We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Love it!!

A great place for something a little quirky. We did our own mini wine tasting and sampled different... read more

Reviewed 9 June 2018
charlie170689
,
Poole, United Kingdom
via mobile
What a fab venue!

i'd been on about visiting this place for a while now so my other half gave in and took me for some... read more

Reviewed 9 April 2018
Hannah W
,
UK
Read all 76 reviews
21
All photos (21)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good39%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“different wines”(12 reviews)
“wine bar”(14 reviews)
“two floors”(5 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
13°
Oct
Nov
Dec
Contact
4 Bridge Street, Winchester SO23 9BH, England
Website
+44 1962 621563
Call
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
38
30
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
38
30
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews different wines wine bar two floors wine vending machine large glass comfy chairs great fun taster benches
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

We have frequented the black bottle for a number of years and love its relaxed atmosphere and excellent choice of wines. However, unfortunately cleanliness has dropped considerably.. Floor rugs covered in dog hairs, dust everywhere, toilet dirty and the feeling of not wanting to sit...More

Thank leefeerivers
Charlotte O, Manager at The Black Bottle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Hello, I'm sorry you feel our cleanliness level has dropped. I can inform you that we are in the process of making changes to our cleaning policy due to being under new management so we will take your feedback on board during these changes and...More

Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

A great place for something a little quirky. We did our own mini wine tasting and sampled different wines which was fun. The decor and ambience is great too and the staff very helpful. Will be back!

Thank charlie170689
Reviewed 9 April 2018

i'd been on about visiting this place for a while now so my other half gave in and took me for some afternoon drinks whilst shopping in Winchester. We went on a Saturday late lunchtime so it was lovely and quiet -meaning we were able...More

Thank Hannah W
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Went here the other week with my friend and had a lovely evening. An exciting concept of wine vending machines and a good selection of wine too. Such a chill environment and a good selection of board games! Will definitely be going back soon!

Thank Charlielouisereviews
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic night at the Black Bottle; I really urge everyone to go there. As it was my first time here, the staff explained clearly the concept and how it all worked. Great fun, and brilliant place to try lots of different wines!

Thank Dave D
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Recently visited this quirky wine bar with friends the interior has so much character and a real novel way of trying different wines . It's worth booking if going in a group also great for pre drinks.

1  Thank sarahjayne38
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Visited for the first time and were really impressed. The venue consists of a number of rooms over two floors. Each room has a wine vending machine with a range of wines at various prices. You get a card and pre load with what you...More

Thank SouthamptonSid
Reviewed 21 February 2017

If you enjoy drinking wine then you have to pay The Black Bottle a visit when you're in Winchester. Spread over two floors, and a few rooms, this is a pub like no other! On arrival you're greeted by a receptionist who'll explain the concept...More

Thank Drink_Eat_Do
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

I have never seen anything like this before. I came here on a hen do and really enjoyed it. I like the idea of all the different rooms and the decor was lovely. The only thing I will say is the staff just assumed we...More

Thank LM1620x
Reviewed 2 January 2017

A new concept which I found quite interesting. You get some credit in a card and use it to try different wines from the different vending machines around the 2 floors of this pub. Quite a variety that should satisfy most people. You can decided...More

Thank rubenanton
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 nearby hotels
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
1 653 reviews
.32 km away
The Wykeham Arms
1 035 reviews
.56 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2 387 reviews
.58 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
750 reviews
.72 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 221 nearby restaurants
Diya
240 reviews
.10 km away
Palm Pan Asia
734 reviews
.19 km away
Chococo
244 reviews
.28 km away
Chesil Rectory
1 410 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 97 nearby attractions
Winchester Cathedral
3 674 reviews
.49 km away
Winchester City Mill
617 reviews
.03 km away
Winchester City Museum
205 reviews
.53 km away
Statue of Alfred the Great
319 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mishmash28
18 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Charlotte O | Property representative |
Hello Natalie, Booking isn't essential here at the Black Bottle but is advised on Friday and Saturday evenings to ensure that you get a seating space.
0
Votes