We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Travellers Rest

Travellers Rest Hart Hill, Southampton SO45 3ND, England
+44 23 8084 2356
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely meal at the Travellers Rest

We used to eat at the Travellers Rest many years ago, but stopped when the owners tried to make it... read more

Reviewed 14 April 2018
Philmex1
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Six nations dinner

Had a lovely meal. Everyone was very welcoming from the staff to the other customers. Very relaxed... read more

Reviewed 8 February 2018
A TripAdvisor Member
via mobile
Read all 12 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good33%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible25%
8 Feb 2018
“Six nations dinner”
26 Sep 2017
“Dogs welcomed ”
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 12:00 - 23:00
LOCATION
Travellers Rest Hart Hill, Southampton SO45 3ND, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 23 8084 2356
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Southampton
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2018

We used to eat at the Travellers Rest many years ago, but stopped when the owners tried to make it really trendy by putting in high stools and even higher prices. We were looking for somewhere for lunch midweek and thought we'd give it a...More

Thank Philmex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan O, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Hi We are glad you enjoyed your visit to us. We look forward to welcoming you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
83
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely meal. Everyone was very welcoming from the staff to the other customers. Very relaxed atmosphere where u were made to feel really welcome. Good food, good service if anything.... could have done with a bigger telly!!!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

we come here for lunch on Sundays good home cooked meals nice portions very frendly staff yes a great place good beer and wine can recomend

Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

The drinks are over priced the landlord sits in the pub having ago at anyone who he does not like. What's the point of having a dart board if you don't let anyone use it!!!!!

Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan O, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

We are a small pub, on a Saturday night when we have music we don't have the dart board in use. The high table and stools in front of it might have given that away. Sorry you think the drinks are over priced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Good pub food. No frills and nothing fancy but cheap and tasty. Friendly staff. Comfortable surroundings and if the weather is good fantastic views over the valley.

Thank Vivienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

We have been here before a few years ago and the food was just normal but today...... ...... home cooked, hand made burgers and chicken nuggets and chips:) They have a lovely little garden over looking the new forest and a good sized car park....More

Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

The pub changed hands again a few months ago so I decided to see if this time it had improved. On my first visit although menus were out we couldn't eat because the "chef" hadn't started yet. Why have menus out if there is no...More

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 July 2017

Dear sir On your first visit we were not even open for food. Menu was out on tables so people who were interested could see what food we would be doing and WHAT TIMES the different food was on offer. On your second visit you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Has changed hands, went with friends to try the Sunday lunch... awful, meat was dry, vegetables cold and watery gravey. Sorry to say one of the worst meals I have eaten. Will not be eating there again.More

2  Thank Stella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 July 2017

I'm very sorry this was your experience with us. We wish you had told us at the time so we could have rectified these problems. We have a lot of repeat custom, so the food you were given was obviously not the norm and could...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

There's nothing ready bad about this place and obviously looks after it's locals/regulars very well. They kinda have to considering how hidden it is! Beer (ale) wasn't the best kept in the world. It was too cold for a start creating a lot of chill...More

1  Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

This is by far one of the new forest best kept secret. it's set back out the way of and roads ect and the food is of a good standard the land lord/lady are the nicest people you will meet and the bar staff are...More

Thank Luke2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 26 hotels in Southampton
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
308 reviews
4.35 km away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
1 678 reviews
4.99 km away
Holiday Inn Southampton
1 304 reviews
5.01 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
2 105 reviews
5.01 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Jaipur Express
37 reviews
1.52 km away
The Forest Home
218 reviews
1.60 km away
Chip N Tails
18 reviews
1.51 km away
Fountain Court Hotel and Restaurant
18 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
Charterdays
19 reviews
2.41 km away
Andy's Private Hire
6 reviews
1.49 km away
Netley Abbey
101 reviews
3.31 km away
Royal Victoria Country Park Chapel
24 reviews
3.53 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Travellers Rest staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;