We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heelis

Kemble Drive, Swindon SN2 2NA, England
+44 1793 817575
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Disappointing

Called in here with my daughter and granddaughter for lunch, rather than give the business to the... read more

Reviewed 26 January 2018
gills432
Unappetising rolls

Visited the cafe for snack lunch. The roast beef roll had chunks of hard over cooked meat, I took... read more

Reviewed 22 January 2018
weekender79584
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
Read all 57 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good32%
  • Average19%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Kemble Drive, Swindon SN2 2NA, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1793 817575
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"outlet village"
in 7 reviews
"jacket potato"
in 4 reviews
"usual national trust"
in 2 reviews
"visiting the nearby"
in 2 reviews
"excellent cafe"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 3 reviews
"shop"
in 9 reviews
"gifts"
in 3 reviews
"architecture"
in 2 reviews
"range"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2018

Called in here with my daughter and granddaughter for lunch, rather than give the business to the Outlet Centre. We had the Stilton and Cauliflower soup, and having had similar at Dyrham Park was expecting the same standard. Sadly not the case. It seemed to...More

Thank gills432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Visited the cafe for snack lunch. The roast beef roll had chunks of hard over cooked meat, I took it back and was allowed to change it for an egg mayo roll that was very slightly better but the roll had a sawdust texture. Give...More

Thank weekender79584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angharad Y, General Manager at Heelis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Good afternoon weekender79584 Thank you very much for your valued feedback and comments. I am so sorry to hear that your experience of our café was such a disappointment. I will pass on this review, and address the matter with the team to ensure that...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

We have visited Heelis before and enjoyed our food. On our visit we asked for soup, paid and were then told there was no more. We were offered an alternative, not charged any more and treated with courtesy and the offer of a complimentary drink....More

Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angharad Y, General Manager at Heelis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Hello Patricia S Thank you ever so much for your wonderful feedback and comments. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us - although I am terribly sorry that we had run out of soup and didn't communicate that with...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

You would expect the cafe at the NT head office to be the best they have wouldn’t you? Well if you do you will be sorely disappointed because it’s one of the worst. We have been to dozens and dozens of NT cafes and we...More

Thank davidsills44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angharad Y, General Manager at Heelis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Hello davidsills44 Thank you for your valued feedback and comments - I am ever so sorry to hear of our poor experience at our café. These are not the standards that we expect or accept, and I will be passing these onto the team to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We were in Swindon to visit railway museum when friend suggested eating at National Trust cafe. I was expecting a beautiful heritage building but 'Heelis' was a monster! An absolute insult to all members of the National Trust like my parents. The cafe was soulless...More

1  Thank Cassadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Visited the cafe for the umpteenth time for a coffee and snack with my J R Freddie, he lead me there from the station! Arrived at opening time 9.30 and was told they were not open yet, holding Freddie in my arms (the regular routine...More

1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angharad Y, General Manager at Heelis, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hello Peter T Many thanks for getting in touch with your feedback. I am sorry to hear about your experience here at Heelis Café as we do indeed open at 9:30 am and while we did have issues with our coffee machine last week which...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Best and most relaxing place to get a coffee and bite to eat close to (but away from) the hustle and bustle of the outlet centre. Worth a visit for the building itself (contemporary architecture fitting in seamlessly with the railway architecture of the GWR...More

Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Spending the day in the large Swindon Designer Outlet park can be exhausting, this cafe situated just opposite the entrance provides a short escape! Great service, great priced food and drink and the Jacket Potato meals tasted fantastic. Also the attached National Trust shop has...More

Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey F, Manager at Heelis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hi Matt, Thank you for your review! We have worked hard on our food offer and service since reopening, so its great to get reviews like this. We hope to see you back again soon Many Thanks Stacey Retail and Catering Manager Heelis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

The National Trust café and shop in Heelis is an excellent change from the bustle of the Outlet Village. The food is a typical National Trust quality and the staff are very friendly. The food is not 'fast food' meaning there is a tendency for...More

Thank ChrisVonae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

Nice coffee and sweet treats (cakes, muffins, etc) but service was a little haphazard as the two gentlemen behind the counter seemed to be getting in each others way! At the entrance to the outlet centre it is a nice quiet escape as everyone heads...More

Thank fluffymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 24 hotels in Swindon
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
605 reviews
.89 km away
Thistle Express - Swindon
128 reviews
1.29 km away
Jurys Inn Swindon
1 792 reviews
1.39 km away
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
280 reviews
1.43 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Carluccio's - Swindon
295 reviews
.58 km away
wagamama swindon
350 reviews
.46 km away
Eddies Sandwich Bar and Grill
93 reviews
.33 km away
Giraffe Swindon Designer Outlet
224 reviews
.60 km away
Nearby Attractions
STEAM Museum of the Great Western Railway
1 303 reviews
.55 km away
Museum of Computing
135 reviews
1.54 km away
Wyvern Theatre
1 087 reviews
1.48 km away
Swindon Designer Outlet
1 673 reviews
.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Heelis staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;