We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Brilliant Afternoon!

I visited today with my mum and my sister and had a lovely afternoon. I'm not quite sure what the... read more

Reviewed 21 July 2018
Becky P
via mobile
Relaxing jacuzzi

Enjoyed our stay in this cosy cottage, which had everything we needed to relax. Fab Jacuzzi bath... read more

Reviewed 12 November 2017
PinkButterflyUK
,
UK
via mobile
Read all 71 reviews
38
All photos (38)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good18%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
About
The Retreat is an award winning spa, health and beauty centre situated in the historic market town of Leek, Staffordshire. Offering hair, beauty spa and health treatments it also incorporates the Jester bistro, open for breakfast and lunches or just...more
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
81-83 Mill Street, Stoke-on-Trent ST13 8EU, England
Website
+44 1538 385503
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
37
13
8
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
37
13
8
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa facilities treatment rooms lovely birthday treat glass of bubbly beauty treatments comfy chairs sauna and steam room groupon offer lovely staff lovely place lovely lunch fab swimwear julie xx
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We try to come to The Retreat at least a couple of times a year. Great staff, great amenities and everyone always looks after you. Nothing is ever too much of a problem. Highly recommend this place if you want to just relax and maybe...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank DeanW879
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

Payed a visitor on November 9th lovely welcome as soon as we walk though the door we had our own table for the day which we thought was nice then we where shown round what a lovely place treatments where lovely staff where lovely I...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank cazstu55
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

I booked a half day Spa Retreat here on Friday 19th October for myself and my best friend (London based). From arrival to departure it was absolute bliss. I have no idea where all the bad reviews come from! This is a PRIVATE BOUTIQUE SPA...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 88dubailover
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

I have visited today with my mum as a birthday present for her, we had half a day spa which was 3 hours then lunch. We struggled to fill 1 hour there!! We were shown round by a lovely lady but couldn’t believe when she...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank lauraderricott
thretreatleek, Owner at The retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to The Retreat. Our wet spa area is small, and we advertise it as a mini spa to avoid such disappointment. We pride ourselves on friendly and professional service, excellent treatments and good food....More

Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

I visited today with my mum and my sister and had a lovely afternoon. I'm not quite sure what the negative reviews are all about, but I found all the staff very friendly. My sister and I both wanted an eyebrow appointment (we didn't book...More

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Becky P
thretreatleek, Owner at The retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we're glad that you enjoyed your visit to The Retreat and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Love this place, made to feel very welcome, I am a regular customer to have beauty treatments here, very relaxing place , friendly staff , give it a try if you have never been xx

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Jill C
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Booked on a Groupon offer so wasn't sure what to expect. It was a bit of a long drive for us but well worth it. Do not be put off by the outside appearance as once inside it is a lovely place. All the ladies...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Netty12ah
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay in this cosy cottage, which had everything we needed to relax. Fab Jacuzzi bath for those cold winter nights. Not far to walk into town for restaurants and pubs which we did one night. We also had a massage in the spa...More

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank PinkButterflyUK
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Been today to have my nails done which I have done every 2 weeks amazing place amazing people and love my nails every time . Would not go anywhere else.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank tonis382
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Avoid at all costs. Check out the pictures of the acrylic nails that I was left with. After having perfect acrylic nails done at another salon, I came here to have them infilled where the nail technician proceeded to ruin them. Each nail is wonky,...More

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Amy D
thretreatleek, General Manager at The retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Amy, We're sorry that you're so unhappy with your treatment, but as we explained in our initial response, you asked the therapist for 'coffin' shape and then when she proceeded to file your nails into that shape, you stopped her part way through and...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Leek Town Centre Hotel
931 reviews
.88 km away
Hotel Rudyard
309 reviews
3.12 km away
Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club
180 reviews
11.50 km away
The Mousehole Bed and Breakfast
48 reviews
12.46 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 596 nearby restaurants
Primo Piano
397 reviews
.49 km away
The Market Kitchen Cafe
110 reviews
.54 km away
Pronto
80 reviews
.50 km away
The Napoli
394 reviews
.42 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 219 nearby attractions
Foxlowe Arts Centre
95 reviews
.52 km away
The Nicholson Museum & Art Gallery
25 reviews
.67 km away
St Edward's Church Leek
11 reviews
.44 km away
Brindley's Mill
6 reviews
.21 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
julie m
20 May 2015|
Answer
Response from thretreatleek | Property representative |
No the £99 is for the rental of the whole cottage which is 2 bedroomed.
0
Votes
julie m
20 May 2015|
Answer
Response from thretreatleek | Property representative |
Hi Julie its £99 per night in the cottage, and use of the spa is just £10.50 for cottage guest.
0
Votes