We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Needs a deep clean

My partner and I joined as members a few months ago and the general cleanliness of the center... read more

Reviewed 8 September 2017
kaitlinkat
,
San Francisco
via mobile
Unhygienic, poor equipment, poor staff

Please do not join this place. They simply do not care. The mens changing rooms were recently... read more

Reviewed today
Shareef86
,
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Read all 23 reviews
1
All photos (1)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent13%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible36%
8 Sep 2017
“Needs a deep clean”
today
“Unhygienic, poor equipment, poor staff”
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
19°
11°
Jul
20°
11°
Aug
17°
Sep
Contact
Twyford Avenue | Alexandra Park, Portsmouth PO2 9QA, England
Website
+44 23 9320 0401
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Portsmouth
from US$42,90
More Info
from US$11,98
More Info
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
3
6
2
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
3
6
2
4
8
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 23 reviews
Reviewed today

Please do not join this place. They simply do not care. The mens changing rooms were recently closed for refurb, in actuality, they just changed the flooring. They did not bother doing anything about the depth of mould and filth that lines the walls, ceiling...More

Thank Shareef86
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I took my grandchildren, aged three and nine, for a swim. The eldest ( a fairly good swimmer) was keen to swim in the main pool. I was advised that I couldn’t take the little one in that pool as only the deep end was...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago

Today I came to the restaurant at the Mountbatten Centre with my Daughter and we ordered scampi chips and peas after I had paid I was told they had no peas.... Salad added instead! When I bit into my scampi I found that it was...More

1  Thank _nvscott1
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

The Mountbatten is definitely one of the more better leisure centres I’ve visited.Ive always found it clean and tidy and the staff very helpful.We use the centre mostly for swimming and have always found the pool area well maintained.The late Sunday adult only sessions are...More

Thank Megan Hewett J
Reviewed 12 April 2018

I pay an extra £10 a month on top of my normal membership, to have access to racquet sports (which cannot be booked online, which in itself is pretty bad.) So I am forced to phone to book a court. Of the 6 or 7...More

Thank Jeffrey P
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for giving us your feedback and we are really sorry to read you’re having difficulty getting through to us on the phone. Your comments have been discussed with the team and we are looking at introducing online booking for racquet sports soon. In...More

Reviewed 25 January 2018

Contrary to some other reviews, I really like this leisure centre, although I just go there to swim lengths in the pool lanes. Never visited the café, gym, etc. First off, it's municipal, not private. I know that should make no difference to standards, but...More

Thank Johnfrisbee
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you very much for your review and great comments about our pool, parking and prices. We will share your feedback about lockers and footwear to see where our team can make improvements. The Terrace café is currently under refurbishment and will be open again...More

Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Absolutely appalling! Coffee undrinkable. Long queue and one lady who seemed to be just standing around telling customers all the items that were 'off', rather than helping. It is a shame that such a modern centre has such an awful cafe.More

Thank John S
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Thank you for giving us feedback about your recent visit to the cafe. We’re really sorry though to read you didn’t enjoy the coffee and the customer service could've been much better. The cafe is going to be refurbished in the coming months and all...More

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Me my sister and my kids came to the leisure centre to go swimming, after we thought we'd go in the cafe and have a meal. I ATTEMPTED to order a portion of nachos for myself, to be rudely told that they have no chilli...More

Thank lenac1234
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent visit. We are really disappointed though to read that your experience in the café was not good. We would like to find out more. Would you be happy to speak with our Food and Beverage Manager to...More

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

My partner and I joined as members a few months ago and the general cleanliness of the center appears to be going downhill. The pool has a line of grime at the water mark, revolting! Never have I seen this in a pool before. The...More

Thank kaitlinkat
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your review and telling us about your experiences. We are disappointed though to read that some areas are not quite meeting standards. We have reviewed all of your points and our technicians are looking into the maintenance issues you have raised. We...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Have continued to use the facilities here on a regular basis. It is under new management now and continues to provide satisfactory sports facilities. I use it mostly for table tennis.More

1  Thank tezpil
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Many thanks for your feedback. We're delighted to read that you still are happy with our facilities and enjoy playing table tennis. If you have any further comments, or would like to see any improvements, please come and have a chat with us next time...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Phillip-198
16 March 2017|
Answer
Response from BHLive | Property representative |
Hi, there is a car park and it is free for customers to use.
0
Votes