We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Yard & Heavens Above

2 Scotswood Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 7JB, England
+44 191 232 2037
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great place.

This bar is great. Always great entertainment and fabulous staff. Great drinks deals if you look... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
spudleysprout
,
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
via mobile
Nice Friendly Bar

I was in Newcastle for the weekend I visited the gay village and popped into the Yard bar Inside is... read more

Reviewed 1 March 2018
Iain W
,
Paisley, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 12 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good16%
  • Average8%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible35%
3 days ago
“Great place.”
1 Mar 2018
“Nice Friendly Bar”
LOCATION
2 Scotswood Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 7JB, England
CONTACT
+44 191 232 2037
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Newcastle upon Tyne
from US$34,00
More Info
from US$20,40
More Info
from US$34,00
More Info
from US$10,90
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This bar is great. Always great entertainment and fabulous staff. Great drinks deals if you look out for them! Havent been for a while and miss it! Will be back when shifts allow!!!!

Thank spudleysprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian G, Owner at The Yard & Heavens Above, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We are glad that you enjoyed yourself and found our staff to be fabulous. The staff really appreciate positive feed back. We look forward to welcoming you again to hopefully yet more good times

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

I was in Newcastle for the weekend I visited the gay village and popped into the Yard bar Inside is basic seating Rustic interior and very friendly staff I was on a solo visit and the staff made me feel welcome

Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian G, Owner at The Yard & Heavens Above, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit and that the staff made you feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you another time if you visit newcastle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

1st visit to Newcastle. Popped in here for a few beers before the Darts. The place had a great atmosphere with everyone singing along and the bar staff seemed friendly enough. Being a southerner and used to sky high drinks prices I didn't think the...More

Thank jamsarnie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian G, Owner at The Yard & Heavens Above, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

We’re glad you enjoyed your visit as we strive to provide everyone that visits an enjoyable time. Sadly high prices are a fact of life remembering that two thirds of the drink price is now tax Of one sort or another .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Came to your bar on 2 different nights. Lovely bar and friendly staff. Unfortunately the drinks prices on the second visit a Thursday at about 6pm had gone upto a ridiculous 9.20 for 2 pints. This is the easy way to clear your bar at...More

Thank mickw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian G, Owner at The Yard & Heavens Above, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

That particular night was an event night . This means the prices go up except to regulars . The event was a Darts tournament at the arena . Nearly ALL Bars increase their prices when there is an event on at the area . The...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Tonight I was personally severed by a bar man who was polite and courteous but most of all very professional and a credit to the bar team. I came into the bar and was greeted and served immediately although the bar was busy. The bar...More

1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian G, Owner at The Yard & Heavens Above, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your review and we will pass on your compliments to Charlie who has only been with us for a few weeks. We strive to provide a good service and provide a welcoming atmosphere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

To clarify, bar staff were lovely if not a little lazy, but one staff member who proclaimed to have 'finished at 4.30' was still in the bar and drunker than the customers some closing time. He then proceeded to accuse me of 'playing the disabled...More

1  Thank cats4442017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian G, Owner at The Yard & Heavens Above, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

This is the woman who argued with 2 other female customers who were due to sing on karaoke saying it was her turn and that they should just go elsewhere in their cheap primark clothes and then tried arguing in an exceptionally rude manner that...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Been here loads over the years. It's the perfect place to start your night, have a seat when waiting for your mates to arrive. Always have some kind of drink offer (£6 bottle of wine is a good one!) so you can have a few...More

1  Thank 1984lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian G, Owner at The Yard & Heavens Above, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

A very welcome positive review which accurately represents what we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Staff full of attitude, no consideration for customers at all. Had a chap knock his head off the floor after being pushed, none of the staff responded or bothered to check if he was ok. Ambulance was called and we were thrown out so they...More

Thank Jemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian G, Owner at The Yard & Heavens Above, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

The person who had "his head knocked off the floor' had been attempting to steal someones wallet from their pocket. The wallet owner had caught the pick pocket mid theft and had pushed him away to prevent the theft. The incident was caught on cctv...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

A total wipe out ..overpriced drinks ..the toilets were horrendous..poor customer service a total diveMore

Thank lesley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian G, Owner at The Yard & Heavens Above, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Are you sure you were in The Yard Bar? Our drinks are some of the cheapest in the city on a Saturday night so I would be interested in where you were comparing them to in Newcastle. Whilst it may have been busy due to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

We have visited The Yard on and off for a number of years when we have visited Newcastle. So on our recent visit we decided to call in on a Sunday evening when the bar wasn't particularly busy. First impression was that the layout of...More

Thank AggyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian G, Owner at The Yard & Heavens Above, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

The bar has no policy regarding tattoos and can only assume the member of staff on duty decided they did not wish to serve the person concerned. The staff have the legal right to refuse service without reason and it is entirely up to them...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 83 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
The Bar Luxury Apartments
1 review
.05 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
2 609 reviews
.13 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
1 259 reviews
.20 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
1 347 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ottoman Turkish Newcastle
784 reviews
.28 km away
A Taste of Persia
307 reviews
.12 km away
Sachins Restaurant
699 reviews
.23 km away
Rumba Casa Latina
36 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Discovery Museum
1 377 reviews
.28 km away
St. Mary's Cathedral
89 reviews
.36 km away
Life Science Centre
1 013 reviews
.09 km away
Newcastle Central Station
230 reviews
.27 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Yard & Heavens Above staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;