We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tetley

The Tetley Hunslet Road, Leeds LS10 1JQ, England
+44 113 320 2323
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Nice place, food ok

At a friend's wedding. Vegan choices were pretty limited and safe. Nut roast tasted of nothing... read more

Reviewed 8 April 2018
PaulMB36
via mobile
Lovely visit

I sometimes come to the Tiny Tetley sessions once a month. They are fantastic free sessions from 0... read more

Reviewed 1 April 2018
Helen C
via mobile
Read all 89 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Tetley is a centre for contemporary art and learning located in the stunning art deco headquarters of the former Tetley Brewery in central Leeds. We offer a warm welcome whether you’re here to see cutting edge art, sample our Yorkshire menu or enjoy a pint of Tetley’s in this historic setting.
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good36%
  • Average24%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“modern art” (5 reviews)
“gallery space” (2 reviews)
“wooden board” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 20:00
Suggested Duration: < 1 hour
LOCATION
The Tetley Hunslet Road, Leeds LS10 1JQ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 113 320 2323
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Leeds
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"modern art"
in 5 reviews
"gallery space"
in 2 reviews
"wooden board"
in 2 reviews
"order at the bar"
in 2 reviews
"pay by card"
in 2 reviews
"cafe bar"
in 3 reviews
"car park"
in 4 reviews
"exhibition"
in 19 reviews
"arts"
in 4 reviews
"boardroom"
in 2 reviews
"gravy"
in 3 reviews
"heritage"
in 3 reviews
"session"
in 2 reviews
"venue"
in 5 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

At a friend's wedding. Vegan choices were pretty limited and safe. Nut roast tasted of nothing, would rather have had a couple of vegan sausages no Yorkshire pudding either. Had a little lentil cottage pie thing later on that was pretty nice. Over all. A...More

1  Thank PaulMB36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTetley2018, Event Manager at The Tetley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that we were not able to offer you the great experience that we know we can provide. I have personally sat down with the team that were on shift and looked at what happened and how...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I sometimes come to the Tiny Tetley sessions once a month. They are fantastic free sessions from 0 to 5 years. My 1 year old loved the last session. Lots of things to explore and do all based around a theme. I have eaten in...More

Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTetley2018, Public Relations Manager at The Tetley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks Helen for leaving such a lovely review. We hope to see you at the next Tiny Tetley session!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Advertised as from age Zero to 5, but their activities were not suitable for the 4 of us who had babies under 6 months. The rooms itself has stone floor and I was surprised that no playmates were put down to cushion babies heads from...More

Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTetley2018, Public Relations Manager at The Tetley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your review Joanne. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. We have plenty of play mats and cushions available and we will clearly signpost these next time so there will be a soft play area for early years children and babies. Please do...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Visited with a friend. He is the art lover, I just tagged along. Was a pleasant enough building to wonder round. Exhibitions were ok. Stopped and had a drink after. Our visit was pleasant. Its free entry, so well worth a look.

Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTetley2018, Public Relations Manager at The Tetley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thanks for having the time to review us Charles! We're glad you enjoyed everything the building has to offer. Hopefully see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Very disappointing. Nothing worth seeing apart from the internal structure of the building. Didn't have anything to eat or drin so cannot comment on this aspect.More

Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTetley2018, Public Relations Manager at The Tetley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Hi Diane, thank you for your review. We try to offer a range of things to do, and currently we have three exhibitions on from photography, to film and a functioning publishing studio. I hope you managed to see it all, but we are aware...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

I live in Leeds, do see this building alot, so I check it out. When went in there resturant and cafe, then upstairs seem nothing happen, just some few pictures, some meeting room and people doing somethings. I did expect something more. Building itself interesting...More

Thank AdamBurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetley2017, Public Relations Manager at The Tetley, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi Adam, Thank you for your review. We try to offer a range of things to do, and currently we have three exhibitions on from photography, to film and a functioning publishing studio. I hope you managed to see it all, but we are aware...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

We came across The Tetley whilst walking around Leeds with our son. The gallery had 3 different exhibitions for us to view; In the City of Lost Times, These Silences Are All the Words and The House that Heals the Soul. The three were very...More

Thank andy1martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetley2017, Public Relations Manager at The Tetley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you very much for your review Andy, so glad you enjoyed your visit here, please do visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Read a review which made this former brewery head office sound like the hub of creativity in Leeds. It isn’t. We enjoyed the 3 artists who were exhibiting at this time, and we spent a good amount of time wandering the small spaces on the...More

Thank bwproperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetley2017, Public Relations Manager at The Tetley, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Sorry we didn't meet your expectations, our spaces are unusual, as they are offices of the former Brewery, but we hope to create exhibitions that work well with them. We do support artists and the creative arts here, but we aim to encourage everyone to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

The most amazing posh chips and lovely hanout cauliflower, great service and great value for money! The building itself is beautiful, unfortunately we got there later than planned and could not get to see the exhibition! Hopefully next time!

Thank Hoda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetley2017, Public Relations Manager at The Tetley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you so much for your review, I've passed this onto our Bar & Kitchen team and they were thrilled you enjoyed your experience so much. Please do visit us again and see our three new exhibitions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

Our visit took place on a Saturday afternoon. The building is a quiet oasis and and pleasant antidote the hustle and bustle of the rest of the city centre. Much of the building is in original state. The exhibition meanders through rooms still with the...More

Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetley2017, Public Relations Manager at The Tetley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you so much for your review Carol, very pleased you had such a good time. We have just opened three new exhibitions so please do come visit us when you have a chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 87 hotels in Leeds
Brookfield Hotel
88 reviews
.05 km away
Jurys Inn Leeds
2 269 reviews
.19 km away
Malmaison Hotel
1 597 reviews
.24 km away
Cosmopolitan Hotel
1 577 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Brasserie Blanc
1 191 reviews
.25 km away
Viva Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria
541 reviews
.22 km away
Revolucion de Cuba
665 reviews
.27 km away
The Adelphi
368 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Crown Point Shopping Park
23 reviews
.33 km away
White Rose Theatre
10 reviews
.05 km away
Smokestack
108 reviews
.37 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Tetley staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;