We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Balmoral Spa

1 Princes Street | Balmoral Hotel, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
+44 131 622 8880
Website
Save
Review Highlights
It’s like I have no bones!

Never had a massage before but saw great reviews about this place so decided to try it out and was... read more

Reviewed 3 April 2018
David S
via mobile
Too small & full of kids

Nice treatments yes. However, I visited on a Saturday and all lunch tables (about 5 only) booked... read more

Reviewed 15 February 2018
iainwish
,
Edinburgh
via mobile
Read all 90 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
The Balmoral Spa is the ultimate urban spa experience. A retreat in the heart of the city, The Balmoral Spa offers a sanctuary of personal comfort and total escapism, with the highest levels of personalised service.
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good10%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 06:30 - 22:00
LOCATION
1 Princes Street | Balmoral Hotel, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Princes Street and Gardens
CONTACT
Website
+44 131 622 8880
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Edinburgh
from US$800,80
More Info
from US$21,70
More Info
from US$62,40
More Info
from US$50,20
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"champagne afternoon tea"
in 6 reviews
"swedish massage"
in 5 reviews
"hot stone massage"
in 4 reviews
"full body massage"
in 4 reviews
"therapist"
in 21 reviews
"pedicure"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Never had a massage before but saw great reviews about this place so decided to try it out and was not disappointed! Kirsty gave me a Swedish massage which was amazing! Very friendly and professional service, defo be back.More

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralEdinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear David S, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you chose the Balmoral for your first massage and to hear we not only met but exceeded your expectations. We have passed on your kind comments to Kirsty who joins me in...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Nice treatments yes. However, I visited on a Saturday and all lunch tables (about 5 only) booked and the very few seats / loungers around the small swimming pool all taken. After treatments I was hoping to drift off in my comfy gown beside the...More

1  Thank iainwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our day today at the Spa. The staff are all extremely professional whilst friendly . The pool is a proper size in that you can actually swim lengths if you wish, as well as simply relax alongside it on...More

1  Thank Aileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Booked the afternoon tea and spa for me and my mother, we had a very special and relaxing time. The spa was extremely clean and well cared for, yes it's getting a little tired but when a place is kept clean this should make up....More

1  Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralEdinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Hannah W, Thank you for your lovely review following your recent experience at The Balmoral Spa and at Palm Court. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable massage and enjoyed the discreet yet attentive service we are known for. I will...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

A Winter morning I called the Spa Cozied in my Beautiful Room, bath robe I went to the Spa Lift a warm greeting settling in to a Spa Warm pool the Sauna much needed after hikes on Skye and Highlanders and taking part to many...More

Thank JeniMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear jeni k I was delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to share your kind impressions. Our spa is a haven of relaxation at the heart of this glorious city and I am delighted you enjoyed your treatment -...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

My facial treatment was great no complaints there but we had just sat down by the pool when a family of half a dozen young kids came running and screaming into the place with no regard for the people there given by the staff or...More

6  Thank Hannah Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Hannah Margaret F Thank you for your review of The Balmoral Spa. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your facial treatment. However, it is always disappointing to learn that a guest has left feeling less than completely satisfied and I am...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

I have been attending the spa every holiday, since it opened and have had unfailingly good experiences. Recently I tried out the holistic body treatment which included the best exfoliation I have ever had and a hot stone massage with carefully targeted products which achieved...More

Thank 601macleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear 601macleod It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the spa and I am delighted to hear you were impressed with the service provided by the team. I will take great pleasure in sharing your review with my colleagues; who I know will...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

lovely atmosphere but overpriced and the service was shorter than advertised. Additionally, the facial was average at best.More

Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralEdinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Jennifer C Thank you for your review of The Balmoral Spa. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere in the spa however, please accept my sincere apologies in regards to your overall experience. I would like to thank you for bringing...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Further to a previous disappointing trip to the spa, I was pleased that the Balmoral Spa were able to restore my faith in them again. Despite some confusion at booking, my friend and I enjoyed a relaxing afternoon at the spa last weekend. My massage...More

Thank Spaceface14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear Spaceface14 A sincere thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Balmoral Spa. I am delighted to read that you and your friend enjoyed a relaxing afternoon and I am especially pleased to hear about your service experience. We appreciate...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

I've booked a full body massage for me and my boyfriend ,it was a gift for our 2 years anniversary. I have paid 180.00 pounds for nothing. The first day to our appointment my boyfriend was sick in the morning so I've called the Spa...More

Thank Piera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear Piera B It is always disappointing to learn that a guest has left feeling less than completely satisfied and I am truly sorry. I would be most grateful if you were able to contact me on the number below at your earliest convenience to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street
is only half one, since buildings only line one side.
But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views
are from Princes Street as a result. From here you
look onto expansive and decorative public gardens
beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s
Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old
town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 151 hotels in Edinburgh
The Balmoral Hotel
4 140 reviews
.03 km away
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
1 319 reviews
.06 km away
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
238 reviews
.08 km away
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
1 676 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Number One at The Balmoral
1 543 reviews
.03 km away
Palm Court at The Balmoral
872 reviews
.02 km away
The Cafe Royal
1 416 reviews
.12 km away
Twenty Princes Street
910 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
North Bridge
85 reviews
.17 km away
VisitScotland Edinburgh Icentre
89 reviews
.07 km away
Fruitmarket Gallery
59 reviews
.17 km away
ScotlandsPeople Centre
30 reviews
.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
smiler72
3 November 2017|
Answer
Response from BalmoralEdinburgh | Property representative |
Dear smiler72 Thank you for your question. We have a food and beverage menu at The Balmoral Spa that you are welcome to order from throughout the day. We hope to welcome you to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards The... More
1
Vote
;