We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Straight forward Departure

Leaving Portsmouth to Caen on the night crossing. uneventful , reasonable food and a comfortable... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
tezpil
,
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Normandie - Caen - Portsmouth

We boarded the 4.15 sailing to Portsmouth and had a good crossing. We treated ourselves to... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Stuart M
via mobile
Read all 768 reviews
239
All photos (239)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“st malo”(85 reviews)
“pont aven”(36 reviews)
About
Sail with Brittany Ferries from Portsmouth, Poole or Plymouth direct to France and Spain. Our routes take you closer to popular holiday destinations, saving miles of driving, fuel costs, tolls and overnight stops. Choose either superb comfort of a...more
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Portsmouth PO2 8RU, England
Website
+44 330 159 7003
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Portsmouth
from US$42,80
More Info
from US$13,20
More Info
from US$18,20
More Info
from US$45,50
More Info
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
729 results
Traveller rating
317
246
73
40
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
317
246
73
40
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews st malo self service restaurant pont aven overnight crossing berth cabin a la carte restaurant commodore cabin club voyage cooked breakfast good nights sleep passport control bunk beds night's sleep cap finistere mini cruise inside cabin sea sickness
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 729 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Traveled from Portsmouth to Santander on an extremely choppy crossing, but got there safely. The cabin was good and the crew were hard working. Plenty of sick bags were available!!! Did manage to get on the outside viewing area for a short time.

Thank Nicola E
Reviewed 2 days ago

Leaving Portsmouth to Caen on the night crossing. uneventful , reasonable food and a comfortable cabin.

Thank tezpil
Reviewed 3 days ago

Maybe we had not realised what 1000 people on a ferry would be like! The ferry was late leaving as it had had bad weather coming into Portsmouth so we sat in a queue in the car for 1.30 hours before we boarded. We had...More

Thank Kimlet
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We choose Brittany ferries as we love the crew and acomadation AND the food. But this last crossing, quel trist déception. My 89 year old mother wanted a sandwich. I went to the cafe, none, a few boxes of uninteresting looking microwaveable food. I checked...More

Thank milady06
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear 'milady06', First of all, thank you for choosing to travel with us once again, this is great to hear. I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your dining onboard, this is such a shame as we pride ourselves on our...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

10th October turned up 2 hours early for 2 pm ferry - - - - sat about in car lane for an hour until discovering via rumours among drivers that the ferry was cancelled . Phoned Britanny ferries who could offer only an overnight ferry...More

Thank p w
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear 'pw', Please accept our apologies that you were one of the passengers caught up in the recent cancellation due to an earlier technical fault with the Mont St Michel. Sea trials were carried out and it was decided that the sailing needed to be...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We boarded the 4.15 sailing to Portsmouth and had a good crossing. We treated ourselves to Commodore Class which was as nice as ever. We had a meal in the main restaurant which was good. However, I feel the buffet needs total revamp as it...More

Thank Stuart M
Reviewed 1 week ago

First time on this boat to bilbao, boarding was very quick, although there was usual hslf hour delay in getting into cabin as cleaning had not finished, this never used to happen but seems to be on every crossing on every ship now? Cabin was...More

Thank GCT22
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 'Yarm', Thank you for letting us know about your recent sailing to Bilbao. There can sometimes be a delay in being able to access your cabin and please accept our apologies for this, but we would rather the cabin was serviced to the standard...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Gliding along the sea through Portsmouth and onwards. Always a pleasure to see these magnificent ships. What a sight.

Thank rayrest
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was tempted to use this Shipping Line many years ago but fortunately was able to use another Line. This weekend, October 6, 2018, my luck changed. I had to deliver some items to Chartres, France, but despite my protests was booked Portsmouth to Ouistreham...More

1  Thank Brian C
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 'Brian C', Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry that your return crossing on Mont St Michel was cancelled due to an unforeseen technical problem and I realise that this must have been frustrating and inconvenient for you at...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Traveled to Spain on the bael de seinne, the economic and back on the Finisterre. The economic is better, the Finisterre takes ages to load the cabins a worse, and if you don't want to eat in the expensive restaurant on deck 7 you have...More

Thank Keith's P
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 40 nearby hotels
Travelodge Portsmouth
1 017 reviews
.35 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
668 reviews
1.58 km away
Royal Maritime Club
898 reviews
1.76 km away
The George Hotel
465 reviews
1.79 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 731 nearby restaurants
Bella Calabria
324 reviews
.68 km away
The Gandhi Restaurant
338 reviews
.70 km away
Ship and Castle
50 reviews
.16 km away
The Admiral Drake
23 reviews
.35 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 239 nearby attractions
Charles Dickens' Birthplace
120 reviews
.57 km away
Cascades Shopping Centre
65 reviews
1.19 km away
The Tap portsmouth
23 reviews
.62 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Red W
24 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BF-CustomerServices | Property representative |
Hello, There are usually taxis waiting outside the terminal for ship arrivals and departures. Kind regards Jane
1
Vote
Sarah B
12 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from BF-CustomerServices | Property representative |
Hello, I'm afraid that you'd be unable to park up in the car lanes but there is a car park at the port where you can park if you choose although it is height restricted to 2.2m high. Kind regards Jane
1
Vote
Chrissie C
12 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Paul B | Reviewed this property |
It is a short walk to Fareham so you could leave the car at the port then just walk over in the morning.
1
Vote