We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Travellers Rest

Closed Now: 12:00 - 23:00
Open today: 12:00 - 23:00
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Six nations dinner

Had a lovely meal. Everyone was very welcoming from the staff to the other customers. Very relaxed... read more

Reviewed 8 February 2018
Experience752801
via mobile
Dogs welcomed

Good pub food. No frills and nothing fancy but cheap and tasty. Friendly staff. Comfortable... read more

Reviewed 26 September 2017
Vivienne F
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 14 reviews
11
All photos (11)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good28%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible21%
8 Feb 2018
“Six nations dinner”
26 Sep 2017
“Dogs welcomed ”
About
Closed Now
Hours Today: 12:00 - 23:00
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
17°
Sep
13°
Oct
Nov
Contact
Travellers Rest Hart Hill, Southampton SO45 3ND, England
Website
+44 23 8084 2356
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Southampton
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
7
4
0
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
7
4
0
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We had a scrumptious Sunday roast in the garden overlooking rolling meadows and woodland with a live band playing alongside us... quality food and an idyllic afternoon I enjoyed it immensely and we visit regularly now. A hidden gem in the countryside and dog friendly...More

Thank Abbi H
Reviewed 5 June 2018

How nice to be on holiday and be asked to join a group of locals in the pub quiz! Our large dog was made very welcome and loved all the fuss he received. As we were staying just up the road we ate here on...More

Thank Wenders409
Reviewed 14 April 2018

We used to eat at the Travellers Rest many years ago, but stopped when the owners tried to make it really trendy by putting in high stools and even higher prices. We were looking for somewhere for lunch midweek and thought we'd give it a...More

Thank Philmex1
Ryan O, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Hi We are glad you enjoyed your visit to us. We look forward to welcoming you back again

Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely meal. Everyone was very welcoming from the staff to the other customers. Very relaxed atmosphere where u were made to feel really welcome. Good food, good service if anything.... could have done with a bigger telly!!!

Thank Experience752801
Reviewed 10 December 2017

we come here for lunch on Sundays good home cooked meals nice portions very frendly staff yes a great place good beer and wine can recomend

Thank Margaret C
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

The drinks are over priced the landlord sits in the pub having ago at anyone who he does not like. What's the point of having a dart board if you don't let anyone use it!!!!!

Thank Matt N
Ryan O, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

We are a small pub, on a Saturday night when we have music we don't have the dart board in use. The high table and stools in front of it might have given that away. Sorry you think the drinks are over priced.

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Good pub food. No frills and nothing fancy but cheap and tasty. Friendly staff. Comfortable surroundings and if the weather is good fantastic views over the valley.

Thank Vivienne F
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

We have been here before a few years ago and the food was just normal but today...... ...... home cooked, hand made burgers and chicken nuggets and chips:) They have a lovely little garden over looking the new forest and a good sized car park....More

Thank Sarah D
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

The pub changed hands again a few months ago so I decided to see if this time it had improved. On my first visit although menus were out we couldn't eat because the "chef" hadn't started yet. Why have menus out if there is no...More

Thank David S
Management response:Responded 25 July 2017

Dear sir On your first visit we were not even open for food. Menu was out on tables so people who were interested could see what food we would be doing and WHAT TIMES the different food was on offer. On your second visit you...More

Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Has changed hands, went with friends to try the Sunday lunch... awful, meat was dry, vegetables cold and watery gravey. Sorry to say one of the worst meals I have eaten. Will not be eating there again.More

2  Thank Stella W
Management response:Responded 25 July 2017

I'm very sorry this was your experience with us. We wish you had told us at the time so we could have rectified these problems. We have a lot of repeat custom, so the food you were given was obviously not the norm and could...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 hotels in Southampton
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
457 reviews
4.35 km away
room2 Southampton
128 reviews
4.72 km away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
1 776 reviews
4.99 km away
Holiday Inn Southampton
1 389 reviews
5.01 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 944 restaurants in Southampton
Jaipur Express
39 reviews
1.52 km away
The Forest Home
222 reviews
1.60 km away
Chip N Tails
19 reviews
1.51 km away
Travellers Restaurant
26 reviews
.00 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 285 attractions in Southampton
Charterdays
21 reviews
2.41 km away
Andy's Private Hire
6 reviews
1.49 km away
Netley Abbey
108 reviews
3.31 km away
Royal Victoria Country Park Chapel
29 reviews
3.53 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Travellers Rest staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines