We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Briarbank Brewing Company

Closed Now: 12:00 - 01:00
Open today: 12:00 - 01:00
Review Highlights
Excellent beers and warm welcome

My wife and I dropped in for a drink and stayed for two! Rob (the brewer) happened to be serving at... read more

Reviewed 25 November 2018
MalcolmJ390
,
Essex, United Kingdom
Good atmosphere and drinks

We visited during the Maritime weekend. There was a jazz band playing in the courtyard and there... read more

Reviewed 19 August 2018
Sue W
,
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Read all 89 reviews
16
All photos (16)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good24%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
About
Here at Briarbank we are proud to serve a range of hand crafted quality beers all produced in our own Microbrewery below. We have a large range of core beers available all year round, alongside seasonal beers throughout the year.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 12:00 - 01:00
See all hours
Contact
70 Fore Street, Ipswich IP4 1LB, England
Website
+44 1473 284000
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
56
22
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
56
22
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews micro brewery different beers wide range of beers real ale burger pint ales pub isaacs gins cider suffolk waterfront venue meal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2018

My wife and I dropped in for a drink and stayed for two! Rob (the brewer) happened to be serving at the bar so we got the low down on the history and how he brews the wide range of beers on offer. We had...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank MalcolmJ390
Reviewed 19 August 2018

We visited during the Maritime weekend. There was a jazz band playing in the courtyard and there was a relaxed atmosphere with several people enjoying the music. We made our way upstairs, a spacious bar with loads of choice of beers for our real ale...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Sue W
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Called in with friends for a visit.Was quite busy and there wasn’t many staff to serve so had to wait quite a while to be served. The lady behind the bar didn’t look like she wanted to be there.A smile costs nothing. Ales were really...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Bennybignose
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Brilliant because I like the beer (the Irish stout is superb in my opinion). The service is great (I’ve not seen the poor service a few other reviews have referenced - but I haven’t been in every night (I’d be skint and possibly divorced), but...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank StephenC220
Rob P, Manager at Briarbank Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Hi Stephen, Thank you for the feedback. Great to hear you like the beer. The Black Horse is one of the beers I have to keep consistent as possible as it has such a good following! Glad our service has been up to the level...More

Reviewed 7 July 2018

Apparently the bar staff work on different ends of the bar (it’s a very small bar). If there is no person on your end you get blanked. Totally unacceptable that they leave customers waiting because of where on the bar they stand. The service is...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank wardster
Rob P, Manager at Briarbank Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Hi, Thank you for your response. I remember you well. We were in the clean up after a very busy World cup game, and you had to wait at least a minute to be served. I'm sorry if I came across rude (I was the...More

Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Lovely little Brewery. Didn't have any problem with service personally as other reviews have suggested. Nice selection of craft beers. Would definitely return.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank DaltonVic
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Upstairs at Briarbank this evening, beer excellent, went back to the bar, waited ten minutes for service, in the end had to leave for a restaurant booking. One poor person serving on a Friday evening is not good enough. Management please organise your service better.More

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank 600richard
Rob P, Manager at Briarbank Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed our beers, and I can only apologise regarding the wait. We do have more than one member of staff on weekend evenings, especially over a bank holiday weekend but unfortunately one of our bar staff were...More

Reviewed 12 May 2018

Briarbank has been going for a while now and when it first opened it was a well-oiled machine. The bar upstairs was one of a kind with its decor, it was a little homage to all the pubs and taverns of Ipswich. It was always...More

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank glennsbrown
Rob P, Manager at Briarbank Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Hi, Thank you for the feedback. I'm sorry felt we have lost our shine, I can assure you myself and staff are always pushing to improve our service. We do sometimes have slow nights, which no one ever likes but wether the bar is empty...More

Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Group of us went to Briarbank for drinks and food after work. Ordered drinks and two portions of chips. Told wait for food was 45 mins!!! Chased up order after 30 mins but again told it was a 45 min wait. How long can chips...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Peachey68
Rob P, Manager at Briarbank Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Hi, Thank you for the feedback. Unfortunately at busy times food can take a bit longer than usual to be prepared and serve. We share our kitchen with our sister venue next door, and although they were only chips, our kitchen runs on an order...More

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We spent Good Friday afternoon and evening with our friends from London (formerly from Suffolk!) and decided on Briarbank as a venue for two reasons - The live music and the real ale! We are so glad we did! Despite the weather, we sat in...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank valandkarl
Rob P, Manager at Briarbank Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Very glad to hear you enjoyed our venue and Beer Festival, even though the rain was slightly menacing! Cheers Rob

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 nearby hotels
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1 548 reviews
.07 km away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
923 reviews
.16 km away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
381 reviews
.34 km away
Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel
999 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 487 nearby restaurants
Takayama
201 reviews
.14 km away
92 Noodle Bar
106 reviews
.09 km away
Bistro on the Quay
869 reviews
.06 km away
Mariners 1900 - Ipswich
651 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 232 nearby attractions
Ipswich Waterfront
630 reviews
.12 km away
DanceEast
44 reviews
.38 km away
The Old Custom House
15 reviews
.11 km away
Wolsey's Gate
12 reviews
.39 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Briarbank Brewing Company staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines