We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charles XII

Open Now: 12:00 - 22:30
Open today: 12:00 - 22:30
Review Highlights
Lively boozer with a good ale selection

Stopped in with a few friends for an early evening drink on the way into town. There is a wide... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Auds632
,
Grimsby, United Kingdom
They Do Average Very Well, Here.

Stopped in for a late lunch the other day, hoping as always that we’d found a real gem. Sadly... read more

Reviewed 6 November 2018
Zinc707
,
Auckland Central, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 65 reviews
9
All photos (9)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good18%
  • Average13%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible33%
6 days ago
“Partly Warm food not good”
2 weeks ago
“Lively boozer with a good ale selection”
About
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 - 22:30
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Dec
Jan
Feb
Contact
Charles 12 Main Street, York YO10 5EA, England
Website
+44 1904 426661
Call
Improve This Listing
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around York
from US$51,30
More Info
from US$19,20
More Info
from US$64,10
More Info
from US$53,80
More Info
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
14
11
9
10
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
14
11
9
10
20
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Looked great ordered sausage & mash ,and pie & mash. Our food was served to our table,only to be disappointed to what was on our plates.The menu shows at least 8 sausages lots of mash.there was only 3 sausages small amount of mash and served...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Martin H
CharlesXII, Manager at Charles XII, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Martin, Thank you for your review, we are sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us. It seems like there was a misunderstanding with your order. We do hope that you give us another chance to show you usual excellent service.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped in with a few friends for an early evening drink on the way into town. There is a wide selection of real ales on the bar, at prices you would expect in many pubs these days ie around £3.50 a pint for the lower...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Auds632
CharlesXII, Manager at Charles XII, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi There, Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you all again soon!

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Stopped in for a late lunch the other day, hoping as always that we’d found a real gem. Sadly not....we found the mediocrity for which British pubs are famous. In the clear absence of a chef, the microwave operator did an ok job. My traveling...More

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Zinc707
CharlesXII, Manager at Charles XII, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi There, Thank you for your review, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do hope that you give us another chance to show you our usual excellent service.

Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Quite loud and lively, but very nice atmosphere. Really enjoyed the food, so reasonably priced and the two young ladies that served us were lovely Dog friendly (not on the carpets) pleasant eve was had

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Supershal
CharlesXII, Manager at Charles XII, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi There, Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you all again soon!

Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Visited Charles XII for lunch as part of a group of fourteen or so. Found the menu to have a great choice of dishes, catering for all tastes and dietary requirements and all at very reasonable prices. Added to this, although there were a large...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank kalazhars_quest
CharlesXII, Manager at Charles XII, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Joe, Thank you for leaving us a review, we are happy that you enjoyed our services, hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 3 September 2018

Helpful young staff offering quick service. Food came quickly and was attractively presented. It is lively with many screens and background music but capable of tolerating a lap top user for quite some time. Good value for a varied pub menu.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank David P
CharlesXII, Manager at Charles XII, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi David, Thank you for your review, we like to pride ourselves in our service standards and really appreciate when it noticed. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 22 August 2018

I came to the pub on 21st august with my partner and a lovely waitress called Monica recommended the fajita burger as I am vegetarian. The food came really quickly and and it was amazing, I would definitely recommend this for vegetarians and anyone who...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank eliza123385
CharlesXII, Manager at Charles XII, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Eliza, Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the service offered to you by Monica. We do hope you visit again and try one of our NEW tasty vegetarian dishes. We look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

Visited with friends that I haven't seen for a while and loved it the staff was lovley and I orderd the chicken wings was really nise and desserts to die for definitly will be going back friends loved it to staff were verry welcoming.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank nikitafarrow
CharlesXII, Manager at Charles XII, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Nikita, Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Visited this excuse for a pub on Sunday 1/7/18 with friends and family. Atmosphere was awful and actually quite threatening. One guy serving behind the bar who couldn’t have cared less. Place was filthy, glasses piled up and a 20 minute wait to order food...More

Date of experience: July 2018
4  Thank 511dannyf
CharlesXII, Manager at Charles XII, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hi Danny, thank you for taking the time to review us, however I am so sorry to hear that your visit was a disaster. Please be assured that this isn't our usual customer service standard and we do also like to pride ourselves on the...More

Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

We have never been treated so badly before. We rang the Charles and I was told that the pub opens at 10 and breakfast is served until 12 so we went at 10:40 and they said we can’t serve you because we are sorting out...More

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Diyana O
CharlesXII, Manager at Charles XII, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hi Diyana, thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us and if you would like to discuss this further then please do not hesitate to contact me on 01904...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 46 nearby hotels
Travelodge York Hull Road
264 reviews
.89 km away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
1 463 reviews
2.03 km away
Edinburgh Arms
25 reviews
2.23 km away
Hotel Indigo York
1 896 reviews
2.28 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1 007 nearby restaurants
Charles XII
23 reviews
.02 km away
Bamboo Thai Takeaway & Noodle Bar
112 reviews
1.41 km away
The Deramore Arms
241 reviews
.17 km away
Harpers Fish & Chips York
108 reviews
1.41 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 431 nearby attractions
Fulford Golf Club
34 reviews
.77 km away
York Castle Museum
8 421 reviews
2.45 km away
Rowntree Park
285 reviews
2.41 km away
Constantine Statue
56 reviews
2.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
59emty
23 June 2018|
Answer
Response from julianmG4220UL | Reviewed this property |
Yes they even have a dog water bowl
0
Votes