We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room

Features Animals
Foxholes Farm London Road, Hertford SG13 7NT, England
+44 1992 552900
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Disappointing ‘farm’ cafe

We went to the cafe today, you can walk through the shop to get there where they sell all manner of... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
joolsandneil
,
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
via mobile
Afternoon Tea with my 3yr old granddaughter

My 3 year old granddaughter wanted to go for afternoon tea for her birthday, so booked foxholes (I... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Donna P
,
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 121 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Foxholes Farm is an award winning family run farm deep in the Hertfordshire Countryside. A fully stocked farm shop, butchery counter and Tea Room, serving breakfast, lunches and afternoon tea. The Animal Barn is open every weekend and throughout the school holidays and the farm plays host to a enclosed children's play area. Admission is free into to the farm and there is a small charge to enter the animal barn. Please note the Animal Barn is open 11am - 3pm
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“play area” (10 reviews)
“cake” (9 reviews)
“light lunch” (4 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 08:30 - 17:30
LOCATION
Foxholes Farm London Road, Hertford SG13 7NT, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1992 552900
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"play area"
in 10 reviews
"cake"
in 9 reviews
"light lunch"
in 4 reviews
"fresh meat"
in 4 reviews
"full english"
in 3 reviews
"lovely little place"
in 3 reviews
"visited today"
in 3 reviews
"young girl"
in 3 reviews
"feed the animals"
in 2 reviews
"preserves"
in 2 reviews
"ham"
in 4 reviews
"enjoyed our visit"
in 2 reviews
"great choice"
in 2 reviews
"frozen meals"
in 2 reviews
"small area"
in 2 reviews
"without a doubt"
in 2 reviews
"pate"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to the cafe today, you can walk through the shop to get there where they sell all manner of meats, oils, pickles and even gin. We enquired about oerhaos having pickle on the cheese sandwich abd were astonished that the answer was no....More

Thank joolsandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My 3 year old granddaughter wanted to go for afternoon tea for her birthday, so booked foxholes (I like to use local business) we had an excellent experience. Thank you

Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you had a lovely time visiting us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited today with my 2 year old. The staff in the shop were very helpful directing me as it was my first visit and there was no sign I noticed to show me where to gain entry. I’m sure it was there however with an...More

2  Thank MarieAnna3116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are very sorry if a member of staff came across un-welcoming, we take all comments (good & bad) on board and will defiantly look into this.. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve always loved the shop, so thought we’d get some lunch in the tea room. Orders were delivered wrong, and when challenged were told to pick off the bits involved (not ideal with an allergy) then the drinks arrived, one skinny one not, but no,...More

1  Thank Chrissie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are very sorry you were not pleased with your visit. your feedback is very important to us with so we would need to look into this further and liaise with the staff on duty. Thank you once again and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

I was booked on the Butchery Course as a present and what a present. Terry demonstrated the best way to butcher a pig and we also witnessed how this is done in Denmark. The information was overwhelming. I didn't know there was so much to...More

2  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your butchery class and found the class very informative. Yes, we agree Terry is one in a million and knows he`s trade very well, we hope...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

We had a great afternoon at the farm today and my son enjoyed feeding the lambs . The young girl- Amy - who was looking after the lambs was very cheerful and great with the kids. We followed it up with some tea and cake...More

Thank harty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review , we are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Very disappointing visit. I took my mother to visit the tea room. She has a condition which affects her ability to express herself clearly. The woman serving us was extremely abrupt and showed no patience. The woman charged us incorrectly £4.95 for mince pies with...More

1  Thank chezza619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for your review as you can imagine we take these comments very seriously, we will follow this up with the person concerned, we apologise for the inconvenience and hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

I personally was disappointed. The weather was awful which didn't help. Coffee in the tea rooms was very average. The children enjoyed their cookies...But tasted better from those in Sainsburys (I thought, having had a nibble of one). It was a very drizzly day and...More

Thank Hecandtobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for writing this review, due to bad weather conditions our cows have had to be kept indoors as the ground is at least six weeks behind, also most of our cows are due to give birth this time of year, so it would...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I visited with my granddaughter to feed a lamb. I was distressed to see these tiny, scrawny, dirty, uncared for, very hungry animals huddled together in the corner or wandering about crying for food. We were given a very small amount of milk in a...More

1  Thank debholmes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Firstly, lambs are not always cute fluffy animals all of the time, they huddle in the corner to take in the heat of the lamps as the weather has not been kind when they are used to being born this time of year in a...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We often stop here on the way back from the cemetery in Hoddesdon. It is in a lovely setting on a farm, nice and quiet. The coffee shop is lovely with seating inside, on decking or on the grass. Often where you sit is dictated...More

Thank LouLouTravel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your review and for visiting us on a regular basis. We are extreamly sorry that our full menu was not available, it was simply due to the fact we were incredibly short staffed at very short notice. Apologies once a gain and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Hertford
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
145 reviews
.59 km away
Salisbury Arms Hotel
319 reviews
.70 km away
Hertford House
306 reviews
.75 km away
Premier Inn Ware Hotel
252 reviews
3.15 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lussmanns - Hertford
672 reviews
.67 km away
Salisbury Arms Hotel
256 reviews
.70 km away
Loch Fyne
472 reviews
.54 km away
Rose Cafe
85 reviews
.66 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hertford Theatre
117 reviews
.84 km away
Hertford Museum
63 reviews
.76 km away
Hertford Castle
50 reviews
.87 km away
Hartham Commons
14 reviews
.98 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;