We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brittany Ferries

Portsmouth PO2 8RU, England
+44 330 159 7003
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Combined holiday and ferry cruise

Lucky to have calm seas and an unexpected Whale watching experience on the outward trip. Excellent... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
worldtraveller600
,
Worcester, United Kingdom
via mobile
A Decent Crossing

This was our first ever voyage on a large car-type ferry, although we were foot passengers. The... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Daleb0422
,
Ajax, Canada
Read all 587 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Sail with Brittany Ferries from Portsmouth, Poole or Plymouth direct to France and Spain. Our routes take you closer to popular holiday destinations, saving miles of driving, fuel costs, tolls and overnight stops. Choose either superb comfort of a cruise ferry, no-frills economie service or speed across The Channel on our fast craft.
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good33%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“st malo” (65 reviews)
“pont aven” (34 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Portsmouth PO2 8RU, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 330 159 7003
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Portsmouth
from US$12,15
More Info
from US$43,50
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"st malo"
in 65 reviews
"self service restaurant"
in 41 reviews
"pont aven"
in 34 reviews
"berth cabin"
in 18 reviews
"overnight crossing"
in 16 reviews
"commodore cabin"
in 14 reviews
"a la carte restaurant"
in 13 reviews
"club voyage"
in 11 reviews
"cooked breakfast"
in 11 reviews
"good nights sleep"
in 10 reviews
"mini cruise"
in 12 reviews
"bunk beds"
in 8 reviews
"night's sleep"
in 8 reviews
"cap finistere"
in 8 reviews
"comfortable cabin"
in 6 reviews
"sea sickness"
in 7 reviews
"return journey"
in 30 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Lucky to have calm seas and an unexpected Whale watching experience on the outward trip. Excellent French service and style with no issues for a disabled traveller. Not a cheap option but our first 5 day visit to Northern Spain was memorable. English is not...More

Thank worldtraveller600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear 'worldtraveller600', I'm really pleased to read that your trip to Northern Spain memorable, it is a lovely area to visit, and to hear that you enjoyed your sailings with us too. Thank you for travelling with us and for your review. Hopefully we can...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

This was our first ever voyage on a large car-type ferry, although we were foot passengers. The facilities were spacious, but aging and in need of some refurbishment.

Thank Daleb0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If wthere was a zero star rating. Brittany Ferries would be getting just that. Awful awful customer service on board with the family. Employees really shouldn't slate their customers who pay their wages for a living. I speak French and was absolutely appalled when I...More

Thank monkeysocks1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 'monkeysocks1979', I am very sorry to hear of your experience and I can understand your disappointment. We expect a high level of customer service from all our staff. Please do get in contact with us at customer.feedback@brittanyferries.com so that we can investigate this matter....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Easy arrival, motorbike parked easily on board , good facilities on Cap Finistere, clean and comfortable double cabin. Departed and arrived on time.

Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spotlessly clean ship with friendly and happy staff made our trip between Poole and Cherbourg a pleasure. It was really easy to find the port and boarding point. Comfortable seats. Helpful staff on the ground and on board. Will definitely use this service again.

Thank Pearsonw67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 'Pearsonw67', Thank you for your review, it's really great to read your comment that we're a lovely ferry company to sail with and to hear that you'll definitely use our service again. Thanks for travelling with us. Kind regards Jane Customer Services Brittany Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a pleasant crossing if a little bumpy Room was comfortable and food excellent we atayed in a deluxe room .We didnt do much exploring as we arrived very tired and spent a lot of time in our cabin

Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We ate off the evening menu and were generally disappointed with our food. I had a seafood broth which didn’t have any visible seafood only beans followed by a scraggy breast of duck. My wife had crab in hollandaise sauce which had hardly any crab...More

Thank CotswoldTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 'CotswoldTripper' I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with the meal you had on board, if you have not already done so please get in contact with us at customer.feedback@brittanyferries.com. Kind regards Jane Customer Services Brittany Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This has to be the very best deal in UK=OK! Tourism on the market today. It's only £24 return and that includes a FREE Business class deck chair or lounge seat. It's not yet possible to jump ashore from the side and swim for it...More

Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First experience of Portsmouth and ferry to St Malo and wasn’t disappointed. Ferry port was easy to find and after a bit of a wait to board (1 hour), rest went smoothly. Cabin as expected (4 berth with window view) bonus that it was only...More

Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 'Jackie H', I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your first trip with Brittany Ferries and I hope it won't be the last one for you and the #GirlsOnTour! Thank you for travelling with us and for your review. Kind regards Jane Customer Services...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Sailed on the Cap Finistere to Santander, easy boarding and our cabin was clean and tidy. The shower worked well . The food is pretty good in the restaurant and the cafe although rather expensive but it's a captive audience so that's to be expected....More

Thank bristolbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 40 hotels in Portsmouth
Travelodge Portsmouth
899 reviews
.35 km away
Travel Inn South Sea
2 reviews
1.03 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
594 reviews
1.58 km away
Royal Maritime Club
842 reviews
1.76 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ship and Castle
47 reviews
.16 km away
The Admiral Drake
19 reviews
.35 km away
Chinese Tea
24 reviews
.62 km away
Fresh Fast Food Co
8 reviews
.60 km away
Nearby Attractions
Charles Dickens' Birthplace
111 reviews
.57 km away
St John's Catholic Cathedral
18 reviews
1.41 km away
Cascades Shopping Centre
62 reviews
1.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
honorl124
12 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BF-CustomerServices | Property representative |
Hello 'honorl124', I am afraid that it isn't possible to book a vehicle and only travel as a foot passenger. Kind regards, Jane
0
Votes
ruthandbrian
4 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Bolnuevo7 | Reviewed this property |
Not at all, you are guided on and off by expert loaders. The exit and entrance are wide and clearly marked, it works like a dream! Bon Voyage.
2
Votes
lgabriel2016
29 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from angieb471 | Reviewed this property |
The weather can be iffy at any time of the year, we've had excellent crossings in winter and really bad ones in the summer.
0
Votes
;