Blenheim Palace
Blenheim Palace
4
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
Home to the 12th Duke and Duchess of Marlborough and birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill,, Blenheim Palace is a masterpiece of Baroque architecture that boasts over 300 years of history to discover. This World Heritage Site is set within more than 2000 acres of Parkland landscaped by 'Capability' Brown, and the Palace itself houses some of the finest collections of antique furniture in Europe.Situated in Woodstock, just 8 miles from Oxford, Blenheim Palace is Britain's Greatest Palace and offers visitors a precious time, every time.
Duration: More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Admission tickets
from R 895,51
All you need to step foot in the door.
Top ways to experience Blenheim Palace
See what travellers are saying
  • Wendy G
    Manchester, United Kingdom4 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Beautiful but expensive
    Beautiful buildings, garden and setting. We enjoyed the Churchill exhibition but the rest of the exhibits in the house were a bit disappointing. After paying £70 for two tickets I didn't expect to then have to pay for other experiences such as the buggy tour of the gardens and the downstairs areas. The walled gardens and butterfly House are a long walk from the main House, we took the £1 train journey back! The butterflies were the highlight i the day for me, so colourful and active.
    Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace. We're glad to hear you had such a lovely day and sorry you were disappointed you had to pay an additional fee for some experiences. We will take your feedback on board for future review. We hope to see you at Blenheim again soon!
    Written 24 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 27 July 2023
  • David
    4 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Playground experience
    "Unexpectedly sunny day caught us unprepared without suntan lotion, and there was no option to purchase any on site. The lack of shade in the playground made it challenging with young children, despite the excellent facilities in this new interactive play area. Moreover, there was an issue with a section where the step down was too high when transitioning from one area of the playground to another. It would be beneficial to install permanent shading and adjust the steps to accommodate small legs. On a positive note, the planting was interesting and well laid out. However, I would suggest replacing the birch trees, which are known for causing allergies, with less allergenic tree varieties."
    Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Blenheim Palace. Thank you for the feedback you have provided, we value feedback from all our guests as it helps us to continually improve upon what we do. We hope to welcome you back to Blenheim again soon.
    Written 24 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Written 27 July 2023
  • Nic1105
    Newport, United Kingdom70 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nice but very expensive
    A lovely place to visit but very expensive. £35 for an adult ticket for the house and gardens but this does not include extra’s like the train, tours and even the children’s play area (at a whopping £7 per person, both adults and children!!!!). The house was nice but didn’t take long to look around, Churchill exhibition was interesting and gardens nice. Play area was well enjoyed but I was taken aback by the cost of this after paying entry as well. Nice little maze and butterfly house as well. And we enjoyed the stable area also. There was also a paddington experience on site also but this was over £25 per person so did not experience. Staff were very pleasant throughout.
    Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Blenheim Palace. Thank you for the feedback you have provided, we value feedback from all our guests as it helps us to continually improve upon what we do. We hope to welcome you back to Blenheim again soon.
    Written 24 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 28 July 2023
  • Lilacwheaty
    Nottingham, United Kingdom850 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great place for a summer picnic and long afternoon visit
    We met up with friends here and had a lovely long afternoon exploring house, grounds and picnicking. The royal connections exhibition gave us a good reason to revisit the house. Staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. The annual ticket entry price is worth considering if you are likely to visit more than once, or live close enough to enjoy the grounds regularly. The large toilet block adjacent to gift shop was unfortunately very smelly, hopefully a short term problem
    Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Blenheim Palace. Thank you for the feedback you have provided, we value feedback from all our guests as it helps us to continually improve upon what we do. We hope to welcome you back to Blenheim again soon.
    Written 24 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Written 30 July 2023
  • Carolyn B
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Afternoon Tea at Clementine’s on the Lawn
    Hi. Today we went to Clementine's on the Lawn. We got absolutely soaked and them mud splattered on the buggy. We arrived dejected for our Hen afternoon tea. All was reversed as Danny came to our aid with empathy and understanding. Nothing was too much trouble, offering us champagne and extra food on the house!!! I was so grateful to Danny for turning round our experience. We left as a really happy hen group. Thank you Danny EXCELLENT customer service xx
    Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace. We glad to hear you had such a wonderful time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to continue exploring everything we have to offer.
    Written 24 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 30 July 2023
  • rjames2018
    Toronto, Canada6 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A great day out for all the family!
    A day out for all the family! A magnificent palace to tour. There is a free audio guide available which can be accessed on your phone which I highly recommend and adds lots of interesting details. Look out for the period costume characters wandering around to answer questions and have a photo with! Churchill museum brought the caricature of the man to life with many personal details. Worth a visit. The formal gardens and grounds offer lots of opportunities for a walk or run around for young and old! Cafes offer lots of options and there is an excellent substantial ploughman’s lunch for carb free eaters. Kids enjoy the little train ride and adventure play area. Little bus available for people with mobility issues as it’s a fair walk from parking area to the palace. Have borrowed a mobility scooter on a previous for my Mom which was fantastic.
    Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace. We glad to hear you had such a wonderful time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to continue exploring everything we have to offer.
    Written 24 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 3 August 2023
  • 20chrissie13
    Nuneaton, United Kingdom84 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    A little underwhelming and food not at all good
    A little underwhelming in my opinion. Very dark and dingy inside not to my liking. The gardens were vast and mostly lawns with ponds and lakes which was breathtaking. Little to no flowers. Loved the tiny butterfly house. Was hard to find seating indoors for lunch. Ended up at the pizza cafe. Ordered the allotment pizza expecting a range of fresh veg on top only to be given a bland tasteless pizza with a few mushrooms and a wafer thin slice of courgette and a sprinkle of leaves (rocket?) on to. No onion no tomato no flavour in the mozzarella. Instead of a tomato base they used mascarpone apparently but no taste to it. Hugely disappointed at £12. Only ate 43slice’s equivalent to 1/3 of the pizza. Decided it was a waste of calories to eat the rest. Was going to but a bottle of water for return journey but at £2.50 decided against it. Tea and coffee were fairly priced though. 4 hot drinks cost a little over £12 so equivalent or less than coffee chains. I would come again for the gardens and bring a picnic.
    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent visit to Blenheim Palace, Sorry to hear you were underwhelmed during your visit when inside the building. Although we're very pleased you enjoyed your time exploring the gardens and parklands so much. We will pass your feedback regarding the pizza cafe onto our catering team. We hope to welcome you back to Blenheim again soon.
    Written 24 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 5 August 2023
  • Amanda A
    Witney, United Kingdom55 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Lovely afternoon tea
    We had a lovely afternoon tea in Clementines on a wet Saturday afternoon. We received a very warm welcome. Staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble, even though they were busy. The afternoon tea was delicious, with unlimited tea and coffee. Definitely recommend.
    Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace. We glad to hear you had such a wonderful time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to continue exploring everything we have to offer.
    Written 24 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 5 August 2023
  • georgiamorris27
    Oxford, United Kingdom8 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Blenheim adventure park.
    First time I’ve been not sure what to expect, lovely water park , not pools just small streams with doors you can lift water pumps, bubbling pipes etc. Playgrounds for all ages, wasn’t happy with the older children barging around the little ones, must have water shoes as it’s not a smooth site. Plenty of areas to sit and picnic. Food on site isn’t up to much and over priced. Outside of here there is a butterfly 🦋 park, a little steam train. You may need an annual pass to get into the adventure park which could make this an expensive trip.
    Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace. We glad to hear you had such a wonderful time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to continue exploring everything we have to offer.
    Written 24 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 6 August 2023
  • tinkle_24
    Northampton, United Kingdom1,780 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Beautiful grounds
    We did not go into the house but wandered round the grounds designed by Capability Brown. Two lakes by the Grand Bridge leading up to the statue of Duke of Marlborough. We were unlucky as weather wasn’t brilliant and too cold to linger for long.
    Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace. We glad to hear you had such a wonderful time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to continue exploring everything we have to offer. Hopefully the weather will have improved for your next visit!
    Written 24 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Written 6 August 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles9 022 reviews
Excellent
5 258
Very good
2 039
Average
828
Poor
486
Terrible
411

seebeforeigo
Bridge Trafford, UK345 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Couples
It’s only taken me many years to actually get around to visiting here and I wish I had come sooner. Even during the Covid 19 crisis they have managed to keep this strikingly beautiful place interesting and enlightening and entertaining.

We stayed in Woodstock so were able walk the 500 metres to the main gate and book an early slot. We did not have to queue or wait to get in or to enter the Palace tours. I really recommend people consider this option if visiting.

Come prepared to walk as well as the grounds are extensive but easily walkable and give some outstanding views and photo opportunities.

If you have a family take a picnic there are many places to enjoy one and the catering prices were we thought a bit excessive, somewhat beyond National Trust prices.

One thing we were surprised about and that we did think was rather against the spirit rather than the law of the Government’s “Eat out to Help Out” scheme was the cafeteria reducing the bill by 50%. Whilst happy to accept it given the actual prices charged we don’t believe it will in any way encourage extra visitors to come out to Blenheim.

An undoubted national treasure though and a must visit
Written 15 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear seebeforeigo, Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace and to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and explored so much of the Palace and grounds. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon to continue exploring everything we have to offer.
Written 18 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

CPaM68
Texas686 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2019
Blenheim Palace is a monumental and magnificent country house in Blenheim, Oxfordshire, England. It is the ancestral home of the Dukes of Marlborough and is still their principal residence. The palace is famous, not only because it is the birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill in 1874, but because it is the only non-royal, non-episcopal country house in England to hold the title of palace. One of England's largest houses, it was designed and built between 1705 and 1722 in the rare and short-lived English Baroque architectural style, and was designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1987. It is unique in its combined use as a family home, mausoleum, and national monument. Winston Churchill’s father, the second son of the 7th Duke of Marlborough, inherited neither title nor property, so although Winston grew up with social status, privilege, and a sense of heritage, his immediate family had little money or wealth. Ironically, at the end of the 19th century, the palace was saved from ruin by funds gained from the 9th Duke of Marlborough's marriage to the American railroad heiress Consuelo Vanderbilt. The audio guide, which I would recommend, is very comprehensive and gives the commentary and historical background in a very relaxed and understandable way. There are also plenty of people to answer your questions as you tour the rooms and view the historical artifacts. (PaM)
Written 26 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace, and for sharing your feedback with us. We're delighted to hear that you had such a nice visit and enjoyed exploring around the grounds and learning about the history of the Palace. We hope you'll consider returning to see everything you may have missed about our historic site.
Written 27 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alice
30 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020
Despite having booked the arrival slot we queued on our feet for almost TWO HOURS in the sun to get into the Place itself. We were told it was an hour wait, it wasn’t. A bottle of water would have been appreciated or maybe some music playing. There was nothing. Although the kids working there were pleasant they were not enforcing social distancing in the queues at all, there were several very large family groups (one family in front of us was a group of 15!) it was and felt chaotic. I Witnessed Several other people pull faces and swerve when people brushed past them. Wouldn’t be surprised if this place gets temporarily closed again. The butterfly house and many other attractions were still closed (not their fault) but even with those open I’m not convinced the entry fee is worth it, they should think about something they could do to give extra value (free drink even? Water?! Small gift bag) something to stop you feeling it’s all being done to squeeze every penny. The palace inside is of course absolutely stunning but you can easily do it in under half hour and we had to queue another 45 mins to see the main bit, Churchill’s exhibition. Thankfully a gentleman began playing the beautiful organ otherwise it would have felt soul destroying after the already two hour wait. Didn’t take the train as the walk was nice plus too crowded. Bring your own hand gel as the touch free electric dispensers ‘sometimes don’t work’ according to the girl at the entrance.
Glad I didn’t trek family up here, I don’t think I’d bother again. I kind of regret going now.
Written 1 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Alice S, Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace and to share your feedback with us. We are sorry you had to wait so long. To ensure we can keep to social distancing and minimise interaction between visitors we have moved from an all entrance and walk round together system with no barriers to a 3 minute starting slot system throughout the day of only related family groups up to 6. That has naturally caused delay to keep everyone safe and this past weekend we saw visitors almost reach our reduced operating capacity limit at 60% of normal volumes and with such wonderful weather it did apply pressure to the new system. We did have some light entertainment in the Great Court at certain points during the day but was limited. We have already reviewed our procedures and notices to address this impact and to ease queueing going forward. We will now be opening the Palace earlier, not insisting everyone comes on arrival to spread out numbers and deliver more roaming entertainment at the weekend to help deliver further visitor interaction. The maze, butterfly house and Chruchill’s destiny exhibition located outside are the only remaining free entry areas that remain closed as we can’t keep visitors safe in these areas and comply to the social distancing rules. We have added a new treasure hunt, formal gardens audio guide, family entertainment at the pleasure gardens, trails and more to increase added value whilst these areas remain closed and also encourage visitors to explore our 2000 acres and formal gardens so that our full experience is had. You can convert your ticket to an annual pass for free and online up to 14 days after your visit at www.annualpass.com which will enable you to visit throughout the year for free and enjoy many benefits and access to events. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the organist playing inside the Palace. We hope you will return again soon and that we can meet your expectations. Best wishes , Nicole
Written 3 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BramhallHatter
Bramhall, UK153 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Family
We arrived at Blenheim Palace during a downpour and needed to queue for a while before being allowed indoors (getting soaked in the process). However, it was worth the wait and the guides were really helpful and knowledgeable when asked questions about various rooms. Later in the day we enjoyed rowing on the lake, walking around the grounds and watching the kids play on the very good play areas. We all really enjoyed ourselves and I would recommend it to other families with primary school aged kids.
Written 16 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear BramhallHatter, Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience and hope to welcome you back soon to continue exploring.
Written 18 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fred480
Gloucester, UK18 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
Very poor. We often meet in Woodstock and walk in the palace grounds but have not been inside the palace or gardens before. This time we decided to buy the Privelege Pass and go on a Restoration and Conservation Tour which was excellent thanks to Peter. However, we went for lunch in the Water Terrace Restaurant and were very disappointed. We chose a vegetarian curry which was cold. When we took it back the chef merely put our plates in the microwave. Mine came back patchily hot but my friend’s was still cool. By then we had had enough and did not want to eat any more. We were also rather surprised that we had to drink wine out of water tumblers.
The decor is terribly tired and dated. Surely you could make a lot more money from this if it were a lovely place to be. The views are wonderful but most tables did not benefit from them.
The coffee in the Pantry was all right but the cakes looked unappealing.
We recommend the Woodstock Cafe in the High Street for coffees/teas/cakes/lunches. A wonderful place, service and food and drink.
Written 15 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace and to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Conservation tour. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in our cafes, this is not the experience we wish for our visitors. Please email blenhiem.sales@searcys.co.uk and someone from the catering team will be in touch with you regarding the feedback. We hope we can welcome you back again soon to continue discovering everything we have to offer.
Written 23 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lowkat
Cold Ash, UK20 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Family
We prebooked tickets for the palace and the gardens, for an arrival time of 11am, when booking it was stressed that we had to go into the Palace within 1hr of arriving so numbers could be monitored. Because of this I was happy that the site was booking maximum numbers for time slots and managing that well so we would be safe.

Unfortunately when we went to go to the palace at 11.10am we were told the queue was 45 mins long and to come back. When I explained we were booked at 11am I was told this was just our arrival time and not the palace entrance time. I tried to argue the point that we were told to go to the palace within 1hr of arrival but it fell on deaf ears. When I asked why if we returned later in the day the queue would be any different and she said “it might not be” so you could have purchased tickets for the palace and never got in?!

We thought we would look in the shop, get the kids a drink and have a coffee and decide what to do, but we were met with yet another massive queue, with def not 2m within people.

We then left, lucky for us we are annual pass members so it didn’t cost us anything. Other than disappointed children who were placated by a trip to Millets farm who are impeccably organised in comparison!

Written 4 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Lowkat. Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace and to share your feedback with us. We are sorry had to wait so long. To ensure we can keep to social distancing and minimise interaction between visitors we have moved from an all entrance and walk round together system with no barriers to a 3 minute starting slot system throughout the day of only related family groups up to 6. That has naturally caused delay to keep everyone safe and we have reduced operating capacity limit at 60% of normal volumes however with such wonderful weather it did apply pressure to the new system. We have already reviewed our procedures and notices to address this impact and to ease queuing going forward. We will now be opening the Palace earlier, not insisting everyone comes on arrival to spread out numbers. We are continuing to review this on a daily basis. We hope despite this you still managed to enjoy your visit. We are delighted to hear that you have an annual pass, we hope you will choose to return again and explore everything have to offer. Best wishes , Nicole
Written 5 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KiwiKerry53
Wellington, New Zealand4 910 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2019
Blenheim Palace has been on my radar over many visits to the UK and finally, this trip we got time to go! We heard on the car radio that there had been an "incident" at the palace and that it was closed and due to open at 2pm.
We arrived at 2pm to find the Palace still closed. We were told we could, for 5 pounds per person, wander the grounds, pretty much everything but go into the Palace. We were really disappointed, because the courtyards and other areas were all blocked off.
To the idiots that stole the solid gold toilet on loan from a museum in New York - thanks for ruining my opportunity to explore Blenheim Palace. What type of people just rip out a toilet and leave damaged plumbing to flood a magnificent heritage building.
I have no doubt the palace is amazing and to do your visit justice and enjoy the grounds would take the past of a day, even pack a picnic. Sadly for me, this visit was just not to be...
Written 14 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace and to share your feedback with us. We are really sorry that your visit for affected due to this unforeseen incident. We hope you still enjoyed walking and exploring the grounds. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future to continue exploring everything we have to offer.
Written 26 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Luke P
Eastbourne, UK523 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 • Couples
Blenheim Palace was a wonderful day out. It was a bit expensive to get in but I have a defense discount card so got 30% off the household (same for blue light) which made it much more reasonable. The palace and grounds are stunning. We started by visiting the Churchill exhibition which was really interesting. We then went into the stable exhibition which was good, and I can see would be amazing for those more interested in horses or riding than myself. We then had some lunch in the cafeteria style restaurant and sat out on the benches at the side of the palace overlooking the lake, the food was good and reasonably priced. We then walked over the Bridge to the Harry Potter Tree which is worth the short walk for fans of the films. Following this we went into the main palace, we didn't realise that we needed to queue to go in as groups of 12 and wandered in only to be sent out. A sign on the main steps might be helpful. After a brief talk we were able to roam around the rooms that were open including the room Winston Churchill was born in. Each room was stunning in it's own way and had a story to tell. I thought there would have been more rooms to see but what we could see was great. We then went to the gift shop which offered gifts and souvenirs for all ages at a reasonable price. I would highly recommend a visit if you are interested in the Marlborough family, Churchill or historical buildings/grounds. A wonderful day out.
Written 27 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace and to share your feedback with us. We value all our visitors opinions and are always looking for ways to improve our customer service/experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to continue exploring everything we have to offer.
Written 28 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

_ericaduckworth4
Harrietsham, UK36 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 • Couples
This is a beautiful Palace and worth visiting. In difficult circumstances the staff are trying hard to keep everyone safe. Without the “Untold Story” I would have felt short changed with how few rooms you got to see. This story tour was good but we we’re fortunate to be near the front of the queue, several people left the queue from behind us when they realised it could take an hour to get to the front. My biggest disappointment was walking round the lake to see the Cascades only to find that they were closed and we couldn’t see them. I wouldn’t have minded so much had we been told at the start of the walk that there was maintenance taking place, but walking for two hours to see fencing was really disappointing. Lots of water maintenance taking place which obviously has to be done at some stage, but better signage and explanations would have been useful. Still enjoyed the day. We converted our tickets to an annual pass so hope to visit the area again next year when things may have improved.
Written 17 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear _ericaduckworth4, Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace. we are pleased that you managed to enjoy the Untold Story and you didn't need to wait too long. We are sorry that you felt disappointed that you walked to the Cascades to find it closed. We will feed this back to the management team to review and look at new signage. We look forward to welcoming you back to discover everything we have too offer.
Written 18 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Emma
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Family
Very disappointing experience when booking and visiting the palace.
Booked the deal whereby you can book a day pass and upgrade to a 12 month pass, thinking this pass would be great for day trips for my family.

I had all sorts of trouble booking the tickets on the website, as it kept freezing, and wasn’t sure if I had managed to book successfully but I was glad when I received the email to tell me it had gone through. Apparently it hadn’t worked as it was supposed to, however, as the very flippant man at the service desk informed me. He went on to point out that quite a few people had had the same issue as me. Customer service manner was way below par.

On arrival myself and my two young children had to stand in a very large queue to convert our tickets in the very hot sun, making my son quite upset, only to be told that I had booked the ‘wrong’ tickets and they could not be converted. I am still unsure as to why I have been told this and feel it is completely false advertising being sold one thing but not honouring the deal after the purchase has been made. The tickets I bought were the type which can be converted, and I have done this procedure before. Seems like a massive con to me.

I also found the facilities sadly lacking as my son has a dairy allergy and there were no suitable dairy free alternatives at the shop where we tried to buy ice creams. 
Also, there were portaloos with hand sanitizer but nowhere to actually wash hands which in the current climate is pretty unsafe.

All in all, a very negative experience while we had previously been looking forward to visiting. I have been an annual pass holder in past (having bought and converted my previous tickets in the same way) and enjoyed visiting on numerous occasions but this has quite frankly put me off ever going back again. 

Written 27 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Emt1122, Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace and to share your feedback with us. We value all our visitors' opinions and are always looking for ways to improve customer experience. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit. We are aware of the queuing time to get inside the palace and this is being reviewed on a daily basis. It was particularly busy due to our reopening of the palace after filming, and to ensure everyone's safety. We are only able to operate with limited staff inside the Kiosk to ensure the safety off our staff, we appreciate this may cause queuing. We will pass on your feedback to the Catering team to investigate further if you wish to contact them please email blenheim.sales@searcys.co.uk. Thank you for providing us with your feedback, we will be reviewing our procedures closely and hope to ease queuing as safely as possible, moving forward. We hope to welcome you back should you wish to visit us again to continue exploring everything we have to offer.
Written 31 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 8,614
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

BLENHEIM PALACE (2024) All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

All Woodstock HotelsWoodstock Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Woodstock
All things to do in Woodstock
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire