We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Eden Course at St. Andrews Links

St. Andrews Links Trust | Pilmour House, St Andrews KY16 9SF, Scotland
+44 1334 466666
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Eden is better than I ever expected

I’ve been coming to St Andrews since 1990 and had never played the Eden Course. The other course... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Brian G
,
Gurnee, Illinois
via mobile
Great course

What a lovely course, very playable and not too long. I rate it along side the New course for... read more

Reviewed 28 January 2018
plutonio2012
,
Wick, Caithness
via mobile
Read all 80 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Only slightly more forgiving than its contemporaries on the seaward side of the Links, the Eden Course was built in 1914 by Harry S. Colt whose use of natural boundaries and severe bunkers provides a course full of character.
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good38%
  • Average7%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
St. Andrews Links Trust | Pilmour House, St Andrews KY16 9SF, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1334 466666
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"handicap golfer"
in 3 reviews
"round of golf"
in 6 reviews
"in great condition"
in 3 reviews
"st andrews links"
in 3 reviews
"golf course"
in 5 reviews
"sunny day"
in 2 reviews
"holes"
in 18 reviews
"clubhouse"
in 15 reviews
"fairways"
in 8 reviews
"gorse"
in 4 reviews
"courses"
in 17 reviews
"introduction"
in 4 reviews
"marshall"
in 2 reviews
"pot"
in 3 reviews
"shorter"
in 4 reviews
"skyline"
in 2 reviews
"par"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve been coming to St Andrews since 1990 and had never played the Eden Course. The other course are more highly rated but probably the Old is any more enjoyable. You start at the Balgove Clubhouse so it’s a bit more tranquil over there. But...More

Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

What a lovely course, very playable and not too long. I rate it along side the New course for enjoyment.

Thank plutonio2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Played on a late October morning with a strong wind blowing. £32 a bargain, even less as part of a multi-day ticket. A good test of golf. Ample fairways but often tricky approaches. Keep out of bunkers. Great condition given amount of play. Lovely views...More

Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

While touring St Andrews Links we ran across a nice place to have lunch at the Eden course Clubhouse the menu offered some nice choices and the beer was cold. Quite relaxing stop in out of way place. Found everyone friendly and helpful.

Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I played at the Eden course beginning of October, the course itself is fairly hard to play on a sunny day but on the day that I played, it was pouring down with rain, luckily I had a buggy which kept me dry to a...More

Thank 418Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We had a great time at this course- made wonderful by the super friendly staff. We were greeted and treated so well. We visited with the course Marshall twice who was so nice. When we returned the rental clubs and trolley we were again treated...More

Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised. Fun course that won't beat you up. Interesting and well maintained greens. Not too long with generous landing areas. Good spot for emergency 18 after taking on one of the big boys.

Thank stevesaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We enjoyed the course as the four of us were not all handicapped players. It was a pretty course with a taste of the Old Course. Unfortunately it rained very hard during 12 holes of golf but we finished and have it to put in...More

Thank Vikingtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Staff receptionist not very welcoming and appear dis-interested in their job. Golf course well maintained although not as scenic as the more friendly course up the road at the Fairmont.

1  Thank Rhinos007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaCameron, Marketing at The Eden Course at St. Andrews Links, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Hello. We're glad you appreciated the condition of our course, however we're obviously sorry you feel you had a poor experience with our staff. We will make sure to look into this. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

After hubby played (and enjoyed!) the course, we met for a quick lunch. The food was quite good and the service was excellent.

Thank betty313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in St Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
1 784 reviews
.68 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
1 417 reviews
1.13 km away
Best Western Scores Hotel
722 reviews
1.23 km away
The Dunvegan Hotel
196 reviews
1.25 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Restaurant at The Russell
253 reviews
1.40 km away
Playfair's Restaurant
855 reviews
1.33 km away
Golfer's Corner Lounge Bar at Dunvegan
308 reviews
1.25 km away
The Jigger Inn
362 reviews
.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
Eden Mill
877 reviews
1.13 km away
The Swilcan Bridge
620 reviews
.96 km away
St Andrews West Sands Beach
585 reviews
.99 km away
British Golf Museum
303 reviews
1.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sarah K
20 April 2016|
Answer
Response from StAndrewsLinks | Property representative |
Yes, this is certainly possible, Sarah. The Clubhouse normally closes around 8pm. Visit our website for more information on booking.
0
Votes
;