We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Wine exploration

Incredible concept to enjoy wine. Top up your card and let your pallette explore. Wine samples from... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
DZ27
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
via mobile
“Good place for wine drinkers “

A very different kind of bar. Buy your card and enjoy tasting the wines in a relaxed and... read more

Reviewed 6 November 2018
Alex B
,
Ryde, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 79 reviews
25
All photos (25)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good39%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“different wines”(12 reviews)
“wine bar”(14 reviews)
“two floors”(5 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Dec
Jan
Feb
Contact
4 Bridge Street, Winchester SO23 9BH, England
Website
+44 1962 621563
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
40
31
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
40
31
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews different wines wine bar two floors wine vending machine large glass a pre dinner drink selection of board games comfy chairs great fun taster benches
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Incredible concept to enjoy wine. Top up your card and let your pallette explore. Wine samples from 80p up to many monies for a glass. Four or five different styled rooms to relax and enjoy. We visited on a Monday night and had the place...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank DZ27
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

A very different kind of bar. Buy your card and enjoy tasting the wines in a relaxed and unpretentious place. Happy staff, drinking games in boxes on tables,cosy. Bare boards. Scrubbed tables . A place you can enjoy with friends. Recommended .

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Alex B
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

We took my wine loving brother in law for a tasting. This was his first experience and he was impressed. The wines are reasonably price and there is always a good selection. A great place for a pre-dinner drink.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Janice H
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

We have frequented the black bottle for a number of years and love its relaxed atmosphere and excellent choice of wines. However, unfortunately cleanliness has dropped considerably.. Floor rugs covered in dog hairs, dust everywhere, toilet dirty and the feeling of not wanting to sit...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank leefeerivers
Charlotte O, Manager at The Black Bottle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Hello, I'm sorry you feel our cleanliness level has dropped. I can inform you that we are in the process of making changes to our cleaning policy due to being under new management so we will take your feedback on board during these changes and...More

Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

A great place for something a little quirky. We did our own mini wine tasting and sampled different wines which was fun. The decor and ambience is great too and the staff very helpful. Will be back!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank charlie170689
Reviewed 9 April 2018

i'd been on about visiting this place for a while now so my other half gave in and took me for some afternoon drinks whilst shopping in Winchester. We went on a Saturday late lunchtime so it was lovely and quiet -meaning we were able...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Hwitts18
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Went here the other week with my friend and had a lovely evening. An exciting concept of wine vending machines and a good selection of wine too. Such a chill environment and a good selection of board games! Will definitely be going back soon!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Charlielouisereviews
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic night at the Black Bottle; I really urge everyone to go there. As it was my first time here, the staff explained clearly the concept and how it all worked. Great fun, and brilliant place to try lots of different wines!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Dave D
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Recently visited this quirky wine bar with friends the interior has so much character and a real novel way of trying different wines . It's worth booking if going in a group also great for pre drinks.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank sarahjayne38
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Visited for the first time and were really impressed. The venue consists of a number of rooms over two floors. Each room has a wine vending machine with a range of wines at various prices. You get a card and pre load with what you...More

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank SouthamptonSid
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 nearby hotels
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
1 698 reviews
.32 km away
The Wykeham Arms
1 063 reviews
.56 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel
2 487 reviews
.58 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
764 reviews
.72 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 224 nearby restaurants
Palm Pan Asia
759 reviews
.19 km away
Diya
248 reviews
.10 km away
Chococo
251 reviews
.28 km away
Chesil Rectory
1 441 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 101 nearby attractions
Winchester Cathedral
3 772 reviews
.49 km away
Winchester City Mill
634 reviews
.03 km away
Winchester City Museum
213 reviews
.53 km away
Statue of Alfred the Great
327 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mishmash28
18 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Charlotte O | Property representative |
Hello Natalie, Booking isn't essential here at the Black Bottle but is advised on Friday and Saturday evenings to ensure that you get a seating space.
0
Votes