We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountbatten Leisure Centre

Twyford Avenue | Alexandra Park, Portsmouth PO2 9QA, England
+44 23 9320 0401
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Keep on swimming

The Mountbatten is definitely one of the more better leisure centres I’ve visited.Ive always found... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Megan Hewett J
via mobile
They never pick up the phone, so I can't even book any courts that I pay for, going to cancel my membership.

I pay an extra £10 a month on top of my normal membership, to have access to racquet sports (which... read more

Reviewed 12 April 2018
Jeffrey P
Read all 20 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent10%
  • Very good30%
  • Average10%
  • Poor20%
  • Terrible30%
8 Sep 2017
“Needs a deep clean”
1 week ago
“Keep on swimming ”
LOCATION
Twyford Avenue | Alexandra Park, Portsmouth PO2 9QA, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 23 9320 0401
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Portsmouth
from US$12,24
More Info
from US$43,90
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Mountbatten is definitely one of the more better leisure centres I’ve visited.Ive always found it clean and tidy and the staff very helpful.We use the centre mostly for swimming and have always found the pool area well maintained.The late Sunday adult only sessions are...More

Thank Megan Hewett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

I pay an extra £10 a month on top of my normal membership, to have access to racquet sports (which cannot be booked online, which in itself is pretty bad.) So I am forced to phone to book a court. Of the 6 or 7...More

Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for giving us your feedback and we are really sorry to read you’re having difficulty getting through to us on the phone. Your comments have been discussed with the team and we are looking at introducing online booking for racquet sports soon. In...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

Contrary to some other reviews, I really like this leisure centre, although I just go there to swim lengths in the pool lanes. Never visited the café, gym, etc. First off, it's municipal, not private. I know that should make no difference to standards, but...More

Thank Johnfrisbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you very much for your review and great comments about our pool, parking and prices. We will share your feedback about lockers and footwear to see where our team can make improvements. The Terrace café is currently under refurbishment and will be open again...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Absolutely appalling! Coffee undrinkable. Long queue and one lady who seemed to be just standing around telling customers all the items that were 'off', rather than helping. It is a shame that such a modern centre has such an awful cafe.More

Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Thank you for giving us feedback about your recent visit to the cafe. We’re really sorry though to read you didn’t enjoy the coffee and the customer service could've been much better. The cafe is going to be refurbished in the coming months and all...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Me my sister and my kids came to the leisure centre to go swimming, after we thought we'd go in the cafe and have a meal. I ATTEMPTED to order a portion of nachos for myself, to be rudely told that they have no chilli...More

Thank lenac1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent visit. We are really disappointed though to read that your experience in the café was not good. We would like to find out more. Would you be happy to speak with our Food and Beverage Manager to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

My partner and I joined as members a few months ago and the general cleanliness of the center appears to be going downhill. The pool has a line of grime at the water mark, revolting! Never have I seen this in a pool before. The...More

Thank kaitlinkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your review and telling us about your experiences. We are disappointed though to read that some areas are not quite meeting standards. We have reviewed all of your points and our technicians are looking into the maintenance issues you have raised. We...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Have continued to use the facilities here on a regular basis. It is under new management now and continues to provide satisfactory sports facilities. I use it mostly for table tennis.More

Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Many thanks for your feedback. We're delighted to read that you still are happy with our facilities and enjoy playing table tennis. If you have any further comments, or would like to see any improvements, please come and have a chat with us next time...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

I was visiting the centre for a conference. I found the place to be clean, tidy and well maintained. The staff were friendly and helpful for all questions asked. I was mainly upstairs in the facilities area, which was nice. There was also on outdoor...More

1  Thank Karl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to read about the fantastic experience you enjoyed on your recent visit to the centre and will be sure to pass on the positive comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

rubbish, wish we had never booked lessons for our children. The lessons are held during normal open family swimming time, and club sessions - the pool is heaving and noisy. Quarter of the pool is roped off for lessons, and then split into 4 lanes,...More

Thank melanie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback - it is always good to receive and ensures we continue to improve. We are very sorry to read though that your recent trip to the centre could've been better and have reviewed the points you have raised. The maintenance...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Haven't tried yet the pool or spa but the gym is amazing. Plenty of space, equipment, and weights. Also the track & field is useful when the weather is nice.More

Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you for your fantastic five star review. We are delighted you think the gym is amazing with plenty of space and equipment – that’s great to read. We are also pleased to know that you make the most of the outdoor spaces too and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 40 hotels in Portsmouth
Travelodge Portsmouth
898 reviews
.55 km away
Travel Inn South Sea
2 reviews
1.67 km away
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
230 reviews
1.84 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
592 reviews
2.28 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bella Calabria
285 reviews
.51 km away
The Master Fryer
53 reviews
.43 km away
Porto Grill
56 reviews
.40 km away
Blue Cobra
170 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby Attractions
Brittany Ferries
586 reviews
.72 km away
Charles Dickens' Birthplace
111 reviews
1.24 km away
The Tap portsmouth
23 reviews
.58 km away
Supernatural Tours and Events
31 reviews
.38 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Phillip-198
16 March 2017|
Answer
Response from BHLive | Property representative |
Hi, there is a car park and it is free for customers to use.
0
Votes
;