We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Roebuck Inn

Closed Now: 11:00 - 23:00
Open today: 11:00 - 23:00
Review Highlights
Good Pub

Another of my haunts when I was a youngster, we played darts in here in the 70's. It is so pleasing... read more

Reviewed 10 October 2018
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Good Traditional Inn

A good traditional Inn selling real ales as well as all the other normal beverages and home cooked... read more

Reviewed 16 February 2018
Winchester, United Kingdom
Read all 17 reviews
All photos (14)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good29%
  • Average5%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible0%
10 Oct 2018
“Good Pub”
16 Feb 2018
“Good Traditional Inn”
Traditional British pub serving excellent freshly cooked, locally sourced, produce with a range of traditional real ales, refreshing, chilled lagers and delicious cider. We have a specially chosen wine list with white, red and rose wines matched to...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 11:00 - 23:00
See all hours
57 Stockbridge Road, Winchester SO22 6RP, England
+44 1962 827755
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
See what travellers are saying:
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Another of my haunts when I was a youngster, we played darts in here in the 70's. It is so pleasing to see its still going, now serving food, and more welcoming than I remember.

Thank Howlo
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

We took my parents here for my mother's birthday. Although the service was prompt and courteous the Sunday roast was poor. There was plenty of meat but the potatoes looked like they had been cooked the day before and reheated, the runner beans were so...More

1  Thank lizzyluck67
Jo H, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Hi I'm sorry it has taken so long to reply... For some reason we had not picked up your review. Needless to say I am extremely sorry to read your comments and very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your visit to The Roebuck... If you...More

Reviewed 16 February 2018

A good traditional Inn selling real ales as well as all the other normal beverages and home cooked and prepared food. The Landlady and Landlord (Jo and Andrew) are very friendly as well as their staff. There is also a customer car park, which is...More

Thank FrankLake
Jo H, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thanks very much for the 5* review Frank.. Really pleased you enjoy The Roebuck

Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

My daughter had eaten here before and booked a table for us , loved that the landlord ? Came to the table and took our drinks order , wasn’t rushed choosing food and again gentleman gave good input to what was on the menu ....More

Thank barry1011
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Been here several times. Great home cooked style food. None of the “freezer food “ you get in the larger chain pubs. An old character pub with a retro feel without loud overpowering music.

Thank TheDaddy4900
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

This has to be one of my all time favourite pubs in Winchester. Not only is the food great but the atmosphere is phenomenal! The lively staff make you feel at home and overall an amazing eating experience!!

Thank SpaceHDReviews
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Location great as just a 5-10 min walk to city! Landlord very helpful and food was good too! A busy pub so that tells you all is good.

Thank JulieKy
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We've been visiting every few weeks due to family commitments. The staff (Spanish barman) are great, remember us and are always very helpful. Food is good and excellent value for money. Never had a complaint.

Thank jon b
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Such a cute pub! Found this as a last minute place to eat on late Saturday afternoon. Very happy find! Lovely decorated country pub! Staff were relaxed and friendly and made us feel immediately welcome. Fast service and food was beautiful! I had the vegetable...More

Thank Amy S
Reviewed 25 July 2016

My husband and I decided quite late on a Friday to have a spot of lunch. We decided on the Roebuck,we arrived about 1.45 pm,made to feel welcome and were pleasantly surprised to find the lunch menu was 2 courses for £7 or 3 courses...More

Thank Judith T
View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 nearby hotels
The Winchester Hotel & spa
2 103 reviews
.76 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
754 reviews
.99 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel
2 430 reviews
1.05 km away
Giffard House
435 reviews
1.34 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 223 nearby restaurants
Gurkha's Inn
472 reviews
.75 km away
Tanoshii Fusion
432 reviews
.68 km away
The Porterhouse
550 reviews
.87 km away
Rimjhim Indian
563 reviews
.83 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 97 nearby attractions
The Royal Green Jackets (Rifles) Museum
228 reviews
.76 km away
South Downs Way
243 reviews
.70 km away
The Gurkha Museum
136 reviews
.75 km away
The Great Hall
1 055 reviews
.88 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Roebuck Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines