We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pop World

1 King Henry I Street, Portsmouth PO1 2PT, England
+44 23 9283 0150
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
disgusting!!!

Myself and my 2 daughters visited this establishment on 2nd December on a day trip to Portsmouth... read more

Reviewed 5 December 2017
ruthwoodward702
,
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Good club, but bad VIP experience

My group and I really enjoyed our night out at Pop World. As it was my friends Hen Party, we paid... read more

Reviewed 25 September 2017
jennyjusmith89
,
Gosport, United Kingdom
Read all 30 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good16%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible42%
5 Dec 2017
“disgusting!!!”
25 Sep 2017
“Good club, but bad VIP experience”
About
Welcome to Popworld Portsmouth Plan a Party! We are the perfect place for all occasions! Whether its a birthday party, hen do, works do, or just a get together - we aim to have a table available that suits you and your guests.
Closed
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Contact
1 King Henry I Street, Portsmouth PO1 2PT, England
Website
+44 23 9283 0150
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Portsmouth
from US$12,12
More Info
from US$43,40
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017

Myself and my 2 daughters visited this establishment on 2nd December on a day trip to Portsmouth. The only way I can describe my experience is 'horrendous'. It was 2.30pm and not overly busy. On ordering food we were advised of a 30 minute wait,...More

Thank ruthwoodward702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Sales and Events Coordinator at Pop World, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Hi - Thanks for your feedback. We do apologise for you bad experience in our venue. We do try and keep wait times to a minimum but when do get busy these sometimes do get extended. We do apologise for any incovnience this had on...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

My group and I really enjoyed our night out at Pop World. As it was my friends Hen Party, we paid quite a bit for a VIP package which was a bit of a rip off. Our VIP host David spent no longer than five...More

Thank jennyjusmith89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Disgusting, awful, rip off. go anywhere else on guildhall but definitely not here!!! Service is appalling, not clean, serve drunks

Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

My favourite club! Absolute tunes all night long! The place is packed from about midnight on Friday and Saturdays. If you want new songs this is not the place for you but if you love 80s 90s and 2000 music like me then this is...More

Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Waited ages to be served, was acknowledged and ignored and when I was finally served the staff were rudeMore

Thank LeeTaaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briony C, Duty Manager at Pop World, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thank you for taking time to give us a review we take all feedback seriously. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. If you email us at popworld.Portsmouth@stonegatepubs.com with some more details will be sure to look into this...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Wasent overly excited about coming here but had a fantastic night! Drinks were a good price, they made a fuss of my friend on her birthday which she loved and the atmosphere was brilliant . Would definitely recommend it

Thank charlieharrow2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briony C, Duty Manager at Pop World, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review :) We are glad you and your friend enjoyed your night out with us there ain't no party like a Popworld party after all. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

We popped in here for about 40min as we heard it played 90s music. This place is manky I wouldn't Say a mop touched the floor since 1990. Web had a bit of fun dancing around to the music then the dj passed out toast....More

Thank karleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 July 2016

Hi Karleigh, Really sorry but I think you may have got the wrong Popworld. Popworld Portsmouth is not open on a Monday night

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

My favourite club in Portsmouth. Great music and a huge garden/smoking area. Always have a great night out here.

Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briony C, Duty Manager at Pop World, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2016

Thank you for taking time to give us a great review! We hope to see you in Popworld again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

One word describes this place. WOW! What an incredible nightclub. Been coming here since it was called Flares, then Babylon (my favourite era) and now Popworld. Whenever we have a Portsmouth reunion, this is the place we end up. It's a small, but classic venue....More

Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briony C, Duty manager at Pop World, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2016

Thank you for your amazing review and glad to hear that you are still enjoying Popworld. Keep those reunions coming :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

The Venue is amazing, atmosphere very atractive and colourful. I liked a lot, on other hand, the male toilet was smelling disgusting bad. The security, passed the idea of being police instead of be the guests and venue security. They are not approachable in the...More

Thank Eraime S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 40 hotels in Portsmouth
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
1 695 reviews
.22 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
594 reviews
.25 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1 372 reviews
.76 km away
Royal Maritime Club
842 reviews
.77 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Brewhouse & Kitchen - Portsmouth
594 reviews
.12 km away
7Bone Burger Co.
110 reviews
.11 km away
Gadsden Tea
63 reviews
.38 km away
Canvas Coffee Shop
63 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Portsmouth Museum
218 reviews
.64 km away
New Theatre Royal
52 reviews
.10 km away
The Groundlings Theatre
60 reviews
.61 km away
St John's Catholic Cathedral
18 reviews
.33 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Pop World staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;