland Water, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello. We are a little puzzled by your review. We have just the one Beach area which allows access to the water for bathing (only during beach opening times). You have suggested there are a few. This is incorrect. Water access shouldn’t be considered ‘easy’...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Walked from Sykes Lane entrance of Rutland Water, across the dam. 4 miles altogether there and back. We went on a lovely warm evening and it was so atmospheric. Loved our whole visit to Rutland Water

Thank bluefrog147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely place to explore; enjoy many miles of walks, or ride your bike, spend time on the beach, watch the birds, go fishing, take part in water sports, or just sit back, relax and enjoy the views.

Thank Cestwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a waste of a beautiful place spoiled by disgusting visitors leaving litter ,including glass, just leave everything although numerous bins around the whole area. The public toilets were also disgusting , toilet rolls pulled apart and strewn around taps left running causing soaked floors...More

Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RutlandW, Manager at Rutland Water, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello & thank you for your review. We understand and share your frustration regarding the minority of visitors who feel they are not required to take their litter home or use litter bins. This is certainly a nationwide social problem. We provide hundreds of litter...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to see an open theatre show that was for children too, there was no shade and it was an extremely hot day, the parking machines were out of order, the toilets were dirty with two out of six out of order and no...More

Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RutlandW, Manager at Rutland Water, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello. Thank you for taking to time to provid a review on your visit. We are sorry to hear your theatre experience wasn’t quite as expected. The park & facilities were under particular strain due to the very hot weather & high visitor numbers. All...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Yesterday I visited this place after years and I will definitely not be returning. I wanted to enjoy a relaxing picnic here with my mum and dad, however we did not last an hour here.We knew it was going to be busy due to the...More

Thank Vini V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RutlandW, Manager at Rutland Water, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello & thank you for your review We are sorry to hear that you have decided not be return. After reading your review it may have been that you found yourself in the wrong location at Rutland Water for a quiet picnic. Sykes Lane is...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying close to Market Harborough and paid a visit to Rutland Water Park. It's a beautiful place with so much to do. We just turned up so couldn't do the Aqua Park obstacle course as it was fully booked, however we did Stand...More

Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Oakham
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
612 reviews
1.82 km away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
828 reviews
3.01 km away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
999 reviews
3.48 km away
Hambleton Hall
648 reviews
3.55 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Noel at Whitwell
150 reviews
1.21 km away
White Horse Inn
324 reviews
1.23 km away
The Wheatsheaf
193 reviews
3.10 km away
Brasserie Restaurant
54 reviews
3.41 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aqua Park Rutland
261 reviews
1.07 km away
Bugtopia The Zoo
119 reviews
.46 km away
The Rock Blok Adventure Park / Playground
7 reviews
.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Peter G
21 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Len_Spointer | Reviewed this property |
There is a birdwatching centre which is open all year ,I believe. Great place for information and recent sightings.
0
Votes
Sarah W
28 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from JH41 | Reviewed this property |
The Vaults in Uppingham. The Grainstore in Oakham The Lord Nelson in Oakham The Admiral Hornblower in Oakham Kavanagh's tearoom in Oakham These all serve great lunches.
1
Vote