We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spa Valley Railway

Closed: Closed
Open today: Closed

Spa Valley Railway
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
291
All photos (291)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good30%
  • Average9%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“buffet car”(34 reviews)
“steam engine”(28 reviews)
“west station”(26 reviews)
About
Heritage Railway operating Steam and Diesel trains between Tunbridge Wells West and Eridge with intermediate stations at High Rocks and Groombridge.
Closed
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Contact
West Station Nevill Terrace, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 5QY, England
Website
+44 1892 537715
Call
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
227
138
42
28
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
227
138
42
28
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet car steam engine west station tunbridge wells west return journey diesel gala fat controller station master thomas the tank engine bar car diesel train rolling stock waiting room main line steam loco fish and chip supper lovely trip
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I came here with a group of friends for the beer festival which was great! However, we wanted to take the train to Eridge for lunch at The Huntsman which I have also reviewed. The price for an all-day return ticket was, I thought, overly-expensive...More

Thank Ian W
SpaVR, General Manager at Spa Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review. What should have been mentioned in the review however is that whilst you visited during our annual Beer Festival, this event is also combined with our Autumn Diesel Gala. This has been the case since 2011 so it should come...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Used the spa valley railway as our transport for our wedding to High Rocks! All the staff were so lovely and all our guests loved every minute of it! Such a different way for arriving at the wedding venue. So if your getting married at...More

Thank Stephen S
SpaVR, General Manager at Spa Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review, we're really pleased you enjoyed your wedding transport, the headboard and overall a fantastic experience!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Did this trip yesterday, bit disappointed that it was not a steam loco and it was exceptionally cold, but lovely experience with all the autumn colours showing through. The volunteers work hard to make it work. A trip back in time. The train even ran...More

1  Thank gatekeeper10
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arranged as part of a weekend gift from my daughter " Steam Experience and One night Hotel Stay" on the day got up early as we had just under four hours to travel, the weather on the day was over cast and drizzly but as...More

Thank 560darrenc
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Brought back many memories from traveling on the line. Food was good in the buffet car. Nice to see the thumper as well.

Thank Spike J
SpaVR, General Manager at Spa Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We're really pleased you enjoyed your visit. Our Thumper is very historic and currently under repairs, it will be in service again next year.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited with friends on beer festival Saturday. Lots of beers and ciders on offer. The volunteer staff did an amazing job both on and off the trains. Live music as well as stalls and bars. Lots if trains running until late. Will go back...More

Thank lobster64
SpaVR, General Manager at Spa Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you we're glad you had such a lovely time.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great time. The young ladies on coach C you could not fault and the stations are looked after very well. However on arrival we are told no steam engine today. When questioned by the staff why the passengers are told we have not...More

Thank oceman
SpaVR, General Manager at Spa Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're sorry that you didn't get to experience a steam hauled train, unfortunately our own engine failed and the replacement components needed to be manufactured. We are hoping to have the engine back in traffic in November however we will be joined by two visiting...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Earlier in the year myself and my wife went on the spa railway and I gave it a five rating. I looked on the website afterwards and saw they did meals and it was a three hour trip. So I booked it. The food and...More

Thank papat2018
SpaVR, General Manager at Spa Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, as you visited the railway previously I am surprised to read you thought it would be a different journey, we only have 5 miles of railway line through some unspoilt areas of the High Weald. As in line with most...More

Reviewed 11 October 2018

We visited the railway a few weeks ago as a couple. Overall it was very disappointing. On arrival at Tunbridge Wells we were told that all trains would terminate at Groombridge as the line was closed further down. This meant that the one way trip...More

1  Thank Christos99
SpaVR, General Manager at Spa Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

The steam engine would have hauled you both ways and if you had looked at Tunbridge Wells you would have seen it facing the 'right' way. We can't turn engines at either end of our line on a turntable, in fact most heritage railways are...More

Reviewed 12 September 2018

Our son had treated us to a Virgin Experience trip on the railway line. After weeks of hot weather we arrived at the railway station during a torrential downpour to a notice board reading that due to the hot and dry weather and the risk...More

2  Thank MartinG_53
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 nearby hotels
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
327 reviews
.08 km away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
334 reviews
.26 km away
One Warwick Park Hotel
302 reviews
.42 km away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
645 reviews
.76 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 329 nearby restaurants
The Old Fishmarket by Sankey's
415 reviews
.32 km away
Chocolatl
44 reviews
.35 km away
The CakeShed
201 reviews
.32 km away
The Grey Lady Restaurant & Music Lounge
245 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 133 nearby attractions
Tunbridge Wells Forum
136 reviews
.41 km away
The Parish Church of King Charles the Martyr
20 reviews
.42 km away
Fairfax Gallery
18 reviews
.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Spa Valley Railway staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines