We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hebden Tea Company

101 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Hebden Tea Company

101 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around York
Full view
Location
Contact
21 Shambles, York YO1 7LZ England
Get to know the area
The Bloody Tour of York - Tourism Award Winner 2020
Historical & Heritage Tours

The Bloody Tour of York - Tourism Award Winner 2020

331 reviews
Skip the standard group tours and enjoy an alternative history of York during this award-winning, immersive guided tour of the city. Pass by top attractions—such as the Shambles and Jorvik Viking Centre—as you listen to your guide tell tales of witches, queens, and murderers that you wouldn’t hear on most other tours.
US$17,23 per adult
101Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 82
  • 13
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Linda M wrote a review Dec 2020
3 contributions4 helpful votes
Absolutely love this shop, and always stock up on teas when I visit York. Lovely staff, and there's always a sample brewing. In the days of covid and lockdown, this place has been a godsend. Excellent customer service and the quality of the teas is superb. Cannot recommend highly enough. If you like to sample different teas, this is definitely the place to go. The only downside is that I always spend more than I intended but I HAVE to try that new blend ...
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
John P wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
The tea is amazing. Ive been buying it from the store for around 8 years. But im not going to York for a few weeks and ran out. So thought I would order online the tea for 100g was £6 ish and the delivery was £3.90 which i think is quite expensive for what it is. But approximately 48hrs for delivery so I paid it. But it didn't arrive and on day 4 I was informed that it wouldn't be here for another 3 days. So I emailed them. A few hours later I got a fone call from them. My hopes raised I answered the phone. To get a half hearted I'm sorry. And nothing more. Not even an offer to refund me my delivery charge. It only has to travel 40miles and its taken 7 days. The shop is great but do not buy online. Other places seem to be managing to get deliverys sorted on time with the same courier. And the same 48hrs service for free.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from HebdenTeaCompany, Manager at Hebden Tea Company
Responded 28 Dec 2020
Dear John, We pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service both in store and online. The backlog caused by the recent lockdown, Black Friday sales and the Christmas period has been taxing for all businesses and we only charge postage to cover the cost set by Royal Mail. Royal Mail and other couriers have been extremely busy during this period and acknowledge that delays may unfortunately occur. We process all orders immediately and ship from store on the same working day. We signpost to all our online customers that Royal Mail ‘aims’ to deliver within a 48hr working period – although as stated this is not guaranteed. We phoned you directly to apologise for the delay caused by RM as we prefer to speak directly to customers rather than relying upon an impersonal email. We understand and sympathise with the frustration this has caused you. 2020 has been a challenging year for online customers and businesses alike. We are hoping that 2021 will provide a better experience for both sides. We wish you a Happy and Healthy New Year. Warm regards, Hebden Tea Team
Read more
bella25032005 wrote a review Aug 2020
Halesowen, United Kingdom77 contributions18 helpful votes
My daughter loved this shop who loves herbal teas. The choice was amazing. So much variety for every taste. Friendly staff and 2 lovely dogs 😊 This is what is lovely about York, is the variety of shops that you don’t get in many towns anymore.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Dajnusik D wrote a review Aug 2020
4 contributions
Buyers be careful with purchase tea in this shop. We bought pu-erh tea pressed in pancake form two weeks ago here and unfortunately inside tea we found 40% of paper.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from HebdenTeaCompany, Manager at Hebden Tea Company
Responded 28 Dec 2020
Dear Dajnusikd, The traditional way of preparing Pu-Erh Tea incorporates a small seal of quality included before the pressing process, this authenticates the tea and acts as the tea blenders signature. These teas need to be opened and loosened with care to avoid paper sticking to the tea. We have opened a number of Pu-Erh nests and cakes to check whether this is an issue with any of our teas and are pleased to report no issue similar to your description. The '40% paper' as you have described is incorrect. You can find more information on Pu-Erh teas and their traditions online. Hebden Tea Team
Read more
marshanite wrote a review Feb 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom39 contributions16 helpful votes
I regularly go into HBT to get my morning take out and love the way you have a choice of over a 100 teas. They are freshly made and as the owner always points out the bags can be resused again throughout the day to make more cuppas. I also love the sample teas that are in the window and always try them and have even bought some that I liked. Great independent and great staff.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Hebden Tea Company