We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brockholes Nature Reserve

Features Animals
Closed Now: 10:00 - 16:00
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Some Attention needed

Visited for the Cake on the Lake and a walk around. Fairly quite but it was midweek. Went to the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
ikb289
,
Bolton, United Kingdom
A charming place to visit.

This was my first visit to Brockholes, a charming location just of the M6 a quite sanctuary of... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Robert C
,
Durham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1 317 reviews
283
All photos (283)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good30%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“car park”(149 reviews)
About
Brockholes is a new kind of nature reserve, an unreserved reserve. Everyone is welcome at Brockholes, whether you're a naturalist or a beginner, we have something for you to enjoy and lots of chances for you to get close to nature! On the site of an...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 - 16:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Preston New Road | Juction 31 M6 Motorway, Preston PR5 0AG, England
Website
+44 1772 872000
Call
Reviews (1 317)
Filter reviews
1 316 results
Traveller rating
614
402
151
69
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
614
402
151
69
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park visited brockholes floating village wildlife trust play area adventure playground bird watching pond dipping parking fee lovely place zip wire afternoon tea information centre lovely walk guild wheel all ages soup
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1 316 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This was my first visit to Brockholes, a charming location just of the M6 a quite sanctuary of nature. There is no charge to visit and but there is car parking charge. The main building are themselves floating on one of the ponds. There is...More

Thank Robert C
Reviewed 2 days ago

Very nice walks, children’s play area, bird viewing points and very nice home cooked food. A nice family day out in the fresh air.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank andrewsL4138AO
Reviewed 4 days ago

Visited with a friend for cake on the lake and a catch up and we were both rather disappointed in the whole thing really.The restaurant was almost empty therefore no atmosphere and to be honest the service was poor so no surprise there.No one came...More

Thank 687PatM
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Pat We are really sorry to read that you were disappointed with your Afternoon Tea. Our "Cake on the Lake" has been getting some great feedback recently so we are obviously disappointed to read your review. Please could I ask you to email info@brockholes.org...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We have a very well behaved dog and are responsible owners who always carry poo bags and pick up after him we were recommend to visit Brockholes. When we got there, there are signs that ban dogs everywhere. Such a shame. on the plus side...More

Thank jennifer D
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Jennifer We are sorry to hear you were disappointed on your visit. We do all we can to communicate our "dog free" message via our website and our leaflets and through signage on site. Brockholes is a nature reserve that is owned and managed...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Lovely installation which is maturing beautifully with an increasing variety of wildlife. Good restaurant with amazing outlook. Easy access from M6.

Thank shouesmith
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks very much for taking the time to provide your 5* review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. Do come back and see us again soon. Why not treat yourself to Afternoon Tea in the Reedbed Restaurant?

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited for the Cake on the Lake and a walk around. Fairly quite but it was midweek. Went to the café to get the afternoon tea. Could not fault this good quality good value as the cake on lake was on a deal. Soup was...More

Thank ikb289
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your afternoon tea experience with us. As I'm sure you are aware, the income generated through parking charges goes directly towards supporting the conservation work at Brockholes...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Family fun adventurous enjoyable day out for adults and kids, plenty of activities to do and welcoming to children of all ages.More

1  Thank yasinpatel1986
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Yasin for taking the time to provide your 5* review of Brockholes. We are really pleased you had a lovely day out with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Do have a look at our October Half Term programme...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a Living Social voucher for afternoon tea and arrived early to have a walk round the reserve. The reserve itself is really well laid out, fully accessible paths and lots of places for children to safely explore. The playground is great for all...More

1  Thank Supervixen79
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for your kind words and glowing feedback. We were delighted to read your review and will pass onto our Catering Team. It's great to hear that you were able to get out and explore the reserve too, as well as enjoy your...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having driven past signs for Brockholes many a time on the M6,today we thought we would pay a visit. First thing is,Jct31 off the motorway is a big junction,so keep your wits about you! Plenty of parking at the Reserve with an all day price...More

Thank limperdude
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good to hear you enjoyed exploring the reserve. We have added some new sections of path this year, so it's great to receive your feedback. We take on board your feedback about some of the way markers fading. They have been in place for over...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am absolutely disgusted that myself husband and dog were turned away from brockholes today, as the shop assistant told us that dogs were not allowed. after coming back from a weeks holiday in the lakes where dogs were allowed in majority of places. I...More

Thank Alisoneaton
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Mrs Eaton-Jones I am sorry to hear that you were absolutely disgusted at our no dogs policy. As you drove into Brockholes in your car you will have passed 3 "no dogs" signs along our entrance drive, plus a fourth at the entrance to...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 nearby hotels
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
1 732 reviews
.96 km away
Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel
889 reviews
1.85 km away
Premier Inn Preston East Hotel
702 reviews
2.79 km away
Travelodge Preston Central
681 reviews
3.75 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 619 nearby restaurants
Restaurant at Swallow Preston
26 reviews
.88 km away
New Hall Tavern
142 reviews
1.58 km away
Macdonald Tickled Trout
80 reviews
.97 km away
Moor Nook Chippy
11 reviews
1.44 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 144 nearby attractions
The Bee Centre
68 reviews
3.92 km away
Samlesbury Hall
731 reviews
3.83 km away
Lancashire Infantry Museum
40 reviews
3.74 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
RosieW837
23 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from SarahL8651 | Property representative |
We have routes that are wheelchair friendly. If you call into the Welcome Centre (located on our floating Visitor Village) on arrival, our Volunteers will provide you with a map and lots of advice on the best routes for your... More
0
Votes
Margaret W
19 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from | Reviewed this property |
Just checked their website and it clearly states DOG FREE ZONE
1
Vote
HaloNorthwest
17 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Brockholes | Property representative |
Early mornings and later on in the afternoon tend to be the best times. Just call into our Welcome Centre when visit and our friendly team of Volunteers will give you loads of advice on where to spot them.
1
Vote